We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I just came back from a week in Cape Cod and stayed at Anchor In. This hotel is gorgeous. I had a first floor room with a private deck and a view of the harbor--which was breath taking. The room itself was lovely--clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast was very nice. Though there are no hot options, everything is fresh. Each morning there was a lovely woman in the kitchen to greet me as she prepared fresh fruit and replenished the food. You eat your breakfast in a lovely sunroom or the beautiful library. Finally, the staff was amazing. They were friendly, accommodating, and knowledgable. They were able to offer restaurant suggestions, book ferries, give directions, and make activity suggestions. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler82476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

This place is very convenient if you want to get away from the city for the weekend. We enjoyed a short break at this hotel and loved every minute we stayed. The rooms are nicely decorated offering everything you need for a short vacation. Lovely view of the marina. I would come back next time I need a break from the city !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked here based upon Tripadvisor commentaries and ratings. We picked the property because of its excellent location for our 2-day stay with a day trip on the 2nd day up the Cape. The hotel is perfectly nice, but clearly you are paying for the location, and that was fine with us. Rooms are spacious and our first-floor room had some view of the harbor (but less than we would have on the 2nd floor or rooms directly facing the harbor). Breakfast was standard and adequate. I was surprised at our somewhat brusque handling at check-in, but didn't make much of it.Our main issue happened on the first night when what turned out to be a massive family disturbance occurred in the next room. The disturbance itself was in NO way the fault of the hotel, and they later assured us that this was an extremely unusual occurrence. However, we were concerned that after calling the front desk in the middle of the night, we were not clear on what the hotel's response was and the disturbance persisted for 45 minutes longer. It was hard to get back to sleep afterward and our next day was messed up as we were sleep deprived and missed breakfast. The hotel did in the end reduce each day's rate by 25% in response to my concern, which was appropriate. However, we do feel that based on our interactions with staff including check-in and check-out and of course during the disturbance, that responsiveness could be improved.

Room Tip: 2nd floor balcony or on the ends of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleniAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your review. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the disturbance during your first night with us. There was an immediate response and the problem was resolved in a matter of minutes. After dealing with the immediate issue and at what we felt was the appropriate time, we explained the situation to you and others effected, after which time we were certain that you were completely satisfied with our response, corrective action and compensation. We also responded with a follow up email to you after your departure.

We look forward to making your next visit to Cape Cod a more pleasantly memorable one for all of your stay. It would be our pleasure to assist you from check in to check out.

Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here because of the convenience to the ferry for Nantucket. It is a cute motel and certainly a place I would stay again. Chris at the front desk was extremely friendly and entertaining. We enjoyed his personality and I think he made us appreciate the property more. The rooms are good enough. The motel is older but very clean. We enjoyed the private patio area and the fire pit. It was so nice to sit by the fire and enjoy the cool evening while gazing out over the marina.
A continental breakfast is included with your stay. It gets the job done but a warm option would be a great addition. I also think it would be nice to offer breakfast until 10 am, especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This gem of a property made our trip to Cape Cod so special! The location is beautiful overlooking the harbor! The rooms are charming and so comfortable after a long day being a tourist! We loved every minute that we returned after our visit to Nantucket! Manager Chris is awesome! He makes each guest feel welcome! A delicious breakfast sent us off to enjoy each day, Thank you for helping us create memories!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It isn't often that holiday accommodation ticks all the boxes, but this one certainly does. The Motel is set looking over a beautiful little harbour, it has a lovely pool with a decking area and loungers for sunbathing. The bedrooms are well appointed and those facing the harbour have balconies to take in the view. The breakfast is advertised as continental, but there is plenty to choose from, including every type of bagel you can name. There are fresh strawberries, as much juice, coffee and tea you can drink. Granola, cheese, meats, yogurt.... absolutely superb. The staff are all helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The Motel is also very well situated, so you can walk to the restaurants in the area. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieFuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just returning from my weekend at the Anchor In. I am so happy I picked this hotel and will definitely return again. The landscaping around the hotel is beautiful, kept immaculate. The room was very modern and clean. The bathroom counter area is a little small, but that was such a minor thing. The view of the harbor was beautiful even though it rained the whole time I was there. The morning continental breakfast was more than just coffee and donuts. Again, so clean. And all the staff were very nice. Yes, you could find a cheaper hotel, but you get what you pay for. At least here you do!
Short walk to Main St. Hyannis, which was great fun. Restaurants and shops galore. And if you want to have a little fun, go on the Duck Boat. It was fun!!

Room Tip: Any room facing the harbor is great. I was on the first floor which I liked, but I think there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queen417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
53 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range: £83 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing