We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and adequate for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Portsmouth England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and adequate for a short stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Our first impression was that this was an upmarket motel rather than a hotel. The reception was very small and there was no lounge area. But the room was very quiet and comfortable with fridge and coffee making facilities. We worked out in the end how to use the coffee maker to boil some water for a cup of tea! A kettle or microwave oven would have been useful. We liked the pool and jacuzzi but thought the changing room was very basic and unappealing. The location was great but we thought $9 for breakfast was a bit steep when we paid $6 in our hotel in New York. Still we used the diner across the road everyday which was much more reasonable. We thought the hotel was good value for money and would come again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcase99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    122
    127
    84
    73
See reviews for
132
159
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The hotel was not too bad,most of the other reviews have said it all.
My only gripe,I want to add,is if you advertise wi-fi ,make sure to state,that it not available in all the rooms and one has to sit in the LOBBY,to get reception!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartlett58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We spent the 4th of July weekend at the Heritage House, and we had a great time! We tried the breakfast buffet at Chauncy's - it offered variety at a nice price. The hotel is located within walking distance of nice shops and restaurants on main street, and is also very close to the waterfront area. We drove to Kalmus Beach, but I later learned that the Cape Cod trolley can take you there.

The staff at the Heritage House was friendly. The pools were nice (although the day we wanted to try the outdoor pool it was closed because they were short on pool staff.) The room was very clean and comfortable. The day we arrived, it smelled a little musty, but after using the AC for a few hours - and a few sprayings of Febreze :) - it was OK. The only problem was the bathtub/shower drain - it was sloooooooow! The tub itself was a little narrow. Oh! and the internet connection was terrible - did not work in our room, but it did in the pool area.

For the price (and of course I paid a little bit more than the average price because it was a holiday weekend) it was a great deal.

By the way . . . the photo of the front of the hotel needs to be updated. It does not reflect the recent renovations.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palomag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

As other reviews have said the location of Heritage House is perfect, both on Main Street and only a very short walk from the harbour.

What other reviews don't always say is that customer service is excellent, rooms are not trendy but are well furnished and comfortable and that the swimming pool is first class.

This was the sixth and final hotel in our tour of New England and I would definitely say we saved the best til last.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoalvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The main lobby is beautiful, receptionist was friendly and very professional.
The exterior of the hotel looks like a rainbow "very ghetto lookin" the price was great as well as location near everything but the smell OMG is like a nursing home... Smell like dippers, they need to do something about that but I guess u get for what u pay for...

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallstreethyena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My husband and I with friends did the New Year Eve Package here 2 years ago. We were severely disappointed with the look of the hotel. If you're looking to stay at an updated, modern hotel.. this isn't the place to stay. Now, I didn't have any expectations going in.. just a relaxing weekend. And yes.. we did get that but I wish I would've paid the extra bucks to stay a nicer hotel.
As you enter, the smell of chlorine will hit you immediately. Very tiny lobby, big windows that you can see the pool from. We did go into the pool and jacuzzi. Both very old with very old and rusty seating.
The rooms are outdated, they were clean.. but I felt like I was back in the 60's...and I was born in the 80's. ha! The beds were very hard.. and the lighting was dark.
Just a bit of advice, if you're looking for a place to just sleep and visit the cape. Sure, this is a great place for it's location.. but comfort wise.. I wish I would've paid extra for somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerHyannis, Front Office Manager at Heritage House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2010
Our first question to you is why would you post a review, when you stayed with us over 2 years ago? We use these guest reviews and our own comment cards as well as internet postings to closely monitor the relationship between our hotel, our staff and all of our guests. We do this in order to insure the best possible guest experience and value for the money. We also combine our yearly improvement plans with what our guests are telling us. In the last 2 years, we have gone through a multi-million dollar renovation of our hotel as well as our yearly maintenance and upgrades. Please take a look at our website to see some of our improvements since you last stayed with us;(the new pool, new façade, new lobby, new restaurant and rooms to name a few!) We expect that you will stay with us on your next visit to Cape Cod so you can experience first hand what we have done. Please contact us directly so that we may show you what we are all about!





Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The Heritage House Hotel is located at the end of Main Street in down town Hyannis. We were assigned "one of the new rooms" when we checked in. The room was large, very clean, and comfortable. The linens are average but not to stop me from staying here again. Reception was very friendly and curtious. Great pool, lots of parking and convienient to all the restaurants, taverns and shopping. The only negative is that the sound proofing between the rooms and the hallways is not great. it gets noisey in the morning when people start moving about.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropical_Gangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.2 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Hotel

Property: Heritage House Hotel
Address: 259 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4095
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage House Hotel is Cape Cod's first Solar Powered Hotel, we are making a constant effort toward greener business practices. We are conveniently located one block from Hyannis Harbor, which is the departure point for the Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, and Whale Watch Ferries. While at the property explore Main Street Waterfront District, offering antique shops, galleries, kayak and bike rentals, dancing, dinning, and live entertainment. We are located directly across from the Regional Transportation Center and Train- Home of Boston's Cape Cod Flyer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Hyannis
Heritage House Hyannis
Heritage House Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing