We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night last week and it was relaxing! The room was lovely and so comfortable. We enjoyed the cont. breakfast very much and what a beautiful room it is! Spotless! The staff was wonderful, every person we encountered over our 2 days was very sincere and so helpful, thank you!
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you would like to soak up some sun, ask for a second floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    265
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
236
527
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, on
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Approx 10 hr drive from Toronto, ON Apr.11, 2012. We will be back. Reserved The Cotuit 2 queen beds suite for one night but quickly reserved a second night. Huge beautifully decorated room with full wrap around deck facing the harbor. Staff were wonderful and friendly. Breakfast was healthy choices of bagels, muffins, granola, cereals, yogurt, fruits and nuts. We loved walking down Main street at the gift shops and museum. Lots of restaurants to choose from in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 2 great nights at the Anchor In Hotel. The location was perfect but we had a fantastic suite which was heavenly. The beautiful setting of this hotel, the great staff and the high end bedding, towels and finishings make this is perfect stay for anyone who is looking for relaxation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms.Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, ma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just returned from our first stay here after many, many trips to the Cape - where have we been all these years??! Beginning with Sandy who greeted us Friday night & Janet, who helped with a little fax/print issue on Saturday morning, the staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Our room in the main building was very large, spotless, and lovely. The outside balcony/deck is great to have - even on a foggy, cloudy day, it's still enjoyable to watch the comings and going of Hyannis Harbor. Very nice Continental breakfast with a good variety of cereals, fruit, pastries, and although the hotel was "almost full" according to staff, there were plenty of tables to sit at and enjoy either the view or the lovely library room that adjoins the breakfast room. I would prefer the breakfast room to be open until 10:00 rather than 9:30 - I think many people would appreciate having it be open a bit later. I also usually want an in-room coffee maker but the terrific Keurig in the library worked well for my husband and me since we like different types of coffees. The library has books and games for guests - we enjoyed relaxing there one of our nights. Great location - it's an easy walk to Hyannis Center, the Harbor, and many restaurants. The interior has recently been updated and it's very, very nice. The entire hotel has a wonderful "feel" to it. It's family owned and you can tell the family loves it. We prefer the Cape in the off-seasons, and this definitely has become our place to stay in Hyannis. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddalmation2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Anchor In is a great place to stay at The Cape. It is very close to Main Street, the local ferries, and plenty of other local fun attractions and activities. The hotel itself is situated in a great spot overlooking Lewis Bay. Very nice sights and sounds from the balcony rooms. Off season it is very quiet, peaceful, relaxing and the rates are reasonable. Service and housekeeping are usually great.

During peak season, the rates get pricey for what it is, but still a comfortable place to stay.
We usually stay in balcony rooms with views of the water. Have stayed in both "lower" to "higher" end as far as room rates. During peak season housekeeping has sometimes left a little to be desired upon check in, but the place is extremely busy during that time of year. (I expect housekeeping to dust under lamps and phones, as well as vacuum under movable furniture.)

The beds are comfy, and the room decor boasts plenty of Cape charm. Some of the furniture in the higher end rooms needs updating or at least better maintenance for what you pay for those "nicer digs". (Unsightly marked up wood on coffee tables and some minor stains on chairs & couches.). Also, the breakfast offerings should be expanded a little for the great space and serving area they have. Driving across country, we have experienced all kinds of continental breakfasts, and even dumpy little hotels ( which the Anchor In is not) have a "hot offering" of some kind, like egg and ham wraps for microwaving, or a waffle maker, etc. Things like that. It would also be great were the inviting library area open all night for reading, relaxing, and coffee / tea service.

All in all, a very quaint, usually clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay. We've stayed many times and always enjoyed ourselves. A great hotel, with just a few minor improvements could be one of the best on the Cape!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your review and your continued Anchor In loyalty. We are so glad to hear that like many other valued guests, you have enjoyed several memorable stays with us. A few important things have changed since your stay with us in November. As part of our major renovations that were completed for the Spring of 2011, many Deluxe and all Executive guest rooms received new furnishings, bedding and fabrics. The coffee table with minor scratches was replaced with a more durable, scratch resistant product. We have added new items to our Complimentary Continental Breakfast and taken steps to improve the overall breakfast experience. As of today, most guest rooms have individual coffee makers. A variety of flavored coffees and teas remain available in the Lewis Bay Library all day and late into the evening. We are sorry to hear that housekeeping was not to your complete satisfaction every time. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We arrived late and exhausted at 1 am, and the staff had everything perfectly arranged for us to be able to quickly get a key and fall on our comfy beds. We had a very nice room overlooking the marina, and within walking distance of high quality seafood restaurants. We purchased several high quality art items from the little gift shop... the nicest we saw on our three week New England trip. I researched where to stay extensively, and was not disappointed! The staff were all very accommodating and friendly (didn't expect that in MA!) The decor was very classy.. the pool nice (if a bit cold), and the rooms spacious and comfy. Even housekeeping went out of their way to make us feel welcome... even with our four children!! The breakfast provided tasted bakery quality... not your typical gelatinous bagged muffins, but huge homemade ones with cranberries indigenous to the region, with fresh fruit and yogurt. Our kids loved it. The only negative was, we were not expecting Cape Cod to be more expensive than Manhattan... but Anchor Inn was WELL worth the cost!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We went to Hyannis without reservations. We got the last room at the Anchor In Hotel on a holiday weekend. (Didn't know it was a holiday in MA) The hotel is absolutely spotless. Great first impression was made by Sandy at the desk. The breakfast Sunday morning, was an excellent variety of cold cereals, pastry, fruits and the hottest good coffee ever served. The staff is very friendly and the price is very reasonable. Short walk to restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pointhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
16.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing