We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Clams”

Ipswich Clambake Co
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wonderful seafood (eat in or take out). Also amazing catering service!! We are closed for the season. Reopening mid March or by April 1st
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clams”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Had lunch here and the fried clams were among the best we've ever had. Perfectly fried and comes with their special remoulade sauce or home made tartar sauce if you prefer. Nice portion sizes and reasonable prices. Grilled salmon over caesar salad was also very good, I liked that they had lots of grilled fish and vegetable options along with all the traditional fried foods. Great place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qino2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Fried Clams Without the Wait”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Was in the area and in the mood for fried clams. This is our second visit to the Ipswich Clambake Co and the experience was the same as the first. Excellent food with excellent service, we use to go to the other place down the road, but the lines are insane and while I love a good clam, I will not wait an hour to get it. The food is just as good if not better, the prices are competitive, and our service was great. While the service staff is young, they were very attentive to our needs and the others around us.

The clams were tender and sweet, just the way an Ipswich clam should be, french fries were handmade. Also the Chicken Fingers were handmade and also delicious, great for that picky eater in your party. We will be back again when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaPa_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This Place is Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Forget the long lines...this place is GREAT. This is where the locals eat. short line. Fantastic fried clams and haddock. One of the best clam chowdaaaaas EVER! Perfect onion rings. Might be the best. Home made cole slaw with pineapple.

Sit outside, BYOB....and be happy you were smart enough to find this spot. A/C inside if you prefer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runningboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fried seafood treat!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Once a season, we like to go to the north shore and have a real fried fish dinner. In the past we have gone to one of the "famous" places and waited in line for what is really just an average meal. This weekend, tired of the lines, we went to Ipswich Clambake and had a delicious meal!! Our platters - scallops and clam strips with onion rings and cole slaw and whole belly clams with french fries - were cooked to perfection. Hot and crispy and not the least bit greasy! The restaurant is immaculately clean and air conditioned! The prices are very fair - good value and the fish was absolutely fresh. The kids working behind the counter and in the kitchen were lovely - polite, funny and very efficient. No more "famous" clam shacks for us! It will be Ipswich Clambake Co. for our annual summer outing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great clams”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Clams the way I like - crispy but not over done. Staffed by teenagers more concerned with socializing than taking customers' orders.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oldpineisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ipswich Clambake Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing