We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a fellow server, this was just sad.”
Review of Outback Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Outback Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“From a fellow server, this was just sad.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband arrived about 10 minutes before me and our daughter. We tend to favor the booths around the bar and they willingly cleared one for him and he waited for us.... and waited.... and waited. We arrived and also waited.... atleast 5 minutes before anyone came by for a drink order.
Our waitress finally came by with drinks from the bar but not our daughter's and not wanting to let her slip away we placed our order. App- Tassi bites, they were great. Next came the salad it was very nice as well.
Neither of these deliverd by our server and my daughter still had nothing to drink. Next came the steak, ordered med well, came out med rare also not delivered by our server.
Finally she comes by to greet another table and we had the opportunity to snag her and ask to have the steak cooked more. It came out very well done and dry.
This used to be our go-to spot, and it used to be great. Now it seems as though they just don't care. Our server was practically nonexistent and only smiled when she handed us the check. She seemed bored and complacent. It was truly sad. Don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auntievil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Ok Meal”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Went here for a change from seafood. The restaurant is nice inside, service good and no problem being seated.

Our order of french onion soup and the prime rib dinner were ok but I would say we've had better at some other steakhouse restaurants. The bill total with one drink came to $36.40 tax included.

Probably wouldn't go to this Outback in future as we have no immediate plans on returning to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very average.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very average meal. Waited over an hour for our main course to come out, then most of it was cold. The blooming onion was excellent. Cocktails weren't made properly. Wouldn't go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Variable”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ate here twice on consecutive nights, the fist night was great, good food, great service, waitress was a bit of a dizzy blond but a great character and comedian. Went back the following night, food still great but service was awful, different waitress who did not appear to have any time for people expecting in the restaurant. Tthis one appeared to have some grievance over her workload and was quite happy to grumble to anyone within ear shot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrmoderation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fair dinkum cobber”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I was planning on another restaurant but got out voted by the rest of my party and ended up here. I found the decor clean but a bit tacky but the front of house staff were pleasant and efficient. What surprised me was how good the food was. So good in fact that we returned the next evening. The only downside and this applied to all the restaurants apart from those in New York is, that they are ready to close at 9:00 pm. When on holiday after a long day out, I and many of my contemporaries like to shower, change and have a drink before dining out post 8:00pm

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing