We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
1 review
“Below expectations”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband, myself and our son stayed at the hotel for two nights. Upon arrival, the hotel seemed decent from the outside, but after arriving in our room it was clear cleanliness was not a priority. The bathtub was dirty and the rooms were outdated. The next morning we decided to try the breakfast buffet. Although the waitstaff was cordial, they were out of orange juice, eggs and fruit salad for at least 20 minutes. We had to ask for more which is unacceptable at a buffet! We barely at $5 worth of food and the bill was $20 for 2 adults. Also, the creamers for the coffee were spoiled. Overall, location was convenient but for the price we paid, I would not recommend staying here unless you no expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmith8710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    125
    129
    86
    76
See reviews for
138
161
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario. Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We are over 60, and travel a lot, good place, breakfast included with room, patio great, double bathroom sink great. Down side, exhaust fan not working in bathroom, sink backs up after 2 minutes, we told them, looks like it will be fixed when you get there. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank today12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLEWOOD
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Although it's a pretty average hotel, it's central to everything. You can walk to Main St, the Ferry and commercial docks, it's only a couple of blocks to the Baseball stadium and beach, and there are about 100 restaurants within a mile or two.

So all things being equal, we were there to enjoy Cape Cod. The room was OK for sleeping and was obviously older but clean. But no problem because we hardly spent any time there. After a daily event we all loved coming back to swim in the outdoor pool.

We had made reservations on the internet and were told when we checked in that IF we had reserved directly with the hotel, they would have offered us free breakfasts. But since we had used Expedia, there was no breakfast for the 4 of us. I figured that would have saved us about $25 per day--so if I do come back, we'll shop the rates knowing that a breakfast might be the deal breaker.

Room Tip: Demand to be in the main building, the out buildings smell musty. Most rooms have a balcony, poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Checked in on 7/19/13 pulled down comforter and found a bed bug. Went to front desk, told them and they moved me to another room. I stripped both beds and inspected mattresses and box springs. I didn't find anything. However that night I slept on top of the bed with the lights on in hopes that any bed bugs might stay at bay. 7/20/13 getting ready to go to bed and I see a bed bug on me and biting me. I immediately packed up my stuff, went to the front desk and checked out but not before telling the front desk lady that I wouldn't be paying for a 2nd night. She told me that the manager wasn't in and that she couldn't authorize this. So I will be addressing this with the manager in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Jeff P,

My Executive Housekeeper and I personally inspected your original room immediately after you asked to have your room switched on the afternoon of 7/19/13. We found NO evidence of a bed bug ever being in that room. My staff informed me that you could not produce any bed bugs when you came to the front desk and asked to switch rooms. Upon your departure Saturday evening, I inspected your second room that you stayed in for a day and a half and once again found NO bed bugs. You were with a group of 8 rooms and no one else in your party had any issues with anything in their rooms. My staff is thoroughly trained on what we need to look for to determine if there is any possibility of bed bugs and I can confirm that we still have never had a problem at our hotel. We are an independently owned hotel and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness standards and taking responsibility for all guest related matters. I take great exception to you writing a review online that has zero credibility. Furthermore, we did not charge you for the second night even though you stayed in the room until 10:51PM on Saturday evening.


Christopher Daale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for four nights. When we arrived the receptionist was in tears on the phone dealing with an (irate) customer, she perked up once we were nice to her. The hotel was good and clean. The staff always friendly. However the weather during our stay was not usual and it was quite cold and other than the beach , hotel pool and a few shops there isn't much to do.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms above the pool. I think this created a bizarre smell in the area above it. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovepeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The walk in rate at this Hotel was way overpriced so we made an online reservation through a booking engine in the car ! The price we paid was value for money. 2 very comfy, clean beds, nice linens. Adequate bathroom, a few products and plenty of hot water. Ground floor room with standard fare, flat screen, coffee maker, fridge and sliding doors leading to small patio with chairs, perfect for warm evening chats. Plenty of parking available and easy check in, check out staff. Didn't ask any questions, didn't need to as were were travelling to Nantucket the next morning. This Hotel is ideal for that, it's an 8 mins walk to the fast ferry. It appears to have quite a few facilities, restaurant and a breakfast buffet. We didn't eat in either as we had already eaten dinner and ear marked an excellent breakfast cafe just across from the Hotel but we did wander down there early morning for tea and was offered tea for a dollar a cup from a delightful young lady. Wouldn't consider this for a longer stay but if you looking for a quick stop before the islands I would recommend Heritage but look on-line first, especially if you are booking the day of arrival

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bateson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Bare Bones room ,but clean.standard amenities - lotion,shampoo and only 1 bar of soap.Property needs updating.Staff is courteous and friendly. Excellent location , right on Main St. Chauncy's Restaurant attached to hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chaser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.2 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,081 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Hotel

Property: Heritage House Hotel
Address: 259 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4095
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage House Hotel is Cape Cod's first Solar Powered Hotel, we are making a constant effort toward greener business practices. We are conveniently located one block from Hyannis Harbor, which is the departure point for the Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, and Whale Watch Ferries. While at the property explore Main Street Waterfront District, offering antique shops, galleries, kayak and bike rentals, dancing, dinning, and live entertainment. We are located directly across from the Regional Transportation Center and Train- Home of Boston's Cape Cod Flyer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Hyannis
Heritage House Hyannis
Heritage House Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing