We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Audubon's Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary”
Review of Ipswich River

Ipswich River
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Ipswich
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Visit Audubon's Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Mass Audubon's Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary is wonderful. The folks in the visitor's center mapped out an excellent trail for our family that took us along ponds, through rock formations, alongside the Ipswich River and to a great observation tower. We ended with a stop at the outdoor nature play area. Sanctuary was well maintained and facility was very clean. We spotted lots of birds, turtles and frogs during our visit. Admission is nominal and Audubon members are free. Canoes are available for members to rent for a small fee and the route looks amazing. We can't wait to try it next time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MAMamaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent kayaking/canoeing”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Wonderful place to paddle. It's peaceful and full of wildlife. There are at least two put-ins on Ipswich Rd. If you need to rent, I recommend Foote Bros.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Quite a Workout”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My boyfriend and I rented a canoe from Foote brothers and spent about 5 hours or so on the water, stopped a few times along the way to fish. We saw a lot of turtles, geese, and ducks. We didn't have any luck with fishing though one of the workers at Foot brothers told us he caught a trout right where the dam is.

Rowing against the current was quite a workout and there were many trees that were submerged that made some points very tricky to navigate. We got a stuck a few times, but that was part of the fun. I was completely exhausted after all that rowing, but it was a beautiful day and experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JananaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was well worth the 4.00 entry fee. Great hiking trails, lots of wooded paths over the ponds and marshes, great animal viewing opportunities. Today we saw a water snake, sunning turles, ducks, geese on their nests, cranes, wood peckers and many other assorted birds. We saw chip monks, red squirels, an otter, beaver dams and 5 deer which just made out day.
Great for some exercise and also to just sit and enjoy the views and listen to all the various noises the birds make.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMGBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun family Outing”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Take a leisurely canoe trip for 4 or more hours down the Ipswich River stopping to bird watch or picnic along the way. See Foote Brothers for canoe rentals.

Helpful?
Thank Ganderson8945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ipswich River also viewed

 

Been to Ipswich River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing