We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Norwood
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We did not book a room in the main building, which appears to have been a mistake. Very pricey for a dingy dark room that smelled of mildew. We paid four-star price for a great location, but disappointing accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please contact me directly and i'll be more then happy to accommodate you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    125
    129
    86
    74
See reviews for
137
160
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Not a fancy or even particularly nice hotel - but it got the job done for the price and location. Driving distance to Marconi Beach and other great Cape Cod areas. Didn't spend much time in the room, which was the entire goal. Walking distance to pubs in "downtown" Hyannis Port. If you are looking to save some costs from staying real close to Cape Cod attractions, this place is for you... easy drive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trovato44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our property's central location is one of our greatest assets that all our guests do enjoy. Come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My two sisters and I stayed at the Heritage House from 7/19-7/21/2014 for our annual getaway weekend. We usually stay at a pricier hotel in Hyannis but thought we would try something different. I was a little nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews, however I am glad we did. Although Heritage is not a 5 star hotel, it has everything that we needed. It was in a perfect location right on Main Street next to all of the shops and restaurants that we like to visit. The outside of the hotel is bright and clean and the lobby is extremely clean. There is an indoor pool that looked very clean (we did not use it) and a very nice outdoor pool as well (which we didn't get to use because unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate). We did see someone testing the water in the morning which was comforting, and it was vacuumed as well. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the main building and found our room to be very clean, albeit a little dated. It was a good size with a small table and chairs, and a small refrigerator. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and although Main Street was right there, we never heard any noise. The beds were very comfortable. Make sure to bring an extra pillow though, they were a little flat…But again, very clean!! (Yes, clean is very important to me!!) The staff were all VERY pleasant and helpful. There was always someone at the front desk greeting us as we came and went. Although other guests said that they did not have warm water, I found just the opposite. Water pressure was great and the water was hot! We travel to Hyannis every summer and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: From what I have read, the main building is where to be. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and the special recognition of our staff members. They will be as honored as I am to know the marvelous job they are doing to keep our guests happy and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario. Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When anyone stays at the same hotel more than once, they sure do like it and that says it all. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, has two pools, inside and outside. Breakfast always good, hot and fresh.

Room Tip: Good room 2nd floor facing the pool, or 1st floor facing the pool, easy to get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank today12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Clean and friendly are two of the best things anyone could ask for while traveling. Come back and see us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were in Cape during mid-July with our family and booked 3 rooms at Heritage House. The place is more of a motel and less of a hotel. The whole place is quite basic. The corridors and the rooms could definitely take a renovation. The carpet is old and a bit musty. The rooms were basic and most in our party didn't feel well rested.

The bathrooms are very average and some rooms badly need an update. There is only a fridge and old coffee machine in the room - no microwave. The biggest letdown was the WiFi which never quite worked. Once we were able to connect to it but hardly got a few thousand bytes downloaded. The front desk couldn't do anything about it either. In today's world, WiFi is almost as important as water and electricity so being without WiFi was a big disappointment.

The breakfast is way overpriced at $11 with the usual continental fare of cheap ready-to-eat stuff like white flour breads and scrambled eggs made with powder and other frozen stuff that has been microwaved.

The good part is that it is very conveniently located - 10 min walk from the wharf from where you can get a ferry to Nantucket Island and right on Main St so 5 min walk to lot of restaurants and shopping.

But bottomline - we will never go back. The place is shabby for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, General Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your recognition of our great location along with mentioning your difficulty connecting to our wifi. The wifi can be slow at times if there are many users pulling on the same access points which invariably does happen due to time of day and of course the weather. More people use the wifi at night and if it is raining outside. I hope that this one time incident will not deter you from coming back to our property in the future. If there is anything I may do for you, please contact me at 800-352-7189.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed as a dance group from 7/7-7/13/14. I was very nervous about prior comments about a mold/mildrew smell. I called spoke to the front desk prior to arrival and asked if it was possible to stay in the more renovated area due to my daughters allergies/asthma. The female was very nice and stated she would mark our reservation. When we checked in we were room 214, no smell or mold. My daughter is very sensitive and we never experienced a problem with her not feeling well. Some other rooms on floor 1 or in the other buildings did have a issues with a slight mildew smell. The outdoor and indoor pool/jacuzzi was nice. From our long days competing there was times we wished the pools didnt close so early. The free breakfast was what it was, Eggs, home fries, bacon, cereal and bagels. A lot of times we had to ask for drinks. It also didnt open until 7 which was sometimes a problem since we had to be at other locations by 7.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunFunNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your recognition of our front desk team and am very sorry to learn of your disappointment in our restaurants breakfast times, I regret that this time frame did not work well with the dance competitions schedule. I hope that besides this you were able to enjoy your vacation with us and hope to see you again. Best of luck in your daughter's competitions!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights over July 4th weekend. Pleasant enough place to stay. Rooms were a little damp and mildew smelling but that could just be the sea air. Room was clean, bed was comfortable enough. Hallways were very hot and the pool was always crowded but that is probably what to expect over a holiday weekend. I was a bit frustrated that the Sunday price was the highest of the weekend when MOST people went home already? The biggest complaint is that we came back Saturday late afternoon and there was NO hot water and NO updates from the staff. Finally we just went to bed and woke up to NO hot water again. When i approached the main desk they had no timeline on when it would be restored. We went out for a late breakfast and when we returned the water was back on. Just really frustrating to spend that amount of money and there was no updates and no compensation for the 15+ hours we had no hot water. Most likely would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. Please contact me directly so that I may take care of your hot water problem you encountered while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.2 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Hotel

Property: Heritage House Hotel
Address: 259 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4095
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage House Hotel is Cape Cod's first Solar Powered Hotel, we are making a constant effort toward greener business practices. We are conveniently located one block from Hyannis Harbor, which is the departure point for the Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, and Whale Watch Ferries. While at the property explore Main Street Waterfront District, offering antique shops, galleries, kayak and bike rentals, dancing, dinning, and live entertainment. We are located directly across from the Regional Transportation Center and Train- Home of Boston's Cape Cod Flyer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Hyannis
Heritage House Hyannis
Heritage House Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing