We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Hunter, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accomodations and Location”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Black Swan Inn is in a beautiful location. While eating the complementary breakfest I had an amazing view the lake. The room itself was very clean and had great amenities. I would have given them an excellent review however, I had two suggestions that would have made my stay a little more comfrotable.
1. Please update the doors and locks. I was a little nervous that anyone could bust through the door becase it was so old school.
2. The staff was very friendly and helpful though they were not always at the front desk. Twice I went to the desk to find no one in sight so, I waited until check-out to ask my questions.
Overall it was nice time and I would stay again if I went to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Angela H,

We would first like to thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. Additionally, we thank you for going as far as to write a review for our property. Your compliments of the various aspects of your accommodations were very thoughtful, thank you. Sorry that the age of our door systems made you a little uneasy. As they are old doors, they are still solid steel doors with deadbolts and latches. I can assure you they are safe. I would also like to apologize for the presence of the front desk. We are currently in our very low demand season. During these times for our evening shift (3pm-11pm), we don’t have more than one person on shift at a time. I have spoken with my front desk agent to find out that on the evening of your stay, there happened to be multiple instances where she was pulled from the desk to help guests with various things. I can tell you that presence at the front desk has been one of our top priorities alongside of customer service since we took of this property this past April. As we move into spring and preparing for summer, we adjust the scheduling accordingly so that instances like this do not occur frequently.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again. If you have any questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact me directly at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com or by phone 413-243-2700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    184
    52
    18
    6
See reviews for
123
244
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent an overnight in the Black Swan Inn and were extremely happy with the hotel. The hotel is being renovated and what has been done already is top notch. Brendan and Rob were extremely hospitable and helpful answering any questions that we had. Our room was absolutely spotless and had all the amenities that we needed as well as the one cup Keurig coffee maker that we were happy to see. Just like home!!! This will be definitely the place to stay when we visit the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Anita G,

Thank you for going out of your way to write us a review for our property. Our staff here works very hard to create enjoyable experiences for each of our guests, and it is nice to see that hard work reflect here on TripAdvisor. Thank you again for staying with us and writing such a nice review. We look forward towards a future visit.

If you have any questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact me directly at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com or by phone at 413-243-2700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Black Swan Inn for a week during the Thanksgiving holiday and the following weekend. The front desk staff was friendly and quite helpful with information regarding recommendations for restaurants, directions to local hiking trails, shopping options, and travel routes. The hotel was in a very convenient location--easy access to quality restaurants and to tourist sites. Our room was clean and appeared to be recently renovated. There was a coffee maker (Keurig) and fridge in the room. The exercise room was small but had three pieces of high quality equipment, a TV, and an adjacent sauna. The continental breakfast featured yogurt, cereals, hard boiled eggs, various breads, apples, bananas, juice, and coffee. The lobby had coffee and hot chocolate available at all hours. The only downside was that the walls seemed a bit thin--I could hear parking lot activity from our room and bits of conversations from rooms when I walked in the hallway. However, since we were visiting off-season and visitors were spaced out in the hotel, it really wasn't too concerning on this trip. However, if available, I'd suggest a room on the lake side--it's probably quieter there. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ja232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear ja232013,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are constantly trying to spread the word about the strides we are making for this property, and this is one of the best methods to do so. It pleases us to hear that our accommodations were to your liking and that our staff was able to assist you in all ways possible. We pride ourselves in offering only the highest levels of customer service, so it excites me to hear that you were able to take note of this. I would however like to apologize for the noise issues that you faced. We did our best throughout the renovations to soundproof the property. We were able to add extra padding to the walls and all of the floors in a attempt to minimize the sound from the rooms above you. In the end though, it is a 25 year old wooden building. Our staff is very aware of these issues and know that if a room is being too loud, it is their job to politely quite that room down.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com or by phone at 413-243-2700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Left another hotel in the area, disappointed, and was delightfully surprised by this lakeside hotel. Is an older but renovated hotel on a lake, and was extremely peaceful. Was recuperating from a back injury and needed a place to "camp out" and write for several days. The staff couldnt have been more welcoming and accommodating. They even offered to upgrade us to a room with a hot tub, if needed for my back. They have an awesome Indian restaurant on site. This is a young management group and they are motivated to be one of the best boutique hotels in the Berkshires...

Room Tip: Just try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
All of here at the Black Swan Inn would first like to thank you for staying with us, as well as writing such a nice review of our property. We really appreciate when guests take time out of their lives to help spread the good word about the strides that we are making for this property. Sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay at a nearby property, we are glad that we were able to turn around your visit to the Berkshires.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we are glad to hear you had a good time. If you have any questions, concerns, or would like to make a future reservation, do not hesitate to contact me directly at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com or by phone at 413-243-2700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent a delightful fall weekend here. The fall foliage visible from our private lake side balcony was breathtaking. The front desk crew of Paul and Rob were very accommodating and pleasant. Recommendations for dinner and outdoor activities-hiking trails to the lake and a visit to a nearby pumpkin farm- were spot on for our group that included an active 7 year old. Our rooms were VERY clean and nicely furnished. Individual keurig coffee pots and a fridge in each room were a definite plus as was the free continental breakfast that included delicious pastries and sweetbreads as well as yogurt , fruit and hard boiled eggs for our finicky eaters. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Mary F,
Thank you for taking the time to write us an excellent review. I would have to agree with you that this property, and the Berkshires for that matter, should not be viewed only as a summer tourist destination. There is so much to do here all year-round, you would need to intentionally try to be bored. Along with all of the various outdoor activities like hiking, skiing, fishing, etc, that you can do throughout the off-season. There are also many indoor activities all throughout the Berkshires. Besides all the various museums and historical sites the area has to offer, there is Premium Outlet shopping just two miles from our property. The Berkshires offer something to do for everyone all throughout the year.

Thank you again for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We decided to extend a fall visit to Vermont. Not knowing the area when we made reservations, we were pleasantly pleased when we arrived at the Black Swan Inn. We were greeted by the manager who was extremely pleasant and helpful. All staff we met throughout our stay were delightful. The room with a deck was a perfect place to sit and relax while overlooking the lovely lake. Room was newly renovated and comfortable. Many quaint little towns to visit in the area. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking lake are delightful. We enjoyed the fall foliage on a walk to the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 95JanetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear 95JanetD,
It pleases us here at the Black Swan Inn to hear that you chose us on your passing through the Berkshires. Even more, it excites our staff to hear that you had such an amazing time throughout your stay. Since taking over this property this past April, we have done an extensive renovation to all of the guest rooms, which were all in a time of much needed repair. Along with going through this huge project, our management team maintained a serious focus on the level of customer service that is offered to each and every guest that walks through that door.

Thank you again for your review. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We first discovered this hotel by accident when we were looking for the attached Indian restaurant, which by the way has AMAZING food; there were entrees we have not seen at any other Indian restaurant, and it was incredibly good! Vegetarians take note of some great offerings. The lobby was cozy and inviting and the staff VERY friendly and helpful. We returned a few weeks later to stay on our way to Burlington, and it was lovely. The rooms with balconies were intriguing - we could see them from the restaurant - with a lovely view overlooking this little "Paradise by a Pond", but figured we'd save the money (they are slightly more expensive) for a warmer time of year. Our room on the other side was very quiet, very clean, very newly updated, with a very nice bathroom. Nice to have a fridge included. As a night owl who sleeps in (and always misses free breakfasts, sigh), I appreciated the dark room, carpeted hallways, and thick recessed doors - no morning noise! There is something about the layout which seems very welcoming. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for following through from our previous conversations, and writing us such a wonderful review of our property. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience all throughout your visit with us. Next time you will have to try one of our lakeside options with your own personal deck. Even in the offseason, we believe it allows our guests to take full advantage of the incredible views our property has to offer. Next spring and summer, we will offer new seating options by the lake so that every guest can enjoy the serenity the lake has to offer without leaving the property.

Thank you again for your review. We truly have a hidden gem and are glad that you were able to take note of it. If you have any questions, concerns, or just want to make a future reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
3.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
144 reviews
5.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
451 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
16.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 435 Laurel St, Lee, MA 01238-9510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of beautiful Laurel Lake in the Berkshires, relaxation and luxury await you at the Black Swan Inn. Beautifully furnished guest rooms include all the conveniences you need such as refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee. Lakeside rooms have private balconies and some feature jetted tubs. Awake in the morning to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast while taking in a view of the lake. This lakeside hotel is convenient to all of the arts, culture, and outdoor activities the Berkshires have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Lee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing