We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch experience, especially oyster po'boys”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #16 of 214 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The oyster po'boys were outstanding, better than any we've had in New Orleans.
A fine menu. Chowder was also great. Nice venue inside and on the porch.

Thank WisconsonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again during your next visit to Hyannisport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 540 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2016

I went with my family of seven to the Black Cat Tavern to taste their award-winning clam chowder, and I was not let down. We went on a beautiful autumn evening (11/3/16) and sat by a warm fire in what felt like a private dining area (only one couple near us). There was live music filtering in from the next room (Sam Chase) which added to the overall dining ambiance, along with the perfectly dimmed lighting.

The clam chowder was outstanding. Indeed, it was the best I've ever had. We all got the bowl size instead of the cup size. The friendly and helpful waitress, Jessica, brought us some bread and butter along with the usual oyster crackers. This was plenty to satisfy all of us. Their clam chowder has literally won awards which are enumerated in the menu.

Their hours are set but when I called to see what time they close, the person on the other end said "It depends on how busy we are." So, it might be a good idea to call before you go. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your review John, we appreciate you and your family's feedback and support! Jessica and the rest of the Cat crew hope you will visit us again soon for more chowder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

It's really good for the family and the service here is excellent and the people are nice and friendly

Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Glad you enjoyed your time with us Bobby! Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We spent a few mid-October days in Hyannis and the Black Cat Tavern turned out to be "go to" dining. A short walk from where we were staying, the Mrs. and I took a chance (no reservation) and arrived at about 5:00. No waiting. My wife opted for the baked seafood casserole which was served with a side of Newburg sauce, to add to individual taste ... a nice touch. She immediately pronounced her meal as the absolute best seafood casserole that she has ever eaten. (that is high praise).
Now, my measure of great seafood preparation is the quality of fried seafood. I ordered the whole belly clam plate which proved to be plentiful; the batter light, the product fresh and perfectly fried. I'm fairly stingy when it comes to handing out superlatives, but we agreed that our meals were wonderful. And being locals, we've had a taste or two of a wide range of seafood meals over our 60+ years. This was among the very best.
The place was packed as we finished our meals. This restaurant is down by the inner harbor. The décor is nicely appointed, clean and decidedly a nautical flair. The wait staff appeared, all around, to be efficient, friendly and courteous making for a great dining experience.
If you are in Hyannis, the Black Cat is a must.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dcrintaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

We SO appreciate your feedback, and are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed each visit with us. We look forward to your next dinner stop here for more seafood and fried favorites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Black Cat Tavern open year round daily from 11 30 AM till 11PM has a natural atmosphere. Very popular with locals and tourists. There is usually a wait during mic evening. Dine inside or on the patio in the late spring till early fall. Once the temperature drops enjoy a crackling fire while dining. After dinner the lounge has a piano bar which made a perfect evening. The extensive menu begins with a large selection of appetizers and ends with delicious desserts. The filet mignon with a lobster tail was amazing as was the broiled swordfish. Another evening we ordered appetizers. Generous serving of steamers and mouth watering clam chowder. A large selection of wine to compliment each course .Your server can recommend different wines and was extremely hellpful

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thank you for your thorough feedback Patricia, it is much appreciated! We look forward to your next visit with us for more seafood and chowder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing