We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor In Hotel
Nearby Hotels
SeaCoast Inn(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Codder Resort & Spa(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$161
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyannis Travel Inn(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hyannis(Hyannis)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveller rating
798
297
52
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
297
52
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire piteast wingbagelscape codcontinental breakfastoverlooking the harbourmartha's vineyardhyannis harborview of the watermain streetfresh fruitsteamship authoritywonderful hotelnew englandwithin walking distanceoff seasonwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,020 - 1,025 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Do you like stiff unfriendly people? Well you’re in luck at the Anchor in Hotel. The entire attitude of the Reception staff is more appropriate in a funeral parlor or a $2.00 haunted house. On the bright side, the place was clean. This can only be attributed to the lack of use. So unless your a “regular" who frequents the place every season, BEWARE! If upon your arrival, the people behind the reception desk greet you with a tolerant smile and impatient tone, hold on to your wallet! Oh and if you happen to stray out onto your private 4x6 deck, wear steel toed shoes to protect yourself from the inevitable impaling of your feet from the splinters on the untreated wooden decks. So if you have a special someone in your life that you would like to get even with, just get then a weekend stay. And please only one stale bagel or freezer burned muffin per unit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Fisherman1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, owner operators at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2007

We attempted to contact the author of this review through the TripAdvisor contact method with no response. It would be our pleasure to respond to this reviewer either publicly or privately. It does not escape our notice that the reviewer does not refer to anything specific through their creative writings. Since the writer does not offer when or where they stayed with us and our daily feedback from our satisfied guests is completely contrary to the reviewers writings, we question the validity of this review. It is in no way even remotely close to being an accurate reflection of us and how we take care of all our guests.

Stay with us. You'll be glad you did.

Lisa and Skip Simpson
Anchor In
Owner operators

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Well run hotel. Lovely individual rooms. Everything is clean and well
kept. Located on the harbour. Ten minute walk into town. The best place we found on the cape.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woolseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

As a TA contributor who incessantly sings the praises of Wellfleet and P'Town, I was extremely leery about staying in Hyannis for our annual summer trip to the Cape. Well, this humble hamlet cast its own spell on us, probably due in large part to the charm and comfort of the Anchor In.

My husband and I stayed in the squeaky clean East wing. I've stayed in 5-star resort rooms that weren't as cheery and accommodating. The carpeting, down pillows, Anderson windows, Kohler bathroom fixtures, thirsty bright white terry towels and ROBES – all are top quality. The pool that goes down to 8 feet was always warmed to 84 degrees; there were enough chairs. If you request, they give you a code to access their free high-speed wireless Internet. There are dozens of cable TV channels and a CD/DVD player. Not only is there sufficient lighting in the room, but all the lights have dimmers, which add a romantic touch. There is as much hot water as you could ever want and the sliding glass doors of the bath-shower are sturdy and non-fogging.

We experienced two different deluxe rooms, because when we made reservations, they told us that our requested king bed room would not be available for the entire week. The décor of both rooms was country cottage-chic (white furniture and pewter lamps). Both balconies had two lawn chairs and a small table. The king room that we stayed in first had a bounty of dresser drawers, a single comfortable chair with hassock, a desk and two substantial upscale dining-like chairs and a large-screen TV. The king room was on the first floor near the end of the hotel and had a terrific close-up view of the harbor. On the third morning, we were moved to a 2-queen bed room on the second floor. The desk called us at 11 a.m. to tell us that our new room was ready, but that we didn't have to hurry. I called them at noon and three minutes later, handyman Bob was at our door to carry all our bags up to the second floor. He even emptied our small refrigerator for us and transferred our soda and cooler ice packs, etc. The 2-queen room was the same size as the king. There weren't so many dresser drawers, the TV was smaller (my husband noticed that) and there was no hassock. Other than that, the furnishings were identical. Our second floor balcony was a bit further from the harbor and we looked directly at the pool area, but we could still see the harbor and its mists just fine. We sat on the balcony with our laptops, taking in the fresh sea air while checking our emails. The 2-queen room would also be fine for a couple with two kids or a mom and grandmom and two kids. Unlike just about any other hotel curtains I've ever experienced, the Anchor In room curtains closed completely; if you so desired, not a beam of light would penetrate.

The continental breakfast with unlimited coffee and basic fruit and juice included generous fresh muffins, cream cheese and "gourmet" bagels, such as sun-dried tomato, basil and cranberry. They provide serving trays and encourage you to take the breakfast back to your room to enjoy on your balcony overlooking peaceful Hyannis harbor, be it misty or sunny under a sapphire sky. We picked up ham, cheese and fruit salad at the local Stop 'n' Shop, kept it in the room's mini-fridge, and had no need to pursue hearty breakfasts off premises, saving time and a good chunk of change.

Other than responding at a moment's notice if we needed them, the staff was unobtrusive, friendly and allowed us maximum privacy. On the way up, we called them from I-95 to find out which local restaurants would be open after 9 on a Sunday night. We left a message on their answering machine and THEY CALLED US BACK with advice! We left a $5 tip for the maid every day.

Location: As others have written, you can walk to many places to eat along the harbor, to the ferries and to Main Street. The week before Labor Day we had no trouble finding parking wherever we went; the Anchor In had sufficient parking, too. As for its proximity to the largest hospital on the Cape, we were seldom distracted by a siren, perhaps less so than we would have been staying near any major road on the Cape.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dunewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

I received this trip as a present for my birthday. I had a great time. The rooms were clean and well kept. The pool was great, it was quiet and had a great view. I would recommend it to anyone heading to Hyannis. Plus it was close to everything.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank Remi1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We stayed at the Anchor In for 1O DAYS. We were pariculary impressed at the high level of care demonstrated by all the staff. The room was lovely and cleaned to a very high level. Staff were very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very adequate .The pool was spotleesly clean and obviously well maintained. Its location to restaurants made the Anchor in ideally situated. We can only speak very highly of this hotel.We would like to thank all the staff especially Chris for making our stay in Cape Cod such a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank james085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews