We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2008

We spent a couple of nights there in April. Nice rooms, continental breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. It's a 2 minute walk to the Nantucket Ferry. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    275
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
252
559
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We were really looking forward to staying at this hotel as the website makes it loor really nice. I'm sure that it is in the right weather but we were unlucky - arriving in a thunderstorm which stayed until we left the next day. We didn't even bother to look around the town as the weather was so bad.
The hotel itself was Nice - the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms we had picked lived up to expectations and the balconies looked out over the harbour. Again - had the weather been better this would have been delightful. I can imagine that it's a real pleasure in the summer.
The only real negative though, was breakfast. We had to go outside to get to the main hotel where breakfast was served and that meant getting soaked. When we got there we found breakfast laid out in a corridor with only two chairs nearby (already occupied) when we asked where we were meant to eat they simply pointed to the two chairs (Occupied) or suggetsed we took a plate back to our rooms. Well despite trying our best to protect the food, by the time we got back to the room it was barely edible. Soggy muffins and cold "hot chocolate" full of rainwater is not my ideal repast.
I get the impression there is a dining room that may have been undergoing refurbishment but the hotel really should make suitable alternative arrangements for their guests (we didn't get the rooms at a cut rate because of the refurb so why should we get substandard service)
Apart from that - the hotel was fine. we took the meal package offered and the restaurant that we went to (the Italian one) was superb if a tad pricey.
I would definitely stay there again - if only to see the place in the nice weather, but unless things have changed I would eat out for breakfast.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexJdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We choose to stay here once a month, and we have a choice of any hotel in the area. I will be happy to tell you my perspective of its positive and negatives.
Positives: It is a small local hotel that, to me, evokes an "old Cape Cod" feeling. It is the next best thing to owning a beach cottage. It is right on the water, smack-dab in the middle of town and right next to the wharf, ferries, about 5 blocks to bus terminal. Two blocks or so to Hyannis' scenic main street, dockside restaurants, hospital, etc. It is staffed by natives & people with strong local ties that know everything about their home town, every bump in the road and who owned what house, restaurant, store, and when. They are happy people who want you to enjoy your stay in their home town. The hotel has a resident professional interior designer who decorates and is in charge of renovations which are in progress. It looks pretty and festive any time of the year, Christmas, October, as well as Summer. It is well maintained and the landscapes/plantings are lovely especially in the Summer, and we look forward to the giant pumpkin displays in the Autumn. 4th of July you have a ringside seet. In Summer kids love the pool which overlooks the harbor. We have tried other hotels but it doesn't feel like we've been to Cape Cod unless we stay there (like Christmas without a tree).

  • Liked — location, staff, views of harbor
  • Disliked — coffee
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbirdBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany,new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I booked a few days on the cape to celebrate my husband's birthday.I was able to make reservations from the hotels web site.Check in was very smooth and quick.Staff was friendly.Our room was on the second floor ,east wing,and had a beautiful view overlooking the harbor.We enjoyed watching the sunsets from the deck.The room was spacious and very clean.The breakfast in the morning was good. Fresh bagels,muffins and fruit.One of the best cups of coffee I've had.The hotel is close to beaches,ferries and Main Street.Staying on the cape off season is definitely a good deal. Rooms are less expensive, and no crowds! We had a great time.Would stay here again.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kneezyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid coast maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

we stayed here on a last minute trip to cape cod. everything from start to finish was excellent. from a smooth check in to the morning coffee and muffin, we had a nice stay. in an area saturated with hotel options we would stay here again.the decor and furniture of the room ,bath and public areas was tasteful and very pretty but not too foo foo. the owners care about hospitality and it shows.

  • Liked — the wallpaper in the bedrooms and the comfort of the bed
  • Disliked — too close to the hospital
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paperreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

I have been going to Cape Cod every year for the last 21 years and have never liked a place more than the Anchor In.

Staying at the Anchor In was pleasant from the moment I parked my car and entered the front lobby. The building was beautiful and the front lobby very quaint and had a cute little section selling Cape Cod gifts. The sun deck overlooking the harbor was especially nice and great for reading the newspaper on in the morning.

My room was recently refurbished and had a flat screen TV in it. Everything about the room was comfortable. In fact, the mattress was much more comfortable than my mattress at home and made getting up in the morning very difficult. :)

The service was perfect. Everybody at the motel had a smile on their face and made staying there very pleasant. The breakfast in the morning is just what I wanted and needed. Fresh gourmet muffins, bagels, coffee and juice. The breakfast was out on the sundeck so you could either enjoy it in one of the comfortable sundeck chairs or bring it back to your room on the bamboo trays they provide and eat breakfast while looking out on the harbor or watching the flat screen TV.

I stayed at the Anchor In during the off season, but I would surely go back for a stay during the summer.

  • Liked — everything. The room, sun deck, location, tv etc.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kofi_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We stayed at the Anchor Inn last summer for a few days. I found the staff at the front desk accommodating and helpful. The room was cozy and suited our needs. We were in walking distance to local restaurants and other sites. The complimentary breakfast was pretty basic but there are plenty of restaurants nearby to get a more filling breakfast.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Midwesternmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing