We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Location”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell Jct, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Location”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I decided to stay at The Anchor In in Hyannis due to the town being mid-Cape for exploring purposes and the hotel situated on the water with many excellent reviews. My stay before Memorial Day weekend got me a better rate while still not inexpensive. The "in-season" rates are very high. The hotel is immaculate as most reviewers already stated. The room I chose was the "cozy" room listed as having a harbor view through the sunroom. Read "cozy" as small and, in my opinion, while perfectly adequate for one person, two would be quite cramped. I expected the sunroom to be open air where I would be able to sit out and catch the ocean breezes but instead it turned out to actually be a glass-enclosed walkway which contained some over-flow cafe-type tables/chairs from the library/game room for accommodating the breakfast diners and also some lovely and comfortable rattan chairs and tables for reading or just sitting. As I had pictured myself kicked back reading in the salty air with minimal foot traffic to disturb me, I was rather disappointed in this set-up. If I were to return, I would definitely get a second floor room, sans elevator to get there, with a deck facing the harbor. The view from the sunroom is also somewhat blocked by the large faux mast that rises up from the pool area (see pictures). The room where I stayed is directly behind the man sitting in the rattan chair in picture #3 of the 103 personal pictures on this Tripadvisor site. I wished I had looked at them first. The other problem with this room is that the only window is the one facing that hallway (sunroom) so if you want any privacy, you must keep the drapes closed and, like another person mentioned, those hallway lights are kept on all night, which I found disturbing. I found the bed to be very hard and, consequently, not rest inducing. I'm sure the management might have been able to move me if I had inquired. I relate this only so others might be aware if these issues might be of concern to them. On another note, I have been told by a Cape Codder that keeping a property that is close to the water free of mold and mildew is very difficult indeed. However, the maintenance and cleanliness at The Anchor In is so impeccable that this is not even remotely an issue. The place is pristine and the furnishings are lovely. The parking is conveniently right outside the door. The people running the establishment are nice, the breakfast is good and, while not hot, it is plentiful and nicely presented.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaranthine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    275
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
253
560
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect. The location was great, within an easy walk to several bars and restaurants and the ferry to Nantucket. The view couldn't be better, and every room appeared to have a fantastic view of the harbor. The hotel itself was immaculate and the staff was attentive and friendly. The pool was warm and comfortable even when the weather was cool. The breakfasts were above the typical continental breakfast you get at most places, with some of the best fresh baked muffins we've ever had. The library was a beautiful and relaxing place to have a night cap after a long day of exploring Cape Cod. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, luxurious and convenient place to stay while in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Recently took my boyfriend for his birthday this past weekend. I had called earlier in the day to see if an early check in was possible and we were able to check in at noon. Once we got to the room, a bottle of champagne and a "happy birthday" note were waiting in the room for us. The hotel was clean and super adorably decorated. One of the best parts of our stay was the free continental breakfast which was great! The view of the harbor from the hotel is beautiful and the sunsets are amazing! I have no complaints about this hotel at all, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, the hotel which was recently renovated was amazing and the price was right! I would recommend this hotel to all of my family/friends and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We wanted a B+B-like place but that was a little more modern and mainstream and this place was exactly that. Small and homey, yet modern. Rooms were clean and the bathrooms updated. Nice breakfast nook and lovely library. Good breakfast with great muffins! Front desk staff was terrific. Only negative was a singular surly breakfast attendant.

Room Tip: We had room 103. It was large with a nice harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was our second visit at this hotel. We loved the clean,airy room with the great view of the harbor. Breakfast was delicious fresh daily.We were able to walk to the ferry terminal to Nantucket.It's the best place to stay on the Cape.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We attended our son's Graduation Ceremony at Harward Law School on May 24. Right away we came to The Anchor Inn in Cape cod for celebration. We were glad to make such choice as we found out it was ideally located in the central of Cape Cod which provide a very convenient location to explore the adjacent sight seeing points. These wonderful two nights we stayed would certainly cast never-fading memories in our minds.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We spent two nights here in mid-May. Check-in was welcoming. Rooms were excellent, beds comfortable. We had two rooms on the second floor with balconies where we enjoyed the ocean view and the boats and ferries coming and going. The grounds are very well-maintained and the breakfast just fine - especially sitting in the sunporch hallway looking out to the water. Looked to be a beautiful outdoor pool but we didn't have a chance to use it. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krammajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing