We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful place in the Berkshires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Left another hotel in the area, disappointed, and was delightfully surprised by this lakeside hotel. Is an older but renovated hotel on a lake, and was extremely peaceful. Was recuperating from a back injury and needed a place to "camp out" and write for several days. The staff couldnt have been more welcoming and accommodating. They even offered to upgrade us to a room with a hot tub, if needed for my back. They have an awesome Indian restaurant on site. This is a young management group and they are motivated to be one of the best boutique hotels in the Berkshires...

Room Tip: Just try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

All of here at the Black Swan Inn would first like to thank you for staying with us, as well as writing such a nice review of our property. We really appreciate when guests take time out of their lives to help spread the good word about the strides that we are making for this property. Sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay at a nearby property, we are glad that we were able to turn around your visit to the Berkshires.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we are glad to hear you had a good time. If you have any questions, concerns, or would like to make a future reservation, do not hesitate to contact me directly at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com or by phone at 413-243-2700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent a delightful fall weekend here. The fall foliage visible from our private lake side balcony was breathtaking. The front desk crew of Paul and Rob were very accommodating and pleasant. Recommendations for dinner and outdoor activities-hiking trails to the lake and a visit to a nearby pumpkin farm- were spot on for our group that included an active 7 year old. Our rooms were VERY clean and nicely furnished. Individual keurig coffee pots and a fridge in each room were a definite plus as was the free continental breakfast that included delicious pastries and sweetbreads as well as yogurt , fruit and hard boiled eggs for our finicky eaters. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Mary F,
Thank you for taking the time to write us an excellent review. I would have to agree with you that this property, and the Berkshires for that matter, should not be viewed only as a summer tourist destination. There is so much to do here all year-round, you would need to intentionally try to be bored. Along with all of the various outdoor activities like hiking, skiing, fishing, etc, that you can do throughout the off-season. There are also many indoor activities all throughout the Berkshires. Besides all the various museums and historical sites the area has to offer, there is Premium Outlet shopping just two miles from our property. The Berkshires offer something to do for everyone all throughout the year.

Thank you again for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We decided to extend a fall visit to Vermont. Not knowing the area when we made reservations, we were pleasantly pleased when we arrived at the Black Swan Inn. We were greeted by the manager who was extremely pleasant and helpful. All staff we met throughout our stay were delightful. The room with a deck was a perfect place to sit and relax while overlooking the lovely lake. Room was newly renovated and comfortable. Many quaint little towns to visit in the area. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking lake are delightful. We enjoyed the fall foliage on a walk to the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95JanetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear 95JanetD,
It pleases us here at the Black Swan Inn to hear that you chose us on your passing through the Berkshires. Even more, it excites our staff to hear that you had such an amazing time throughout your stay. Since taking over this property this past April, we have done an extensive renovation to all of the guest rooms, which were all in a time of much needed repair. Along with going through this huge project, our management team maintained a serious focus on the level of customer service that is offered to each and every guest that walks through that door.

Thank you again for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We first discovered this hotel by accident when we were looking for the attached Indian restaurant, which by the way has AMAZING food; there were entrees we have not seen at any other Indian restaurant, and it was incredibly good! Vegetarians take note of some great offerings. The lobby was cozy and inviting and the staff VERY friendly and helpful. We returned a few weeks later to stay on our way to Burlington, and it was lovely. The rooms with balconies were intriguing - we could see them from the restaurant - with a lovely view overlooking this little "Paradise by a Pond", but figured we'd save the money (they are slightly more expensive) for a warmer time of year. Our room on the other side was very quiet, very clean, very newly updated, with a very nice bathroom. Nice to have a fridge included. As a night owl who sleeps in (and always misses free breakfasts, sigh), I appreciated the dark room, carpeted hallways, and thick recessed doors - no morning noise! There is something about the layout which seems very welcoming. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much for following through from our previous conversations, and writing us such a wonderful review of our property. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience all throughout your visit with us. Next time you will have to try one of our lakeside options with your own personal deck. Even in the offseason, we believe it allows our guests to take full advantage of the incredible views our property has to offer. Next spring and summer, we will offer new seating options by the lake so that every guest can enjoy the serenity the lake has to offer without leaving the property.

Thank you again for your review. We truly have a hidden gem and are glad that you were able to take note of it. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on recent New England trip stopping wherever we were at the end of the day. Based on other reviews decided to check it out. Friendly, helpful desk clerk. Room was REALLY nice. Updated, clean, nice decor. Nice little deck from which we sat with a glass of wine and watched the sunset and the geese and ducks coming and going from the lake. Deck chairs and table old and worn and not in keeping with the updated room. Just driving by you probably would keep going (outside appears old, weathered) but don't as you'll be pleasantly surprised by how nice are.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. It pleases us to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I can agree with you though that when driving by, the property looks a little tired. When we took over in April, our main goal was to get the renovations of the rooms completed before we moved forward with anything else. Now that those are done, we will be moving onto a number of side projects that will spruce up the inside and outside appearance of the property. We have already planned on buying new patio furniture for the lakeside guestrooms, as well as the outdoor patio that we are planning on creating in place of our pool.

Thank you again for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel overlooks a lake...a plus. But it is going through renovations. The workmanship is poor. First the chain on the door was put on backwards and would never stop an intruder. Second the bathtub had many gaps and open seams. Wager pooled in the back of the tub and flowed on the floor no matter which way you aimed the shower head. The fireplace took forever to light and did nothing to warm the room. The rest of the room was fine.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 123Katew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

I am sorry that you did not have a 100% enjoyable stay with us here at the Black Swan Inn. This past April our company came in and took over the management of the property. Since that time, we have done an extensive renovation of each and every guest room. But I apologize for the issues that you had issues with your bathroom. The property is an ongoing project and we are doing our best to address issues like these as we become aware of them. We also recently had our fireplaces inspected, which hadn’t been done by the previous management in many years. For safety reasons, we will not be operating them until they are either replaced or fixed to meet the current standards of the industry. I apologize for your inconvenience and the inconvenience of our future guests who wish to use the fireplaces, but for now they are for aesthetic purposes only.

Thank you for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have been staying at the Black Swan for a number of years when I travel on business and a little over a year a go I was going to stop staying there, but I heard it had been sold and it would be renovated. I have been very impressed with what the new management has done so far and I am glad that I will be continuing to stay at the Black Swan, because it is such a convenient location for my travels. I would reccommend the Black Swan if you are looking for a great value in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Lake Side Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your short and sweet review of our newly renovated Black Swan Inn. We are glad you decided to give it another shot after it started to go downhill in years past. As you mentioned, we are a new management team that took over the property this past April. We have very high hopes and dreams for this beautiful location. With the help of loyal guests like yourself, we will achieve those dreams. Now that the renovations of the rooms are out of the way, we can focus on other aspects of operations and the property that were strongly neglected in years past.

Thank you again for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
3.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,097 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 15 in Lenox
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
174 reviews
3.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 15 in Lenox
581 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 435 Laurel St, Lee, MA 01238-9510
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range: £60 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of beautiful Laurel Lake in the Berkshires, relaxation and luxury await you at the Black Swan Inn. Beautifully furnished guest rooms include all the conveniences you need such as refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee. Lakeside rooms have private balconies and some feature jetted tubs. Awake in the morning to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast while taking in a view of the lake. This lakeside hotel is convenient to all of the arts, culture, and outdoor activities the Berkshires have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Lee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing