We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribe telephone courtesy”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I were looking forward to two days later at Anchor In later in October based on the reviews and marketing pr of the hotel. However, when I rang from London, England to ask some basic questions about the hotel today, the person who answered (Chris) was off hand, disnterested and mechanical
.
When I asked what the difference was between the £79 and £109 rooms, he was dismissive about the less expensive room range, saying "you get what you pay for". As a representative of the hotel itself, it said a lot about the hotel's interest in individual customer service. Based on this interaction, we will not be booking this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Every phone call and every guest is very important to us. We strive to meet or exceed all our guests expectations. We are sorry to hear that our phone conversation did not answer your questions to your complete satisfaction and that you will not be joining us here at Anchor In.

As always, we responded courteously to your request for an explanation in great detail of the difference between two different guest room types and why those differences reflect different pricing levels. We also responded to your follow up questions, comments, critiques and your request for a guest room upgrade in a courteous, professional, fashion.

It would be our pleasure to assist you personally with any questions, comments or concerns that you may have. We can be reached at 508.775.0357.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was a wonderful respite in our five week trip. Couldn't speak, highly enough of the staff , especially sandy on the night shift. The rooms were immaculate, beyond clean and well maintained. The breakfast room, and kitchen - stylish and welcoming.
The view from our room was both restful and divine.......just loved it all .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved this place! Average sized rooms, though clean and comfortable with a nice little deck. Front desk staff were very helpful in recommending and arranging restaurants, tours, etc. The hotel is steps to the ferries and close enough to walk to the attractions. The breakfast was beautifully served and included lots of fresh fruit, muffins and bagels as well as toast, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats and drinks. The pool is small but clean and warm with lots of fluffy towels. The view of the harbour was a nice extra. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room overlooking the marina and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Input-from-EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Finding and staying in reasonably comfortable accommodations while visiting Cape Cod, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, (during the summer season) will require $$$$. With that stated, the Anchor In Hotel in Hyannis MA offers on par value. With a few exceptions, the facility is clean, bright and well maintained.

Pros:

1) Accommodating staff, (Nina, our maid was very friendly and on our day of departure chased after us to give us something we'd left behind).
2) Harbor View.
3) A few minutes walking distance to Nantucket and Martha'$ Vineyard ferries.
4) Continental breakfast inclusive.
5) Excellent showers.
6) Clean Pool
7) Fire pit overlooking the harbor.
8) Well kept grounds, (I meant to complement those attending to the plants and flowers but did not want to disturb them)

Cons:
1) Continental breakfast, (for the price paid, a more substantial breakfast should be provided)
2) Some mold / mildew in the shower on the very top edge of the tile line. (Standing 6.0' 4.0", I'm probably taller than average and could not have seen the mildew otherwise). It was minor.
3) Musty smell. We stayed in two different rooms, one on the ground floor and the other on the second floor. In both rooms, (in fact just entering the common corridor) a musty odor is easily detected, (not overwhelming but certainly noticeable). After being in the room for a while we quickly became acclimated to the odor however, each and every time we left the room and returned, (if only for a few minutes) the smell was again obvious.
4) AAA rated or AAA participating. While the sign in front indicates AAA, there is no discount offered. I was advised by the staff; "We are triple A rated but do not participate in discounts, we offer a continental breakfast instead"
5) Plumbing noise. If you are a lite sleeper, the sound of your neighbor's wonderful shower may awaken you.
6) Sliding screen door was on the 1'st floor room was difficult to open/ close.
7) Security, I found that one entry door on the East wing could easily be opened without a key. I had forgotten my room key and was easily able to gain entry with my car key. The car key did not even enter the tumbler but was able to rotate the cylinder.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is fantastic. My daughter and I shared a room on the East Wing for our 7 night stay. The room has super comfortable beds, great bathroom and is extremely comfortable. The hotel offers a beautiful view of the harbor and is a short walk to Main Street. The grounds are impeccably maintained. We found Hyannis to be a great midpoint for travel and exploration around Cape Cod. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast daily with bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereals etc. There is a cozy dining area with tables that also has games and books, but who has time to play games with so much to do. We explored Provincetown, Yarmouth, Chatham, Orleans, Martha's Vineyard and the local beach. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. From the time I made my reservation (this hotel is always full), this hotel staff sets itself apart from other hotels. Francis is amazing. He is patient and professional. He even fixed our broken cable on our TV. The daytime woman at the front desk (sorry did not get name) goes above and beyond in making sure all needs are met. Maid staff amazing. Plenty of free parking, All the staff is wonderful. Met interesting people at the firepit and shared stories of our Cape Cod adventures. Hyannis was actually my least favorite town but I would 100% come back and stay at this hotel as it is convenient to everything. It is refreshing in this day and age of poor service to find such a great hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on side to the left of the office if facing front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skittlesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Looks like it was recently renovated. The rooms were very comfortable. Having a fire pit overlooking the harbor was a treat. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. It was a nice walk to the cute little downtown area and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is lovely, with charming rooms, very nice pool, nice view on the harbour and qualitative breakfast. Staff is very kind and ready to give relevant advice. Location is good, close to the harbour (Nantucket and Martha's vineyard) which is convenient (car park is quite expensive if you have to go to the harbour by boat) and close to main street. But it is close to the hospital with a lot of traffic and ambulances. One drawback : beds are a little bit narrow and curling so not very comfortable. But the result is very good

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
53 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range: £83 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing