We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out standing!”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Seaville, Cape May County, New Jerasy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out standing!”
Reviewed 19 October 2006

This was the only lodging I could find in tripadvisor.com on Cape Cod that no one had any complaint about. I had a hard time believing that but.....it lived up to its reputation. We spent a week in the new wing and it was excellent. The service was great, there wasn't anything that the innkeepers were not prepared to help with, the location is great and the view even better. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will return next year.

  • Liked — They were quite, clean and very comfortable. The view was outstanding.
  • Disliked — lack of onsite breakfast facility. The continental breakfast was good but got dull early.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WHB#
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    275
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
252
559
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Location to harbor excellent. Great for walking to ferries and to downtown Hyannis. Rooms very clean & neat. Hotel offers a continental breakfast which was very fresh & abundant. I only wished they offered a sunroom or some other room to sit and enjoy the meal and the view.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of Hotel
  • Disliked — No area to sit at tables to eat breakfast or sit and talk. They had a hallway for this purpose and I didn't feel this was acceptable
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susielq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

This hotel is in a great location, next to Hyannis harbour and walking distance to the ferry terminals to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. It is also close (walkable) to Main Street for the shops and restuarants. Rooms are spacious, with small balconies overlooking the small pool and harbour. Buffet breakfast is simple (muffins, bagels and fruit) but fresh. Cheaper than some of the larger chain hotels in Hyannis, this location is much better.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gb293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

Motel is in a pretty location although you wonder if you have the right place when you drive into the car park overlooking the hospital being built further down the coast. It did look the best place to stay in Hyannis. Very efficiently run and extremely clean. it is a bit of a hike into Main Street but it has very pretty outlook onto marina. Rooms were quite basic and very dark, situated around a small heated pool. Breakfast is good quality although limited to juice coffee bagels and muffins served from a small reception table between only 7-9am. Motel stocks menus for local resturants and we walked to Spankys Clam Shack but found food disappointing. 2 night stay overshadowed by very heavy rain which prevented us from going up into National park.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank TAmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This was a very nice hotel located a short distance from town. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackcourseBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

We arrived on a very warm and sunny day in August and the view from the room was spectacular and fully matched the pictures on the internet and brochure.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, arranging whale watching for us and giving us good advise. Our apartment had two rooms, a main bedroom with good sized bed and a seperate day room with a sofa bed which we used for our daughter.

The only problem with the layout was that the aircon in the main bedroom is immediately above the one side of the bed, making it a little noisy and a little cold, although it is easily adjusted.

We expected the breakfast to be difficult as the buffet is layed out in the foyer of the hotel and in the smallest of space, but the staff are very attentive ( 3 people refilling) and the experience very pleasant. The range and quality of food offered was very good.

My only critisism of the hotel is that other than a vending machine for coke, their appeared to be no facilities at all for obtaining a drink other than at breakfast. Coffee facilities in the room would have been a great improvement.

Hyannis itself one long street with a selection of restaurants etc and within walking distance. The most noteable feature of the main street is the 'Duck tours". A 45 min land and sea trip which in itself is interesting and would be even better if the guide realised that she did not have to talk the WHOLE time.. when you run out of things to say, shut up.. not tell every one and then still try to talk about irrelivant items . One small comment, it is difficult to believe that some of unimpressive buildings really did host the events they inform you and unfortunatelly not every one is a 6 year old that enjoyes shouting "Quack Quack" when requested to do so.

If staying at the Anchor, Tugboats Restaurant is highly recommended for its fresh food, great service and excellent views. It is closer than the high street and so could walk.. but the way in between is not pedestrian friendly so my advis is that you drive

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Very limited refreshment facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Tugboats Restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DriftwoodNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing