We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, and the time flies.”

The Steamship Authority
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Steamship Authority is the largest ferry service to the Island of Nantucket from Cape Cod. We offer the lowest fares and the most frequent daily departures for passengers, automobiles and trucks. Our ferries to Nantucket depart from the iconic Hyannis Harbor. Please note, we offer limited premium on-site parking as well as off-site parking with free shuttle service. Check our mobile site for current parking and trip status. Our seasonal high-speed passenger-only ferry, the M/V Iyanough, gets you to Nantucket - dock-to-dock - in just an hour. Enjoy great savings with our special $50 same-day, round-trip, available Monday - Thursday, April - December. For a perfect day trip Nantucket makes wonderful destinations - with magnificent beaches, charming scenery and fabulous shopping and dining.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Easy, and the time flies.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

My husband, 8 year old daughter and I left our car at one of the SSA's parking lots for $12/day for late September. The gatekeeper sent the free shuttle bus to help get our stuff to the terminal, which was great.

Tickets were $44 for the three of us, and everything went smoothly as we boarded. It wasn't a busy day, so we were able to snag one of the tables, which was great, since my husband had to work on the ride over.

Aside from a bit of seasickness that was remedied by a $4 ginger ale (ouch!), we had a good voyage.on the way back, however, we brought our own drinks and snacks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    90
    21
    4
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Aaaaahhhhhmazing”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

From the service to the workers to just nantucket... Just go. Stop thinking and just go. The ferry from Hyannis to Nantucket is 1 hour and the hotels usually offer a $5 discount so ask at your hotel most hotels are walking distance, mine was, I stayed at the Hyannis travel Inn. Bring sunscreen and layers this time of year. And when in Nantucket do check out Stephanie's, it's a gift shop with clothes and jewelry so nice!!! It's right in Main Street, not a typical souvenir shop though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
842 reviews
357 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Good service, fast and a bit cheaper”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In my opinion Nantucket is overrated but it worth a visit. Steamship is 50 bucks per adult during week days comparing with 79 in weekend and with the competition Hy-Line every day... Speedboat worth it's money being just a 60 mins trip in comfort, wifi, beverages and pretty variate e food options. Even if the website said to go there and they will find a place for you get a ticket online because you can have our experience: to arrive one hour in advance, to get on the waiting list and to be lucky to get aboard few minutes before taking off... Parking is 15 bucks per day but you have a shuttle to get you to your car...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fast Ferry offered good service”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Traveling to Nantucket mid-week was only $50 round trip. Parking at the terminal is essentially always full, especially if you're not there first thing in the morning. They have plenty of off site parking with shuttle buses and there are also some other independant parking options within a block that are an easy walk.

The ferry has a few tables along the windows but these seats also fill up fast. There is some food and drinks available on the ferry. It was a smooth ride and there were several TV's throughout the inside seating offering something to watch during the short trip. The seats and everything were clean and well maintained.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queens,ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good price this season”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

we wended up taking steamship to Nantucket this year because 50.00 mon-thurs round trip,cant beat that.
we took the fast ferry and was there in an hour and back in an hour at night. they do have seats outside in the back if you get a little sea sick and they sell beverages and snacks as well. the staff is friendly and there to help if you need something.
overall we enjoyed our trip with them and thank them for getting us there and back safely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank candycorncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamship Authority also viewed

 

Been to The Steamship Authority? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing