We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic owner but hotel needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

the owner could not have been nicer or more helpful but the hotel is in need of updating. great location and very clean with comfortable bed. free internet worked well. could not beat the price but would be willing to pay a little more if they modernize the furnishings and spruce up the place. can't say enough about the owner.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jmmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

The owner, Raj, gave a warm welcome when we arrived and went out of his way to make sure he didn't disturb us later that evening when the airline delivered our luggage.
Raj and his wife Nina can't do enough for you when you stay.Our room suffered from some noisy neighbours above us and the noise travelled straight down to us.
The hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring the harbour or for trips to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very good hotel and perfect location close to harbour and ferries and 10 minutes walk to the Main Street. Very friendly and helpful owners and reasonable rates including a continental breakfast. Would recommend. Best of luck to the new owners who are really making a go of it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Roborm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If it is modern & up to date you want, go someplace else. But, you will miss the opportunity to
stay in a very quaint place with large, very clean rooms. Oh, and did I mention the location and view of the harbor. We went this past week, which was late September, and the price of
the mini-king room was very reasonable. We had friends meet us there for a little happy hour
in our room, but it was so nice that we took it outside on the 2nd floor balcony that has an
extended area in the middle with a settee, a table, and 2 chairs with a view. However, if we had
chosen to stay in the room there was plenty of room with a futon, 2 chairs, and a table with 2 chairs. The kitchen was small, but very useful & great to have. The inkeepers, Raj & Nina couldn't be more gracious and friendly. People had their morning coffee and breakfast in the dining area and the outside terrace overlooking the harbor. The bed was very comfortable & fresh. This place is a gem and I will go back.
JeepJ

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Searched for Bed and Breakfasts in Hyannis; unfortunately, we chose this motel (Note, NOT a B & B). Essentially, we were stuck, and knew it as soon as we opened the door to the room and were greeted with a pungent, musty smell, and we had already paid! The marquis to the motel said "spotless," but that must refer only to what the maid can clean, NOT if you look up at the mold sections of the kitchen and bath or the couch we were afraid to sit on. We were on the first floor, and the flooring is so thin, whenever someone moved in the room above us, it was loud. We stayed off season, and the rate of about $100, but we should have chosen more wisely and will from now on ask to see the room before we pay for it. So, in order for you to make a decision on whether this type of place works for you, here is the summary:

What was good? location, access, size of room, refrigerator and microwave, clean towels, shower head and water pressure, quiet except for room above noise, no bugs, floor was not carpet (smell would be even worse, I imagine); friendly man to check you in.

What was not good? mold sections, one rather large in kitchen and bath (black moldy color), shower head; gross couch; thin thin mattresses, questionable cleanliness of blankets and spreads, think ceiling, windows in the back do not have screens so cannot open, limited number of parking spaces, breakfast too late if you have to leave early, office closes at 10 and was not open when we left to check out, no bathroom available in lobby, major major musty, damp, motel-type smell, NOT a bed and breakfast as you would know the definition. If I had known it was just a motel, not the beautiful pictures on the web site that showed otherwise, which MUST be outdated, then I would have expected some of its downfalls.

Leave the decision up to you; will not stay here again! Go out in the morning as fast as we could! Suggest you consider carefully, and perhaps after they upgrade and present true pictures of the place.

Room Tip: Don't imagine any of the rooms would be different than this one, but perhaps second floor so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PammyBret7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Perfect location for catching a ferry to the islands or exploring Hyannis town and beaches
Walking distance from the bus station, you can get get a bus straight out of Boston Logan airport to Hyannis with Plymouth and Brockton
Spotlessly clean, large rooms with kitchenette area
Friendly owners, happy to help

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view of the harbour,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmite1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hotel, large beds, comfortable and clean. Raj and his wife were extremely friendly and helpful, giving lots of tips of places to go, ferry times etc. You even get a discount for the ferries at this hotel. Location was perfect, overlooking the harbour, 5 min walk to the Nantucket and Marthas Vineyard ferries and 2 min walk to the harbour cruise boat. Also, the main street was a 5 minute walk away and the beach and JFK memorial a 10 minute walk away. There a lots of good restaurants and bars on the main street and also near to the hotel. Breakfast was good - tea/coffee, bagels/cereals. The hotel also has free wi-fi. Would definitely go back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,278 reviews
17 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cod Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Address: 119 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range: £76 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cape Cod Harbor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Cod Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Cod Harbor House Hotel Hyannis
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn Hyannis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing