We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
862
304
55
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
304
55
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire piteast wingbagelscontinental breakfastcape codoverlooking the harbourmartha's vineyardhyannis harborview of the watermain streetdeluxe roomfresh fruitoff seasonwonderful hotelsteamship authoritywould highly recommend this hotelhard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
900 - 905 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed at the Anchor In for one night in March 2012 during a New England holiday. First impressions are very good - a very well looked after motel style property right on the waters edge in Hyannis. Warm and friendly welcome, lots of parking. Our room was on the lower floor with a view out to the harbour. Good size and in immaculate condition - obviously refurbished recently and done with care and attention. One small stain on the carpet which was a shame, otherwise spotless, including the bathroom. Free wifi and a huge new digital TV on the wall. Minor niggle was that you could hear the people in the room above if they moved around too much.

A 10-15 minute walk into Hyannis where theres lots of bars and restaurants. Breakfast is continental and was very nice. This was excellent value off season and we really couldn't fault it. The owners obviously care about the Inn and it shows. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor might be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were so happy with the quality of the room and the service. Skip, the mgr, sent us a bottle of champagne, as we were celebrating our anniversary. He also had booked a lovely room with a great view. The continental breakfast, which is included with the stay is excellent, and the kitchen staff kept every item fully stocked and the area spotless. The enclosed veranda was lovely.

The only negative was that we could hear the people in the next room.

We will be sure to stay again when the pool will be opened. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Call the Anchor in when you book, and ask for a room on the second floor in the main building.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxborotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

beautiful, comfortable, immaculate, beautiful gardens and pool with wonderful view of harbor and ferries arriving and .aleaving for the islands. Curteous and friendly staff. Make you feel right at home. Wonderful breakfast to start your day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Anchor In, while good, is not someplace we would return to. It's defintely more our personal peferences than the experiences other reviewers who have enjoyed the hotel better than we did.

We arrived in town to what I had expected to be a charming location on the harbor. What we found was a charming, extremely clean and well maintained inn "nestled" off of busy South Street between the city's hospital and the Hyannis Port Harbor. Traffic noise was an issue at times and there was at least one motorcyclist who made certain everyone heard his comings and goings every day.

While restaurants were "technically" within a 15 minute walk, the surroundings led one to drive more than walk (holes in the sidewalks). We did, however, very much enjoy the Black Cat and Spankys restaurants, both of which were recommended by hotel staff.

Our room was a Deluxe King in the Main Building (#102). The room is very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the harbor, well kept furnishings, spotlessly clean, a small kitchen area with refrigerator, a large (for a hotel room) walk-in closet and then . . . you open the door to the bathroom to find a pedestal sink with NO counter space or shelving anywhere in the room. My makeup case remained on the floor and had to be placed on the toilet lid when trying to get dressed each day. The only "fix" for this problem would be to punch through the closet wall and add some counter space. Also, adding a full length mirror to the closet door would be helpful. The only other mirror in the entire suite was behind the desk and was not usable without having to move furniture. Lastly, the walls are "thin." We heard the conversations and TV from our neighbors in room 103 our entire 3 days. Fortunately, they were "early birds" like us, and things did quiet down by 11 pm each night.

The public rooms (the library and the breakfast room) were also well maintained. We particularly liked the sunroom hallway where tables were placed for breakfast. Breakfast offerings were "heavy continental" with fresh fruit, yogurt (vanilla only), bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, cold cereals and juice.

We did not find the service to be stellar. Check-in went smoothly and was cordial, but not particularly welcoming. We did not run into any other staff over the 3 days we were there. It was, however, a poor farewell when I went to return our keys at checkout (9:30 am) and no one was at the desk or anywhere to be found. A "we hope you enjoyed your stay" would have been nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night last week and it was relaxing! The room was lovely and so comfortable. We enjoyed the cont. breakfast very much and what a beautiful room it is! Spotless! The staff was wonderful, every person we encountered over our 2 days was very sincere and so helpful, thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelforSports_Beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews