We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for location and area”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for location and area”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed in Hyannis twice now before catching the early ferry to Nantucket, which is a block or two away. The Anchor Inn has been our best experience. Felt like we found a little hidden gem; our room was updated, very modern, and extremely clean. It was great to wake up to a beautiful harbor view. Just wished we had more time to enjoy it. The breakfast was good & the staff very nice in the AM before we departed. We will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    271
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
242
543
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent staff make this inn worth a visit. From check-in to departure, the staff are friendly, considerate, and concerned with providing a high level of service. Without doubt, this is the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The outside lights need to be dimmed at night or shut off as they shine into the rooms making sleep difficult. Other than that, it's a great place with good quality beds and a relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast would be improved with better muffins and fresher bagels. Overall, a best bet in Hyannis.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just enjoyed a great fall weekend at the Anchor Inn. Our room was large, exceptionally clean, and faced the water. There is no restaurant, but a lovely continental breakfast is offered in the library. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the front desk people were happy to help with suggestions for dinner and things to do. When we checked out, we were given a little tote with 2 bottles of water and some salt water taffy-a nice touch! We look forward to staying again sometime!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

An excellent location to stay on the Cape with a wonderful view of the harbour. The room was adequate but the bathroom needed updating.
Several good restaurants nearby but due to lack of street lighting not easy to walk to in the evening.
With the recent installation of a 'Fire Pit' at the hotel it is not possible to get to sleep before 11.00pm if you are tired after a busy day due to the noise coming from the 'Pit'.
Breakfast is acceptable but not great.
Do not take the Cape Cod Central Railroad as all one can see for 90% of the time is trees!

Room Tip: Go for one of the more expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review and also your recent email regarding your stay in the middle of September which stated, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Cape Cod and found the Anchor In a very pleasant place to stay with a lovely outlook over the harbor… We were surprised to see your well below average review.

The new waterfront fire pit and viewing area has exceeded all expectations. Guest feedback has been 100% positive. Your email mentioned that you were bothered by voices from the fire pit area but that you had your sliding glass door open. We certainly hope you were not bothered by this all 5 nights of your stay.

Your recently renovated bathroom has a tiled floor, comfort height sink and counter, hair dryer, vanity mirror, extra lighting, fully adjustable rain shower head with plenty of water, a full glass enclosure, robes, plush towels and bath product by Gilchrist & Soames.

All streets surrounding Anchor In have street lights.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations.

Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We flew into Boston and nipped south to Cape Cod for an overnight. the Anchor in Hyannis saved us well. Large room with two queen beds, quiet, clean and fresh, perfect quiet night's sleep, monsoon of a shower in the morning, pullback the curtains to a lovely view of the harbour (ok, harbor). Breakfast muffins set us off well. Really glad to have a room by the sea rather than on some nondescript street. We then drove up to Chatham (FAB beach for walking by the lighthouse) via Yarmouth (lovely drive) and back to Woods Hole before heading north. Perfect placed to get on with that after a good night's sleep.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheet_bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Such a fabulous place-we would definitely stay here again! Great location, king room, service as well as wonderful setting, breakfast and amenities! Highly recommend, cannot say enough about how good!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just returned from a very nice stay here. The location is perfect, away from the traffic and overlooking the harbor. There is everything here you need, breakfast is very good, the staff are excellent, and the hotel grounds are beautiful. There is a pool and a great outdoor firepit. It's an easy walk into town for shopping and dining. Also, right next to the ferry. Definitely the only place to stay when visiting the cape!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing