We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for our family celebration”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
longwood
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for our family celebration”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

After intensive research, Anchor In was chosen for our late Sept. birthday celebration for the patriarch of the family,his wife and four 50ish children and their spouses. It was perfect for all. Location the best for water views and proximity to ferries, a reasonable walk to many restaurants and shops. The Inn, itself, is wonderfully maintained; rooms are most attractive; beds are very comfortable and the continental breakfast excellent. Service was welcoming and attentive. We enjoyed The Osterville, our second floor spacious room ( the hospitality room for our group) with its wrap around balcony and water views. A great choice for all! Kudos to the owners and staff.....

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank diana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    271
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
242
543
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It's okay if you don't mind being exhorted to help the environment by reusing your towels while being forced to rape it by the use of plastic 'glasses'. Our room was super quiet, but had a terrible layout, with a non-swivelling TV at one end and a sitting area at the other. Watching TV from the sitting area was impossible because of the roughly 10° viewing angle. Staff came to make changes, but could only remedy the situation by putting the easy chair between the two beds. Made a mess of the room, but what the heck.

Again a matter of the room advertised on the website looking a lot better than what one is stuck with on arrival.

The (included) continental breakfast was so-so, mainly because of the pleasing setting. Other than that, it was a little hectic and disjointed, with lousy coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sir; Cape Cod’s sole source aquifer, the groundwater beneath the surface, is the only source of drinking water in this region. We do our best at conservation efforts. As part of our effort, we use a card that simply says in essence; any towels you would like replaced leave on the floor. For sound sanitary reasons, we use individually wrapped plastic glasses in our guest rooms. We would have been glad to provide you with glass glasses upon request.

The sitting area was meant to be an area to look out over the water. It was never intended to be an area to sit and watch TV.

We use Green Mountain Coffee exclusively. We brew a breakfast blend in the mornings. After breakfast, for the rest of the day and evening we have different flavor options available that can be brewed by the cup.

We wish we could have honored your request to stay an additional night but we were sold out. Perhaps that third night would have put you in better spirits.

Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Great room and services. A must stay when in Hyannis, close to everything. Enjoyed the fire pit a great place to meet other people. The view from our room was excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tchjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Not expecting much by way of a one night stay from Nantucket to Boston, but how pleasant our one night was! Breath taking harbor view, huge and spotless room. Breakfast area was a delight...wish we had more time to stay!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent a few days in Cape Cod to celebrate my 50th birthday. We we arrived and there was a bottle of wine and card in our room. The staff is awesome! Very helpful with information. The rooms were very nice and breakfast great. Enjoyed sitting around the firepit after dinner. Chris and Janet were great. We will go there again if we ever go back to the cape!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrived a little early at the Anchor In but our room was ready and Chris was a very good host. He showed us around and gave us suggestions of where to eat. The room was clean and had a nice view of the marina and our deck was wonderful to sit on in the afternoon sun. Our room was on the East side on the 2nd floor. Disadvantage.... no elevators only stairs...no problem except when carrying luggage. The continental breakfast was satisfactory for us. We are not big breakfast eaters. Coffee and tea was available all day in the library...a very nice room. The pool looked clean and inviting and was heated but we did not use it. The evening fire pit was a nice touch. The flowers surrounding the pool area were beautiful. Enjoyed staying at the Anchor In and would stay there again if in Hyannis again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a better view of the marina and the east side is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Anchor In is not a bad motel: it enjoys a nice harbor view and it's clean.
Its "free" breakfast is poor though, and there is not enough room in the lounge.

I reserved and paid for a suite with 2 queen beds for my family (4 people) two months in advance, based on the good reviews here.

When we reached the motel we were amazed to find out that the suite was taken till the next day and the only room they could offer to us was a small room with 2 double beds.
It was the weekend and everything was fully occupied. We had just one day to explore the area and we didn't want to waste our precious time on finding a new hotel – so we took the room reluctantly, and had a very bad night sleep.

Mistakes do happen: the management kept the suite for us for the wrong date.
I would have expected that in such case – there would be compensation, but no compensation was even offered.
I wanted to speak to the manager but instead – I was asked by the receptionist to write a complaint email which was time consuming as English is not my native tongue. The next day I was contacted by them just to hear how "sorry" they were, and that was it.

At the Anchor In the costumer is probably NEVER right.
Instead of turning a discontented client to a happy one – they chose to accuse me in the mistake.

There are heaps of great hotels in the area. Why choose one with a bad attitude?
I would recommend skipping the Anchor In and finding a place where customers are appreciated.

Room Tip: Try the next hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiladIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sir; You made a Sunday reservation for one night in the Hyannis which has two Queen beds and a sofa bed. We sent you an email confirmation immediately. You called back later, reconfirmed the reservation dates and we sent you a second email confirmation. As with every guest, we sent you a reminder email with your reservation details three days prior to your arrival date.

Unfortunately you arrived on Saturday; your reservation was for Sunday. You claimed to have never received our emails and that we must have your email address wrong. We printed and presented to you all the emails showing your reservation details for an arrival on Sunday and you confirmed the email address was indeed correct.

Fortunately we had one of our most sought after Deluxe guest rooms available for you with two Double beds and sofa bed which we showed you. We told you that we would make you as satisfied and comfortable as possible including issuing you a full refund and to assist you in finding lodging in another location.

We were glad that we had a very similar guest room type for you and that you decided to stay with us. There was a difference in the nightly room rate which was refunded to you immediately.

Unfortunately, you chose to demand “serious compensation” on your Sunday morning check out, insult our guest clerk and mock our property after being denied compensation by our clerk. By phone, I advised our clerk to suggest you submit the rationale for your request in writing. I called you Monday morning and you continued to insist we had made a mistake.

We hope that you find peace and happiness in all your future travels.
Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing