We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medocrity meets wanna be authentic”
Review of Cafe Azteca

Cafe Azteca
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Medocrity meets wanna be authentic”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This restaurant use to be quite nice. But my last 2 visits were definitely my last 2 visits. Not sure if it cutting corners for the sake of laziness or shaving corners to save on expenses. The food was just not as good as it use to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin_m_crocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, MA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food for awesome value!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you are ever in Lawrence stop in here. The food is just amazing, authentic mexican that tastes wonderful. Prices are low for the amount of food you receive. Good beer list, great chips and salsa and dessert is great too! They do have limited hours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican at it's best”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Really good food and nice atmosphere. This is a locally owned and run business, which I like to support. This is a little gem in downtown Lawrence

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank anamcara2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Best place to eat in Lawrence , hands down. The food is authentic and so tasty. Try the sangria for a treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hinchfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really like Cafe Azteca”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I like mexican food. Sometimes I go to On the Border and Plaza Azteca when a group wants to go there and thinks those chains are fine. I would rate Cafe Azteca, what looks like a hole in the wall in Lawrence until you get inside, at least two stars higher than those chains or anything else around. The meat is really good, I think they are very careful with where they get it and how they prepare and handle it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing