We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay for families and with 2 swimming pools, you can't fault it. The surrounding area requires a car to visit but it's well worth it. The area has a lot to offer so don't get stuck in the resort, get out there and explore!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambsto___
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    380
    215
    95
    92
See reviews for
631
233
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many, many times and keep coming back for more! We have a beach house in the next town over and often use the Cape Codder for overflow if we don't have enough space for everyone. The indoor wave pool and the outdoor Rainbow Falls pool are also great for the kids, who sometimes need a break from being at the beach all day. We have always found the rooms very pleasant and updated. I highly recommend paying a little extra for a courtyard view room, as you can walk right out of your sliding door to the playground/volleyball area. The resort has many activities for kids during the day during the summer and also on school vacation weeks during the year, which is a bonus. I love that the Beach Plum Spa is located in the hotel- very relaxing and they have great service. The Hearth & Kettle restaurant has always been a family favorite and we can't wait to go back. We love the Cape Codder and can't imagine a trip to the cape without at least stopping at the H&K!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hinech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I just returned from a long July 4th 2014 weekend stay. I was impressed by the Cape Codder Resort photos on their website, but don't be fooled! I've stayed at many resort hotels and the name "resort" is a far stretch for this dump. It is on a main and well traveled road. My room was old and antiquated close to the wave pool and vending machine. It was also small, dingy and desperately needs updating. It also overlooked the lovely parking lot well traveled by the local police. I must have seen at least 3-4 police cars a day driving through their parking lot and it made me wonder about the place.

The management commented on another posting here on Trip Advisor with regard to how the electric was being updated back in June, but I too had to used an old crappy extension cord to plug in my cell phone and other electronics. Good thing only one of us wanted to ever sit outside, because there was only one plastic chair outside of our sliding door. We killed many ants that were in our room during our stay. The outdoor pool was always overcrowded and we could never get one single chair to use the pool. The hallway was always noisy between the kids screaming and running and the staff was loud when they cleaned the rooms, if they bothered to stop. On our second day, we came back to the room at 3:00PM and the room had not been made up yet. We tried the Hearth & Kettle one night and the turkey meal that we ordered came out in no time flat...ice cold! It was probably reheated in a microwave oven and tasted crummy. No apologies were made. The waitress that took the plates looked annoyed that we bothered her about it. The only saving grace to the entire place was lovely Lee who works in the gift shop. She was such a joy to meet and hear her talk about the area. I'm never going to book at the Cape Codder ever again and will make sure to let all of my friends know what a mistake it is to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask about the "good rooms" that are shown on the website. It wasn't my room that is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disappointedin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Manager at Cape Codder Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I’m sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. The 4th of July is one of our busiest times of the year and the great weather Saturday and Sunday made our outdoor pool the “place to be”. Sometimes when we are busy it can mean there may be a wait for a chair in the pool area but we also have lots of seating in the main courtyard which is adjacent to the indoor pool and our Deck bar and restaurant.

Our room styles are tiered in relation to their location with our most affordable rooms facing the parking lot. We do state this in the room description so that guests are aware when making their reservations. We do offer upgrades, when available, to our rooms that overlook our beautifully landscaped courtyard. We are in the process of making sure any extension cords have been replaced in guest rooms, but with 250+ rooms and many of our rooms being occupied, it does take some time to make sure we get them all. The hotel shares an auxiliary entrance with the police station next door, so you will see many cruisers coming and going throughout the day. Many of our guests appreciate the peace of mind of knowing help is right next door in the unlikely event of an emergency. If you ever have an issue during your stay, please contact the front desk, which is staffed 24 hours, and we will be more than happy to try and place you in a room that meets your expectations.

Thank you for letting us know about your concerns with Housekeeping and your meal at our Hearth & Kettle restaurant. Please be assured that your feedback is being shared and addressed with our Managers. I’m happy to hear that you got to spend some time in the Seabreeze Gift Shop and meet Lee. She has been with us for years and always enjoys chatting with guests. I’m sure she will be pleased to hear your praise. I hope you will consider giving us another chance during a future trip to the Cape to try and live up to your expectations.

Jason C.
Assistant Manager
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in one of the 2 bedroom condos with a balcony facing the courtyard. The condo was gorgeous with 3 bathrooms and a beautiful full service kitchen, which met our needs for a gluten free child. We loved the rainbow pool and the slide pool was a huge hit with our children. They also loved the fire pit for S'mores, the movie at night, face painting, tye dying t-shirts and the animal show. Although we had to drive to the beaches and ferries, this place was a convenient location. We had a very relaxing week and would gladly come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Arrived on Thursday, May 29th and departed on Sunday, June 1st. In town to see the cape for the first time, and attend a wedding with my wife. The lobby and front desk staff was nice enough upon check in... that's where it all went downhill. Our room was in the back on the second floor. The signage to help you find your room did not list a range of numbers for our room. The sign was however falling off the wall and crooked. The entry way area to our wing was old, musty, dirty, dusty, and in need of renovation.

Upon finding our room we found it to be old, dark, and outdated. The décor was so old that prints in frames on the wall were so faded you could barely tell what the image was. Leaks in the ceiling had left dark water stains above the desk. The bed posts had holes drilled in them. Haven't figured that out yet. There was no place to plug anything in... I had to charge my cell phone in the bathroom. The only electrical source I could find was an old outdated thin cheap extension cord that had every plug full. The bathroom had moldy grout in the tile work, as well as, having cheap laminate peeling off the vanity. Outside the room looked out over the parking lot. The 'balcony' that the room came with was shared by the room next door. A shared balcony overlooking the parking lot at a 'resort' hotel.. how charming. It's a good thing my wife and I didn't want to sit on the porch because there was one cheap plastic chair on our half of the shared balcony... a second plastic chair was available on the other side of the shared balcony.
Several times throughout my stay we passed by Cape Codder staff members in the hall. Not single staff member took the time to say hello and greet us with a smile. That said all I need to know about the management of this 'resort'.

In sum the 'Codder' is an outdated, overpriced 'resort' with an average room rate of $185... this place is a total joke.

** Silver Lining! ** My wife and I do have a new catch phrase for our vocabulary... we now use the word 'Codder' as an adjective to describe a less than desirable hotel room (i.e. "Wow this hotel is gross... it's a Codder")... we now use it as a verb (i.e. "Do not Codder the travel plans") and as a noun meaning (i.e. "I heard bad things about XYZ hotel... must be a Codder").

Room Tip: "If you want a great room... do not stay here".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chrisfr0mMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Manager at Cape Codder Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Chris,

I’m sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. Both our General Manager and Housekeeping Manager are investigating your concerns and taking immediate action. You booked a Deluxe room which is our most basic room style and advertised as a parking lot view. Although it is a clean and comfortable room, some of our other room styles have been more recently updated and have views of our beautiful courtyard. Most of our rooms do not have a balcony, however the select few that do are shared and should always have two chairs per room. We have corrected that. Also, we are actually in the process of adding additional outlets to all of our rooms to accommodate the changing needs of our guests. We have specifically removed the extension cord in your room and are in the process of installing new outlets on either side of the bed. An outlet was available next to the chair beside the floor lamp.

I would like to note that a majority of our guests like the nicely framed artwork and photography in our rooms. All of our bathrooms at the Cape Codder Resort & Spa have granite bathroom vanity counter tops and upon a detailed inspection of your room we found that the bathtub/shower grout was clean and professionally applied.

I apologize that you did not find our staff outgoing and friendly. All of our guests should be greeted with a smile and a genuine welcome to provide warm and helpful guest service. I wish you had made the Front Desk aware that you were unhappy as someone is at the Front Desk 24 hours a day. We would have been happy to change you to a room more to your liking. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at any time.

Jason C.
Assistant Manager
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoyed everything about our visit...and we were there 'pre season'.... The room was clean and pleasant, we loved the pools and the hot tubs. The property is spread out but we liked the 'nooks and crannys' ... fire pit, playscape, spa, game room, fitness center... we also liked the area... visiting the movie theatre, shops, restaurants... We were able to do a lot in a short period of time. The staff was nice and any questions were answered and any issues resolved immediately. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place was so nice! Our room was clean and bright it definitely had a Cape Cod feel to it! The indoor water wave pool and slides were a hit with the kiddies. The front desk staff was very friendly and the food was good as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level have a slider to the outdoor firepit and outdoor heated pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
2.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
3.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Codder Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Property: Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Address: 1225 Iyannough Rd, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601-1832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hyannis
#5 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Codder Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Codder Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Codder Resort And Spa
Cape Codder Hotel Hyannis
Cape Codder Resort & Spa Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing