We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This was the perfect B&B. Owners were wonderful and helpful. Rooms were clean and pretty. Location was perfect and the food...yum!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Beachblues01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2008

Ray, the innkeeper, could not have made us feel more at home. When I called to let him know when I would be arriving, he offered to pick me up from the train station because he knew that my friend and I didn't have a car. As he drove us back to the Inn from the station, he pointed out great places to eat (the lobster rolls at Choate's are fantastic! and they're not on the menu - you have to ask for them).
My friend and I were having a mini-college reunion, so we opted for the Swedish Room on the top (3rd) floor because it has a double and a twin bed. There were two other bedrooms on the top floor and all shared the same cozy feel with wide plank, rustic wood floors. We had the whole floor to ourselves and it was very quiet and comfortable.
We intended to explore Ipswich on foot, however it quickly became clear that Crane Beach would require a car as it's almost 6 miles away from the Inn. Before we could think about renting a car, Ray presented us with the keys to his car and told us to feel free to drive to the beach and check out the town! I was astounded by his generosity. We gladly took him up on his kind offer and enjoyed the beach and repaid him with a tank of gas.
The breakfast at the Inn is fantastic! You can order off a menu that has prices on it for people not staying at the Inn (apparently the breakfast at the Inn is quite popular with the locals). I had delicious blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup and it was fantastic. Ray is at breakfast to answer any questions you have about planning your day.
The best part about this lovely Inn is truly the Innkeeper. Ray is helpful without being the least bit intrusive. Stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nosleeptilbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

One of the best places to stay on the North Shore of Boston. Great atmosphere, good food (it now has a full-service restaurant serving breakfast), and good company. The owners are a joy to be around - and the guests are interesting, too.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank archidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Ray and Margaret run the perfect New England B&B. The entire place is superbly maintained. The new kitchen/dining area is really wonderful. When you consider that the breakfasts are great, the prices lower than they should be, and the bathrooms are huge...well, you now have no reason not to go! This place is not really a local secret anymore. I know that just recently, Martin Scorcese, Sigourney Weaver, and Walter Koenig all have used this little gem as a resting place while working on various Hollywood type projects. Trust me, you will feel like a star yourself when you are in Ray's care. As an added bonus, it is within walking distaance of old downtown Ipswich....Fried Clams anyone?

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vespagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Ipswich wasn't on our holiday itinerary until a friend said that we had to stay at this B&B, and they weren't wrong. It is the perfect New England B&B, from the way it looks, to the fantastic hosts, to the great breakfast eaten at the kitchen table. It was like finding ourselves accidentally wandering onto a film set with the filming in progress. I loved it and the only thing that disappointed me was we'd only left room in our trip for one night. When you go there, don't miss the blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Marstons Mills, MA
12
Reviewed 4 August 2004

When traveling to the North Shore for business or pleasure, I always try to stay at the Ipswich B and B. Not only is the Inn beautiful and a wonderful value, but Ray and Margaret are fun and wonderful hosts.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
cape cod, MA
14
Reviewed 9 May 2003

Fabulous !!! Great fun, beautiful rooms. Ray and Margaret are wonderful hosts.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
10.1 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Arbor Inn Motel
Arbor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Ipswich
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipswich Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 East St, Ipswich, MA 01938-2248
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Ipswich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range: £93 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1863 - The Robert Jordan House. Stroll on walkways throughout this almost-one-acre estate that is accented by terraced perennial gardens. The Victorian home with Italianate detail was built by a Civil War veteran who became a general merchant. Accommodations include guest bedrooms in the main house and the restored Carriage House. All rooms have private bath, air conditioning, television, free WiFi - all the amenities you would expect in a fine Bed and Breakfast. A wholesome breakfast is served in the sun drenched dining room, on the garden deck, or in the formal dining room in the historic house and is included in with the room. A tranquil ambiance is imparted during a visit here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ipswich Bed Breakfast
Ipswich b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing