We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The innkeepers really know how to treat their guests” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mayfield, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The innkeepers really know how to treat their guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our international motorcycle club the "circuit riders" stayed at the Ipswich Inn for our 30th year rally. The Inn is located in a quite area accented with lush gardens, lawn furniture, and deck for your enjoyment. Ray was extremely accommodating, and all of the staff gave our group great service. Our accommodations were clean and comfortable. We had menu choices for breakfast each morning and the blueberry pecan pancakes were yummy! Ray arranged two dinners for our group, one Bar-B-Que, and a celebration Surf and Turf. The Inn is in a great location for sightseeing the coastal seaside towns, great beaches, shopping, and accessible to Boston via rail.

Room Tip: Some rooms have refrigerator, microwave, and sink. All are air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
45
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Eastern Shore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Ray Morley is one of the most generous hosts we've ever met. When you stay with him, you are treated like family. Not only was the service outstanding, each day Ray would chat with us about our plans for the day and give advice about local places of interest and sightseeing. He has lived in Ipswich for 45 years and knows the community inside and out. Every single breakfast we ate was amazing! We will stay with Ray at his fantastic Inn every time we visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel_sings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

My elderly Mother and I, in need of R&R, sun, sand, and quiet set off for a beach getaway at the end of August. We decided to try two establishments in the Ipswich area, and this was far and away the better of our choices, as my Mother stated, "no comparison!"
We hit a heat wave (temps in the high 90's daily), but our room was cool, super comfortable, and a short walk to the town's amenities. Crane Beach is about a 10-15 min. drive, so we stayed for the day once we were there.
At suppertime, we came back to enjoy some great takeout from a nearby fish market (the B&B serves the heartiest of breakfasts we could go all day on), with a cold drink on the lovely patio, courtesy of our host.
Welcoming, restful, peaceful, very comfortable, everything - and more - that a B&B should be!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernottourist9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

What a fantastic B&B! The Ipswich B & B is in a wonderful old house with lots of personality. Ray & Margaret Morley make you feel like family and go out of their way to be sure you have everything you need. The breakfast is AWESOME, you won’t need lunch. Most rooms have private baths and refrigerators. Some have full or partial kitchens. The property is beautiful; the flowers were in full bloom when we visited. The tomatoes from the tomato plants were the best I ever tasted! There are bird feeders and thus, lots of birds. Wild turkeys occasionally roam the yard. If your plans include Ipswich, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here and were very satisfied. The Innkeeper Ray has an awesome sense of humor and was extremely friendly. The room itself had everything we needed: A comfortable bed, plenty of room for clothes, a small tv, and its own bathroom. It also had an AC unit and ceiling fan. There was also a small fridge right outside our room for soda and snacks. The breakfast was very, very good. I had the same thing both mornings, their breakfast sandwich. My girlfriend had the classic eggs benedict which she said was fabulous. Could definitely see myself staying here in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philyshnides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I hate to write a not so great review, but this inn was not what we expected from the previous reviews that we read. The entrance was cluttered with office papers, etc., and it was really dark as we walked in, so we didn't feel quite welcomed. Also, it smelled like mildew. Our room was in dire need of a paint job and some good cleaning. The breakfast was good and the people were nice. My husband and I were expected a bit more though. We came in late and all the lights were off. We were on the 3rd floor so we had a difficult time seeing, finding lights and turning them off on each floor. There is not a lot of charm. Okay if you need a place to sleep, but not really for a romantic getaway or anything like that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiazzaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We always have a great experience when we go to the Ipswich Inn/(Bed & Breakfast). We were so pleased with our gourmet breakfast! For the first time ever, I tried corned beef hash, and it was really a nice surprise. I can't wait to go back for more! :)

Donna and David C.
Ipswich, Ma.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhasi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
7.7 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.9 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.0 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
10.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 East St, Ipswich, MA 01938-2248
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Ipswich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1863 - The Robert Jordan House. Stroll on walkways throughout this almost-one-acre estate that is accented by terraced perennial gardens. The Victorian home with Italianate detail was built by a Civil War veteran who became a general merchant. Accommodations include guest bedrooms in the main house and the restored Carriage House. All rooms have private bath, air conditioning, television, free WiFi - all the amenities you would expect in a fine Bed and Breakfast. A wholesome breakfast is served in the sun drenched dining room, on the garden deck, or in the formal dining room in the historic house and is included in with the room. A tranquil ambiance is imparted during a visit here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ipswich Bed Breakfast
Ipswich b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing