We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find Yourself a Better Hotel Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Find Yourself a Better Hotel Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

First, I'd like to say that this hotel/motel is in a fun location. I will give them credit for being next door to the Black Cat restaurant - it's a great place to eat. Other than that, I give them a "one" rating for cleanliness (lack of) and price. At nearly $300 per night, I expect a better experience. The room was entered from the outside (a.k.a. motel), not the inside as in a hotel. The bathroom was filthy. We experienced a good amount of BLACK MOLD on the bathroom window sill and around the tub and tiles; BLOOD (unsanitary and communicable) on the tile floor and grout; toothpaste "spit" (gross) dripping under the toothbrush holder; cracks in the sink, broken shower tiles; a broken faucet. Another issue that is notable was the very large bubble in the bathtub floor. Apparently, the motel put a tub liner over the existing tub. The caulking seal has lifted and water is in between the original tub and the new liner. We could bounce on the tub floor and hear the water sloshing around. I think by now you get the picture. If I could give the Hyannis Harbor Hotel a zero rating I would but, because of the location, a rating of one is fine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    188
    183
    130
    135
See reviews for
257
311
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Listen, this place is not a brand new Hilton property... for that very reason, there might be a blemish here and there, but for the price and proximity to the harbor area, you can't do better, it's that simple. We got a great deal for 2 nights this past week and our stay was great. Our only complaint would have been the pillows, but hey, no biggy right? We stayed here because it was right downtown, we could leave our vehicle in a safe location, and hop on the fast ferry over at steamship with a couple of bikes for the day. Worked out perfectly. I honestly don't think this hotel could be in a better location for a beach down the street, the harbor right in front, access to both ferry companies, walking distance to great eats, etc. Could they upgrade the rooms? Sure, but the price will "upgrade" as well. Our room was clean and exactly what we needed/wanted. I'd hate to say "you get what you pay for" in this case, because I think it's the best deal around. Not happy here? Spend another 150 a night up the road for a slightly (not by much) better experience. Your call!

Room Tip: Go on a weekend or over a holiday and you'll probably encounter kids....it's the CAPE! Try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LivedOutOfSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I didn't stay here, but friends of mine rented a "suite" here for our friends bachelorette party in June. Walking through the hotel you can see carpets that are thread bare, chunks of moldings missing. In the suite, it had an upstairs section that had a banister. While it looked safe and secure, it was far from it, as when you applied even the slightest pressure, it moved. Talk about a safety issue! Another flaw with this particular room is that while it can accommodate six people (king sized bed, pull out sofa and two full size beds) there is only ONE bathroom. Makes zero sense to me.

Overall, the pictures are deceiving. Looks like a nice hotel, but that couldn't be further from the truth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

location perfect. you don't have to jump into the car to enjoy the sights of hyannis! use your feet or a bike, or grab a ride on the trolly that passes bye a few times a day. there is a beautiful beach at the end of ocean street... again trolly ride away. center of hyannis a five minute walk, baxters boat house for the best in the fish and chip can be seen, across the harbor, from the very nice outdoor bar at this great hotel. hit baxters for lunch, sit outside and look at the seagulls. our room was great. the very nice booking agent asked if we wanted quiet and quiet we got! inside room, first floor with view of a private garden! it had two queen beds and was very clean. when i hit the matress, it took about five minutes before i was out like a light, so i would say i was comfortable! paying the 15.00 for parking insures you a spot for the duration of your visit kids, so pay it. the surrounding area is all parking for the ferry and the hotel charge just insures someone taking the ferry does not just put their car in your spot!! food at the 3H's was very good and i was happy not to have to "go" somewhere every time i got hungry.... drinks great! If you have a gaggle of kids, this is a fine spot as there is a lot of pool and play to keep them busy and you get a chance to kick back and enjoy that summer drink while watching the little darlings!!!!! so, i have no complaints, it is what you make it, friends. enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Parking is $15 extra (which is competitive in this area); need to have pass visible in car.
Directly across from one of the ferries.
Both the rooms and the surrounding hotel area were very nice.
We checked in early so ended up with a non-ideal room -- near the stairs and on the second floor. On the second night, children were screaming, playing and running (on the wooden boardwalk on the 2nd floor) past 11 pm which made sleep difficult; phoning didn't help. Getting a quiet room is essential.
Liked the chess board and fire pit outside.
Nearby associated restaurant (with discount hotel card).
Hotel staff were fantastic and provided maps, advice, corkscrew, etc. on request -- thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windows_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Unfortunately we are not recommending this hotel at this time. The room a service did not do it for us. The location is nice, that is the reason we chose this hotel but we could not sleep well. When I told the front desk my opinion they did not put any effort to change our room so we changed hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themillers701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The pictures are a little off. It looks like such a nice hotel for such a great price but the rooms are not upgraded. These pictures look like they may have been taken about 5 years ago. Found a spider in our bathroom too! It was a quick easy kill and it wasn't a dirty room so I didn't freak out but it was just so outdated! The bathroom door was like a piece of plywood it was so thin and our slider door we thankfully checked before we went out because it was unlocked and cracked open! Our stuff could have been stolen. But there were big, dark, old ugly curtains covering the slider so if we didn't randomly check for our view we would have had it open all night. Our king bed was comfortable but again, nothing special. The couch in the room looked like it was out of my grandmothers basement. I didn't even want to sit on it. Another thing I thought was weird was when we left around 11am to grab brunch/walk around the small town and came back around 2 to no house keeping. In the middle of my boyfriend calling the front desk I found a small piece of paper that stated "if you want your linens clean, please place this on bed. Otherwise, linens will be clean once you check out." So the housekeeping comes into your room, looks for a piece of paper then leaves if they don't see it?? As for the outside, it was cloudy all weekend so I couldn't really tell how the pool and outdoor fireplace would look on a nice summer day but when I was down in May it looked dead. I know it was not quite 'in season' but still did not look like an amazing resort like these pictures show. Don't think I'd stay again although location is perfect for people wanting to take the ferry. It is right across the road!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyannis Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Property: Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Address: 213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4738
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyannis Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyannis Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Harbor Hotel Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing