We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Oysters and Clams”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #17 of 216 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We had heard that the clams and oysters were outstanding at The Black Cat Tavern. So, on a Friday evening over Thanksgiving weekend, we decided to give the Black Cat Tavern a try. It turned out to be a great choice. The chef here got the right amount of oil so that the clams and oysters were not overly greasy. I have been a clam lover my whole life (70+ years) and these were some of the best I've ever had. Clams in New England are a seafood lover's must-have, and these were terrific. Ditto with the oysters. When we come back to Hyannis, we'll come back to the Black Cat Tavern.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank recordman947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 273 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

Looking for a place to eat in a strange town can be nerve racking. We were in Hyannis and chose the Black Cat Restaurant for dinner. The food was amazing and they boast their clam chowder as the best. We will return.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Outstanding dinner. Fabulous atmosphere with the fireplace and decor. The waitress was professional and attentive. The fish was spectacular. I will be back!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank michellehM6608JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Even if the area around the restaurant is very busy, you can sit very comfortable at the patio of the restaurant. The food is delicious, focused on seafood. The quality of the entrees was very good.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank U4764WDchristianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcathyannis, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our seafood offerings. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The baked seafood sampler as well as the Lazy Man Lobster Newburg were both very good to go along with the good service and a friendly atmosphere. Don't forget the rocky roadhouse dessert. Highly recommend if you are on Cape Cod. It is across from the ferry docks.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike4TraveI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing