We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Harbor View”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Harbor View”
Reviewed 11 April 2007

My husband and stayed at the Anchor In [--] for two nights to celebrate our 15-year anniversary. Upon our arrival, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne left for us in our room (the Osterville, which was 75-feet from the water). The room was beautifully decorated, very clean, with great views of the harbor. You can see the ferries coming in and going out. We were recommended to some great restaurants. At the Roadhouse Cafe[--]we enjoyed delicious lobsters and drinks, while enjoying jazz music in the jazz room. Would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant when in the area, as well as, staying at the Anchor In.

  • Liked — The view from the Osterville Room.
  • Disliked — The scent of the cleaning products. Had to air out the room for a few minutes (or turn on the fan), as it bothered my allergies.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mt1089gren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    277
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
257
562
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Anchor In for just one night (March 3). We had been to Cape Cod twice before, and since our favorite spot was closed for the season, I chose the Anchor In because of the price, and the reviews on this site.

We were not disappointed. The property doesn't look great from the outside, but the inside has been completely renovated. We stayed in the East Wing, in a deluxe room ($97/night USD). It was beautiful, with a great harbour view. The beds were more comfortable than the $300/night room we had the night before in downtown Boston! Definitely good value.

The staff was friendly and offered great suggestions for dinner and touring. We had dinner at the British Beer Company on Main (great live music!) and enjoyed a day trip to nearby Chatham (just out of a picture book!). Would recommend both.

Continental breakfast was served (7-9am - and we are not early risers). A nice way to start the day.

Enjoyed our off-season getaway to Cape Cod, and would definitely return to the Anchor In.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, proximity to downtown, front desk service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HernameisRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

If I could give this hotel four and a half stars I would. My daughter and I stayed a night at the Anchor In Hotel in late November. The off-season room rate was VERY good. I'm not sure, however, that I would pay the high season rates. While our room was tastefully decorated and the little touches, like a feather comforter and prettily folded towels, made us feel pampered, the room size was on the small size. The Continental breakfast was more than enough, and tasty, too. My biggest complaint would be a communication issue. When I booked our room I inquired of their ferry parking that was advertised on their website and described as "an easy walk." It wasn't. At least not to the Hy-Line ferry. Turns out it was a 20 minute run/walk to the ferry, dragging our suitcases and other bags (could have been a great Samsonite luggage commercial!). And then we nearly missed the ferry! It would have been nice if the staff had warned me of the distance when I mentioned the Hy-Line at the time of my phone inquirey, when we paid for the parking (separate from the hotel bill), or when we asked for directions. When we got to the ferry, winded and exhausted, we noticed ferry parking was only a few yards away and just $10.00/day. Live and learn! All that aside, our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Liked — The off season price was awesome.
  • Disliked — Walking distance from hotel to the Hy-Line ferry.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go off season, and if you take the Hy-Line fast ferry over to Nantucket, park by the ferry, don't park and walk from the hotel.
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Dineyander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

Stayed for 2 nights during last week in October. Wonderful view of harbor from sunroom with comfortable chairs for eating continental breakfast. The innkeepers were nice and very helpful. Comfortable rooms in small property, which we liked a lot. Overall experience at hotel was above average, but they did not honor the AAA discount that is advertised by AAA, saying that they give everyone the same low rates. We will contact AAA about that.......

  • Liked — friendly innkeepers
  • Disliked — didn't honor discount advertised
  • Tips/Secrets — call ahead for rates
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank newengtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor_In, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2006
Thank You. It's always a pleasure to read all the wonderful reviews.To make the AAA discount issue as crystal clear as possible>>

We have been Three Diamond Rated by AAA for many consecutive years. AAA does not advertise a discount for Anchor In on their website or in their Tourbook.

As part of our Official Appointment with AAA, we guarantee members the lowest public rate available as described in the AAA Tourbook. "These properties guarantee members the lowest public rate available at the time of the booking for the dates of stay OR a minimum 10% discount off the standard room rates published in TourBook guides. We highlight these properties with red and a SAVE icon to help you quickly identify them."

You can call us or make a reservation on our Anchor In website. You will receive the same low guaranteed rate. We do not use commision based, third party booking agencies which can often result in higher rates.

We have one discount. 25% off for Active Duty Military.
Skip Simpson




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2006

We had a family get together and rented 5 rooms at the hotel for the weekend. The staff was polite and very helpful. The rooms were as lovely as the web pictures depict. They were extremely clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. The views were wonderful. The breakfast was very good. My family had a wonderful time and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The location and views are perfect. It lived up to all my expectations.

  • Liked — Clean, Comfortable, Great Views, Great Staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaville, Cape May County, New Jerasy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2006

This was the only lodging I could find in tripadvisor.com on Cape Cod that no one had any complaint about. I had a hard time believing that but.....it lived up to its reputation. We spent a week in the new wing and it was excellent. The service was great, there wasn't anything that the innkeepers were not prepared to help with, the location is great and the view even better. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will return next year.

  • Liked — They were quite, clean and very comfortable. The view was outstanding.
  • Disliked — lack of onsite breakfast facility. The continental breakfast was good but got dull early.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WHB#
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Location to harbor excellent. Great for walking to ferries and to downtown Hyannis. Rooms very clean & neat. Hotel offers a continental breakfast which was very fresh & abundant. I only wished they offered a sunroom or some other room to sit and enjoy the meal and the view.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of Hotel
  • Disliked — No area to sit at tables to eat breakfast or sit and talk. They had a hallway for this purpose and I didn't feel this was acceptable
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susielq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing