We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly as we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not exactly as we expected”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

When my sister and I arrived we were greeted by Ray and shown to our room, the Veranda Suite. The suite had a king sized bed and a pull out sofa bed which we needed since my sister is a restless sleeper. Although it is described as a two room suite it is really one large room with a nearly room-wide arched wall opening (no door) that separates the bedroom area from the sitting area. The sofa is positioned at an angle that requires you to move it each time to pull the window shade up and down. Also, when the sofa is opened to use as a bed, it blocks the passage to the room door making it so one entering and leaving the room would have to crawl over the opened sofa bed. I was worried about needing to use the door in an emergency and decided not to open the bed.

The decor in the sitting room reminded me of my aunt's house that had "odds and ends" pieces of furniture but the bedroom part felt more welcoming. One of the closets had sweaters and hand bags stored inside. There was carpeting in the bedroom and bare wood floor in the sitting area. There was an older air conditioning unit in the window in back of the sofa. I would have liked better lighting for reading.

The bathroom was large with both a claw footed tub and shower. Towels were large and very soft. Both the bathroom and bed/sitting room were very clean. The bedroom/sitting room had four windows--two of the "older" windows had room darkening shades but the single and double newer windows had just white cotton curtains which let in a lot of light in the early morning waking us around 5:45 a.m. The king bed was very comfortable and there were ample pillows.

Breakfast is served in a large room that reminds one of a sun room. On the morning we were there, there was only one waitress to take care of the whole room plus the outdoor deck seating area which was much to much for any one person to handle. We chose our breakfast from the menu which had a large assortment of items and then waited an hour and twenty minutes from the time we ordered our breakfast until we were served. Finally, another person from the front desk came to help out. The orange juice was delicious. I had an omelet which was cooked very well and the bacon was crispy as ordered. The cranberry muffin seemed "tough" as if the batter had been overbeaten and not very good. The yogurt, granola and fresh fruit was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theConcordTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
48
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Thanks to Ray and Margaret, Rebecca and all the team at the Ipswich Inn who made our family feel so comfortable during our stay last weekend. The meals we ate there were delicious and met the diverse needs of our family of five effortlessly.We all agreed that the gardens surrounding the outside dining area are enchanting and the rooms were cozy and clean. You all made our weekend especially memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Every room in this historic house is different, which makes your trip to this historic town doubly effective. Ray and family are warm and genuine, welcoming without being overly solicitous. Location is ideal, and we walked to dinner, at a very fine Greek restaurant a few blocks away. Breakfast is unusual, in its busy restaurant, and you get to order whatever you like.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We just spent may 30 to june 2nd at the INN..it was my daughters wedding ..Ray made our stay impeccable!!! We had the rehersal and the dinner there and even with it being so hot the spirits were high! Every room was unique and every room was perfect! We ranged in age from 2 years old to 60 years..it accomadated us all! My 3 grandgirls were safe and very entertained with having the inn feel like a home! Mt youngest Cathlene..would ask if we could go to the little house! we loved it... the food was wonderful airconditoned ..I just can't say enough I can't wait to go back and stay explore the area and visit the beaches!!!!!! Thank you Ray and Margaret and the wonderful staff!!!! xoxox

Room Tip: if a family the carriage house!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sale5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The Ipswich Bed and Breakfast is a great place for breakfast for locals too. I have met friends
there many times and enjoyed the sunny porch and the varied breakfast delights. Love the
omlettes and breads.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajpaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

room was clean, extremely friendly staff, delicious (free) breakfast.
The rooms were bright and clean, and you could tell were very well kept.
The showers had great water pressure.
Beautiful Victorian home felt like classic New England
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling11fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here a while back for a friend's wedding. Centrally located--the pond and Zumi's coffee are all walkable and you can enjoy the ancient oaks and 18th century salt box houses on your way back. The oldest I saw was 1764, perhaps?

Our rooms were charming, comfortable and neither too modernized nor fussy-fancy. Be aware that as a historic property, there are no elevators, so if you have a room on the third (top) floor, it can be a strenuous chore to get heavy bags all the way up the stairs. The family got a kick out of the wild turkeys prowling behind the Inn at the edge of the wood behind the Inn.

The breakfast is SUPERB; perhaps the best part. They run a small restaurant that's open to the public but Inn guests can order whatever they like. In that case, I helped myself to the lobster omelet....mmm! So if you tend to avoid B&Bs because of the breakfast chit-chat with strangers, you have nothing to worry about here. This setup is relatively anonymous..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdude310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
7.7 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
127 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
10.1 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
11.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
9.0 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 East St, Ipswich, MA 01938-2248
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Ipswich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1863 - The Robert Jordan House. Stroll on walkways throughout this almost-one-acre estate that is accented by terraced perennial gardens. The Victorian home with Italianate detail was built by a Civil War veteran who became a general merchant. Accommodations include guest bedrooms in the main house and the restored Carriage House. All rooms have private bath, air conditioning, television, free WiFi - all the amenities you would expect in a fine Bed and Breakfast. A wholesome breakfast is served in the sun drenched dining room, on the garden deck, or in the formal dining room in the historic house and is included in with the room. A tranquil ambiance is imparted during a visit here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ipswich Bed Breakfast
Ipswich b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing