We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Clams”

Ipswich Clambake Co
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Ipswich
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Wonderful seafood (eat in or take out). Also amazing catering service!! We are closed for the season. Reopening mid March or by April 1st
Hudson, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fried Clams”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Traveling in the area and was looking for a place to have fried clams for lunch. Selected Ipswich Clambake based upon other reviews on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased with the clams and onion rings. Later that week we tried the Clam Box which is a larger place nearby, but liked the food at Ipswich Clambake a little better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

First time at Clambake Co. Great clams , hand made fries, and onion rings, Went with
the family everyone enjoyed there food and there was enough to take home. Small seating,
some seats outside. As good of clams as I have had , would go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidkMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fried Scallops”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Scallops over cooked or old scallops. The services wasn't that great. The clams was very small and raised the price $5.00 more. I don't need to drive 45 minutes to have bad fried food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent clams - no waiting!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

On the advice of fellow trip advisors, had lunch at the Clambake Co. In Ipswich and we were not disappointed! Stopped at the town Visitors Center to get the address and the nice volunteers raved about the Clambakes to Go as well. We had delicious, fresh fried clams and onion rings. Seating both inside and out is limited but for a late weekday lunch we easily got a table. Friendly people, clean shop and great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clams”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Had lunch here and the fried clams were among the best we've ever had. Perfectly fried and comes with their special remoulade sauce or home made tartar sauce if you prefer. Nice portion sizes and reasonable prices. Grilled salmon over caesar salad was also very good, I liked that they had lots of grilled fish and vegetable options along with all the traditional fried foods. Great place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qino2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ipswich Clambake Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing