We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for a Spring Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for a Spring Respite”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

With a Travel Zoo discount our little family of three enjoyed a wonderful break during school vacation week in the Berkshires. Our teen loves fishing. With a guaranteed lake view room and lake freshly stocked, we each experienced our own paradise. My husband read in the cozy room, our teen fished and I toured the Norman Rockwell Museum. In the evening, we ate at the 5 star restaurant Chez Nous nearly walking distance from the Black Swan. The staff is friendly, keeping a cold, fresh citrus water cooler in the lobby. Breakfast was adequate, including all of the amenities of a continental breakfast. We felt we were provided a tremendous value for a great two day trip.

Room Tip: We had a Lake View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiaisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Claudiaisin,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. We are very happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience out in the Berkshires, and that we were a contributing factor to that experience. There really is something to do for everyone out here, and it seems that you took full advantage of that throughout your visit.

Thank you again for staying with us, and writing such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    178
    48
    17
    6
See reviews for
114
240
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Black Swan for two nights in mid-April 2014 as a quick getaway during our spring break. With the New England crazy weather pattern being what it is, we had SNOW on our first day (April 16)! The front desk staff was very helpful with their suggestions for restaurants. The room was very nice and clean. The balcony overlooking the lake would've been more enjoyable if the weather had been warmer but the view was nevertheless beautiful. We enjoyed our time at the Black Swan and would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: The lake side room was wonderful. There wasn't a jacuzzi tub in our room though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Rita C,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, I apologize that the weather did not cooperate throughout your visit, it was a shock to us as well. We are pleased to see that the trip was not ruined due to the weather and hope to see you again when the weather isn’t so unpredictable.

Thank you again for the staying with us, and for the review. If you have any questions, concerns, or would just like to make a future reservation, do not hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had the opportunity to stay here with an offer from TravelZoo. What a beautiful hotel, with some of the friendliest hosts we've ever had. Had a great stay, with a balcony overlooking the lake. Only stayed for one night, but will return if we ever get the chance.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that overlook the lake. Very peaceful and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddagreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Daddagreat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a short, and very sweet review. It means a lot when our guests take it upon themselves to go online and post reviews for our property. We are pleased to see that you had such a wonderful visit.

Thank you again for the staying with us, and for the review. If you have any questions, concerns, or would just like to make a future reservation, do not hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip Terrace, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I purchased a Groupon for 3 nights and booked a trip for my BF and I for a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night. The place was super clean and remodeled with jacuzzi tubs in the bathroom and fireplaces in the room. We found out the fireplaces were inherited from the quality inn that it used to be, but those were not updated yet and were unsafe and so were disconnected unfortunately as was the sauna. The staff was super friendly and accommodating, especially Paul and Kara. We decided to extend our stay another night and so bought a travelzoo voucher for Friday night, which included a bottle of wine. The lakeside room we were currently in was booked for Fri night so we had to change rooms. No big deal but the manager Paul, felt really bad for the inconvenience (even though it wasn't their fault) so he promised to bring another bottle of wine to our room. It was a really nice gesture, BUT unfortunately he forgot to follow through on that :( overall, we really enjoyed our stay, especially breakfast overlooking a pretty lake and the the delicious Indian restaurant inside the Inn called Bombay. We would def come back again. Thanks!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessicer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our accommodations. You are accurate with you explanation of our in room fireplaces. As of right now, there are not functioning due to the reasons you described. The sauna was though I’m sorry you were unable to get it going. Had you brought it to the attention of the front desk, we could have corrected the issue.

Thank you again for the staying with us and for the review. If you have any questions, concerns, or would just like to make a future reservation, do not hesitate to contact me directly at 413-243-2700, or by email at rmcnary@blackswaninnberkshires.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Kara's personality was wonderful. Her love of people is wonderful. She was very patient when explaining the rates and the amenities. She makes a person want to come back. Thank you Black Swan for having Kara at your front desk.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. We are so happy to hear that Kara was available for your every request. She certainly is an excellent asset to our team here and it shows throughout TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your pleasant review of our property, and more importantly our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Although our dates were 2nd week of April and early in the season, everything at the hotel and in the nearby town of Lee, 1.5 miles away, was "up and running". Our main focus was Stockbridge, which is close and easily accessible from the motel. The reason I gave a "very good" overall rating instead of "excellent" was for only one reason: the entry-way to the lobby is like the door to a cottage at a lake. I am guessing it will eventually be upgraded. The desk staff were excellent with suggestions and ratings of restaurants. We were even helped with luggage to our second floor room. Our request for connecting rooms-lakeside was accomodated on the second floor. Apparently these were some of the newly renovated rooms, with private balconies. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The WiFi, TV, and refrigerator all worked well. The broken coffee maker was replaced in the afternoon. We picked this hotel because of the location on Laurel Lake, and were not disappointed in this little aqua gem. Thank you for a great 2 nights.

Room Tip: Our connecting rooms were 212 and 214.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear P H,


Thank you for taking the time recently to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to the Berkshires. All of our guestrooms have recently been renovated as of last June. It is funny that you mention the entryway as our only flaw because we are in fact in the planning stages of redesigning it to make it a more welcoming aspect of our property.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lee, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The people at the hotel were very friendly and very helpful.
Kara was a wonderful receptionist, so friendly and helpful.
Very good advice for area eateries.
The view from the hotel was very nice, a beautiful lake.

Room Tip: Stay on the lake side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Marc P,

Thank you for your recent review of our property, The Black Swan Inn. We are excited to see that you had an enjoyable visit to the Berkshires. It pleases me to hear that Kara was able to assist you with all of your needs.

Thank you for staying, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
3.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
123 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
543 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.0 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 435 Laurel St, Lee, MA 01238-9510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of beautiful Laurel Lake in the Berkshires, relaxation and luxury await you at the Black Swan Inn. Beautifully furnished guest rooms include all the conveniences you need such as refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee. Lakeside rooms have private balconies and some feature jetted tubs. Awake in the morning to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast while taking in a view of the lake. This lakeside hotel is convenient to all of the arts, culture, and outdoor activities the Berkshires have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Lee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing