We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
874
304
56
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
304
56
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit east wing bagels continental breakfast cape cod overlooking the harbour martha's vineyard hyannis harbor view of the water main street deluxe room fresh fruit off season wonderful hotel steamship authority would highly recommend this hotel hard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
916 - 921 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

beautiful, comfortable, immaculate, beautiful gardens and pool with wonderful view of harbor and ferries arriving and .aleaving for the islands. Curteous and friendly staff. Make you feel right at home. Wonderful breakfast to start your day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Anchor In, while good, is not someplace we would return to. It's defintely more our personal peferences than the experiences other reviewers who have enjoyed the hotel better than we did.

We arrived in town to what I had expected to be a charming location on the harbor. What we found was a charming, extremely clean and well maintained inn "nestled" off of busy South Street between the city's hospital and the Hyannis Port Harbor. Traffic noise was an issue at times and there was at least one motorcyclist who made certain everyone heard his comings and goings every day.

While restaurants were "technically" within a 15 minute walk, the surroundings led one to drive more than walk (holes in the sidewalks). We did, however, very much enjoy the Black Cat and Spankys restaurants, both of which were recommended by hotel staff.

Our room was a Deluxe King in the Main Building (#102). The room is very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the harbor, well kept furnishings, spotlessly clean, a small kitchen area with refrigerator, a large (for a hotel room) walk-in closet and then . . . you open the door to the bathroom to find a pedestal sink with NO counter space or shelving anywhere in the room. My makeup case remained on the floor and had to be placed on the toilet lid when trying to get dressed each day. The only "fix" for this problem would be to punch through the closet wall and add some counter space. Also, adding a full length mirror to the closet door would be helpful. The only other mirror in the entire suite was behind the desk and was not usable without having to move furniture. Lastly, the walls are "thin." We heard the conversations and TV from our neighbors in room 103 our entire 3 days. Fortunately, they were "early birds" like us, and things did quiet down by 11 pm each night.

The public rooms (the library and the breakfast room) were also well maintained. We particularly liked the sunroom hallway where tables were placed for breakfast. Breakfast offerings were "heavy continental" with fresh fruit, yogurt (vanilla only), bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, cold cereals and juice.

We did not find the service to be stellar. Check-in went smoothly and was cordial, but not particularly welcoming. We did not run into any other staff over the 3 days we were there. It was, however, a poor farewell when I went to return our keys at checkout (9:30 am) and no one was at the desk or anywhere to be found. A "we hope you enjoyed your stay" would have been nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night last week and it was relaxing! The room was lovely and so comfortable. We enjoyed the cont. breakfast very much and what a beautiful room it is! Spotless! The staff was wonderful, every person we encountered over our 2 days was very sincere and so helpful, thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelforSports_Beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is one high-class hotel. From the front end people to the cleaners and maid service! Immaculate!
Beautifully appointed rooms, lovely breakfast. Will return again and again.

Room Tip: No elevator's to 2nd floor, our next visit I will request bottom floor. East or West wings less expensive.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Anchor is a very friendly hotel in a great location facing the harbour. The rooms are spotlessly clean and a good size. The bed was quite comfortable but a little crunchy when you sat upon it, unfortunately this condition manifested Itself in creating small spring tsunamis when one moved at night, my wife is a light sleeper and this did give her some problems. I was also very disappointed that the breakfast was served on the most ghastly styrofoam bowls and plates with paper cups and plastic cutlery of the lowest quality. The rooms are also equipped with paper cups (for the very good coffee provided) and plastic 'glasses' . I am aware that this criticism has been aired on TA before and was going to be fixed but it is still extant in May 2012. The Anchor deserves to have these shortcomings dealt with even if this means a small price hike, the place is worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour and ask about the quality and age of the mattress .
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beltayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews