We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mi pueblo

Mi pueblo
Ranked #53 of 189 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Television
hyannis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I t was delicious, since my husband is gluten free he was able to have an entrée which is always nice we can have a dinner out together. So good went back for more two days later

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conroybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this hole in the wall- real Mexican food! Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend and I were a little hesitant to try this place considering it is down a small alley way off of Main st. However after reading reviews we decided to try it and we are so glad we did. The food and service were both great. The guacamole was amazing. You have to try the Mexican sodas too! Dessert was great as well. I'm not going to give too many more details because you have to come experience it for yourself!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Legit Mexican Food on Cape Cod! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Having grown up in Southern California, I have a true love and appreciation for authentic Mexican food. Mi Peublo did not disappoint - the food is the real deal. If you want real Mexican this is the place. Our bill was very reasonable at under $40 for three meals, guacamole (delicious), chips and salsa and Mexican sodas. The restaurant is off Main Street in an alley and is no frills with paper plates and plastic forks, but it wasn't an issue for us. My husband had the Enchiladas Suizas ($9.99) and loved it, but he did say the tomatillo sauce had a kick. I had the Carne Asada ($12.99) which is done well, but both my son and I loved it. My son had tacos ($2.50/each). I would have LOVED a cold Corona or a margarita to go with my meal. In my opinion, the bar license is the only thing missing.

If you think Taco Bell is Mexican food (or the other "Mexican" restaurants on the Cape are good) then Mi Pueblo probably isn't for you, but if you want to experience good Mexican - then definitely go.

Helpful?
1 Thank DLG6395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We tried Mi Pueblo on the advice of a native Californian. Being from Texas, we're always on the hunt for good mexican food when we are away from home. Since my girlfriend and I are living in Hyannis this summer, we decided to give this place a try for lunch.

As others here have noted, the restaurant does not have much in the way of atmosphere. It's located down an alley off of main street in a nondescript office block. Inside there are only a few booths and tables, a simple counter to order from and a refrigerated cooler with some mexican sodas and horchata. But don't judge a book by it's cover. The food is excellent and the portions are huge. I was a bit turned off by the paper plates and plastic utensils. I'd skip on the chile relleno. Chicken mole enchiladas were excellent. Creama fresca on top of the entrees was a real plus!

If you have a craving for good Mexican food, go down and support this new restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
401 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“First visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Read the reviews and decided to give it a try with another couple. We have a lot of Mexican food experience and this one was very good. If you are looking for atmosphere and comfort, skip it. Hard to find location, look behind Embargo's down the alley. Just go for the food. Five tables, paper plates, plastic utensils and no liquor license. My husband's chile rellano was mediocre, cheese was not melted inside. I had pork carnitas and it was excellent. Our friend's flank steak was a little tough and difficult to eat with plastic utensils. The chicken burrito with mole was excellent. Guacamole and chips we fresh and really good. Prices are terrific. Service was good. We would go back to try different dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi pueblo also viewed

 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mi pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing