We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
339 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A Perfect Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just spent 3 days/2 nights in the Lee/Lenox/Stockbridge area and the Black Swan was a perfect, central location for us. Right on Rt 20West, you can easily get to these three towns from here. Located on Laurel Lake, the Black Swan offers rooms overlooking the lake, complete with a balcony and comfy chairs for enjoying the view. We were delighted with the accommodations and spent the late afternoon gazing at the Lake in total relaxation. Our rooms were spacious, very clean and complete with mini fridges - an absolute necessity, I think. the Inn gives off a rustic vibe with the dark walls, furnishings, etc. and although I always like lots of light, it was really ok. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and included breads and bagels for toasting, mini pastries and muffins and cereal. In the breakfast room frig we found hard boiled eggs (already shelled), yogurts, cream cheese, milk, cream, etc. for the very good coffee. It was help yourself and the breakfast room overlooks Laurel Lake too. Staff were friendly. There's an onsite restaurant - Bombay - which serves Indian Food, but that's not one of our likes, so we didn't check it out. All-in-all, a very pleasant stay. Location is everything!

Room Tip: Pay a few extra dollars and get a room facing the Lake on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Nancy N,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. It pleases our entire staff to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us, and for your well written, detail review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    167
    48
    16
    5
See reviews for
103
228
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful experience at the Black Swan Inn. I was one of 50 people who came by bus for golfing and touring. Cannot say enough about the owner/manager and the great staff. Close to Lee, Lenox and Stocbridge. Very accommodating. Our room was lovely, comfortable and clean with a great view of Laurel Lake. Enjoyed the daily breakfast and the walk to the lake front.

LSS - Upper Gwynedd, PA

Room Tip: get a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindated45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Lindate45,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. We are in no way getting tired of hearing about the amazing time you all had here with us. It is a constant goal of ours to provide this kind of service to groups like yours, and I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for the wonderful review, we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
254 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you look at the outside, it is not a pretty hotel. Inside it is outdated and smells kind of chemical. but the room was spacious, had a great bed and excellent shower, all what we hoped for that night. I would not stay here for a few days. Breakfast has a stunning view on the lake and is very basic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Girl67,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. I am sorry to hear that your stay was just okay, because we strive for only the best among our staff. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you back in order to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wonderful hotel with exceptional people running it. Beautiful view, nice rooms and a great location to be in the Berkshires. Loved everything about it - we were a group of 50 friends from our Del Webb community who stayed at the Black Swann and were treated royally by Paul Rodriguez and Rob and Kara. Nothing was too much for them to do for us and our stay of 4 days was perfect. Would definitely stay there again. Shopping and great restaurants were close and there is plenty of history - and Tanglewood was a wonderful afternoon. Beautiful setting, perfect four days.

Room Tip: Lake side room was beautiful and overlooked a beautiful area to watch over
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Barb622,

Thank you for writing such a nice review on TripAdvisor for our property, The Black Swan Inn. Your group was excellent and fun, and we are so glad everyone enjoyed their stay. Thank you again for staying, just name the dates for next year and we would love to have everyone back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataumet, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here after a Tanglewood concert. The Black Swan Inn is located between Tanglewood and the Lee exit on the Mass Pike, so the location is perfect. The rooms was nice and clean, and the beds comfortable. The sink for the bathroom was, oddly, out in the main room, and was a bit noisy when in use.The view out the slider was of the lake, and it was very nice. There was a small balcony off the room with a couple of chairs for enjoying the view. In the morning, we had the breakfast, included in the room price. It was essentially a continental breakfast, but we were heading out on the road, so it wasn't a big deal, but don't expect hot cooked-to-order food. The decor is a bit dated. The rate was on the high side, but the holiday weekend is a busy one, and the rate is not unexpected. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a convenient, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Rich H,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property the Black Swan Inn. I am happy to hear that our establishment met all your needs for your trip to the Berkshires. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue bell
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Arrived with a group of 50 people and the check in was seamless. Paul Rodriguez, the manager, could not do enough for us. He was at our beck and call 24-7. Rob was just as helpful, and Kara at the front desk seemed like family. Our room was clean and overlooked the beautiful lake. It was a short walk to the sandy beach on the lake- it was idyllic. Plenty of chairs and perfectly manicured grounds. Definitely a home run in my book!!! Shopping and great restaurants are close. Stopped at the Norman Rockwell Museum on the way and it was spectacular. Visited FDR's home and library. History abounds.

Room Tip: Ask for Lakefront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallys N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Dallys N,

It was an absolute pleasure meeting each and every one of your group members. I am so happy to hear that everyone had such a great time. Thank you for choosing the Black Swan Inn, we look forward to seeing everyone again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We got a nice hotel room.It is by the lake and there is a very nice beach.The people are very friendly here and the hotel even has it's own Indian restaurant that you can eat at.I would come back here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Rick M,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Black Swan Inn. We appreciate that lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
0.3 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 435 Laurel St, Lee, MA 01238-9510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of beautiful Laurel Lake in the Berkshires, relaxation and luxury await you at the Black Swan Inn. Beautifully furnished guest rooms include all the conveniences you need such as refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee. Lakeside rooms have private balconies and some feature jetted tubs. Awake in the morning to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast while taking in a view of the lake. This lakeside hotel is convenient to all of the arts, culture, and outdoor activities the Berkshires have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Lee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing