We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice enough but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Outside of hotel as TA said was unimpressive. Little effort on landscaping.
Pros:
Beds are comfy.room was clean but rather small. Balcony that overlooked lake had 2 chairs. Hallway had recently gotten new carpet. Staff was friendly and nice.

Cons:
Pool was closed with lots of debris lying around it. Breakfast was meager. Cheerios, Fruit Loops, instant oatmeal, bagels, low budget pastries, and apples and bananas. Fairfield Inn has this beat. Would have expected better for $179/night.


  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notravelsurprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear notravelsurprizes,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. I apologize for the issues that you saw with the exterior of our property. These are thing that we are aware of and that we are looking into fixing. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    158
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
97
213
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Switched over to this hotel from my regular B&B because plans had changed to include 8 & 10 year old grandkids. It was a perfect fit! The room was comfortable & family friendly/useful. The staff was hardworking & normal breakfast fare a huge hit with the children. Enough selection of
fruits, baked stuff & drinks to keep 'em happy for 3 AM's while 24hr, lobby coffee, tea, chocolate & lemonade a nice touch. The short walk to "Local Lee" Ice Cream Shop well worth 2 visits.
In warmer weather(it was mid-60's most of this August week-end), lake swimming might have been a big hit, too. Would love to see the pool fixed/opened, but understand the cost might be prohibitive.
Accommodation costs are high throughout this area, in-season, but my stay here with entire family of 4, was only slightly higher than my single @local, 1st rate B&B. A great option to be aware of.
The in-hotel Indian eatery, "Bombay", is top drawer as well.

Room Tip: Lake view is more costly. Save some $$ & ask about the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you Chuck R for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your family with your trip to the Berkshires. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for a quick overnight. I wish it could have been longer. Everything in our room was perfect. The bed was firm but comfortably padded. The fireplace, while not needed in July, was attractive. My husband didn't feel like Indian food that evening, so the front desk person made some recommendations. We chose The Red Lion Inn and enjoyed it immensely. When we woke up the next morning, the lake outside the breakfast area was gorgeous and one of the front desk staff was pointing out some local wildlife inhabitants of the area. As a budding naturalist, I was strongly interested. We definitely want to return to the Black Swan and explore more of the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake. Ours did not, but the room was so nice that, frankly, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Weekend Adventurer,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our property, the Black Swan Inn. It pleases me to read that we were able to bring comfort and convenience to your weekend trip to the Berkshires. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
424 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

When I booked this hotel I had no idea what it was going to be...

Them upon arrival I recognize the place and was a little bit afraid and scared !!!

This used to be a terrible Quality Inn Hotel and I used to stay there and have a few bad experiences!!!

Well... It was too late to cancel and I wished for the best!!!

Upon arrival the lady at the front desk was very kind and helpful and inform me of new ownership and renovations / upgrade...

I was very please with the new room, new upgrade and changes...

Internet was a little bit slow but decent...

Comfortable bed, very nice comfy room, great shower and restroom...

Also Indian restaurant is a must!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Benoitleblanc,

It pleases me to hear that you decided to give our newly managed/renovated property a shot despite your previous experience with the old owners. I am even more excited to find out that you understand the major changes that we have gone through, both physically, and customer service related. Thank you for taking the time to share these with the TripAdvisor world, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I spent four nights at the Black Swan Inn and found it comfortable, clean and friendly. THe staff was very helpful, the room well appointed, and it certainly deserves a higher rating than it had when I first booked my reservation early this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake (but not when I want one, too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear LtL37,

Thank you for your short and sweet review of our property, the Black Swan Inn. We appreciate the positive feedback, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this place thanks to fellow trip advisor reviews. We stayed here for six nights to take in performances at both Tanglewood and Jacobs Pillow. The location is perfectly situated in between the two.

EXTERIOR
The exterior is tired, as has been mentioned. The Indian restaurant in the hotel was curious at first but we were delighted with the food and service there.

The best part of this property is its lakeside location. We spent two days at the beach which is free to hotel guests. There is a lifeguard, changing rooms, and adirondack chairs. We swam in the lake, and thanks to one of the lifeguards, who continually raked up the algae build up on the lake shore. We also rented kayaks and rowed around the lake. A wonderful activity in sunny weather.

ROOMS
Our room was perfectly sufficient, with nice linens, towels, and comfy bed. We had a room with a lake view on the 2nd floor which is a must. I dont know how one could stay at this property and face the parking lot. The wi-fi was free and was fine but was down for a day. Our one gripe is the A/C unit, which when kicked on put out a smell of mold. We asked the hotel to change the filter, hoping that would do something but didn't notice a change when we returned later.

INTERIOR HALLWAYS
I would say the worst part of the property are the interior hallways. They need to be better lit and cleaned thoroughly. There is a mixture of cleaning solvent and mold mixed into the air.

STAFF
The staff were very helpful. the housekeeping staff, the couple were great, and did a very thorough job each day. They also responded to our needs with pleasure. Special kudos to the operations manager who helped us with the kayaks, our luggage, beach towels, and everything else.

BREAKFAST
I read a lot of complaints about the breakfast service but I must say that after experiencing the hotel guests descend on the breakfast area like pigs to a trough, Its a wonder the hotel still offers it. the hotel offers hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, croissants, coffee, tea, orange, and apple juice. Staff work hard to continually refill things but the guests treat the space like crap and dont clean up after themselves. I really think the guests themselves need to do a better job of cleaning up by busing their own tables, and wiping down a counter if you've spilled milk or poured too much cereal. This is not camp. I thought the breakfast service was just perfect. Kudos to the Inn for continuing to provide it.

VALUE
Lastly, and the biggest issue I have is the cost. While I understand the need for Berkshire hotels to charge as much as they can for high season, it just seems outrageous to have to pay $400/night on the weekends in 2 star property. (2 stars in terms of the level of luxury, not in level of execution). The same room on a tuesday goes for $189. Anyway, we paid it and would have had to pay elsewhere anyway.

Would we stay there again? Maybe. We were very comfortable there. We liked the people, we liked the restaurant, and we liked our bed. We especially loved the lake. Can we deal with the idiosyncrasies? Yes we can. We will be back!

Room Tip: choose a Lake View room on the second floor. This is critical!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank motowninchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear motowninchapelhill,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We highly appreciate when our guests go out of their way to provide us with feedback like yours. It not only gives us an idea where we are excelling and falling short, but it gives our potential customers an insight into the property. Thank you for taking the time to be so thorough, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This Inn is located on Rt 20 about 10 minutes from Tanglewood. The rooms are compact but very nicely furnished. I would normally rate this a three dot hotel but I gave it a fourth one for the extra large towels, the cleanliness, and the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Wanderingel,

Thank you for choosing the Black Swan Inn for your recent lodging. It pleases me to see that you enjoyed your accommodations for your Tanglewood visit. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
0.3 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.0 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 435 Laurel St, Lee, MA 01238-9510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of beautiful Laurel Lake in the Berkshires, relaxation and luxury await you at the Black Swan Inn. Beautifully furnished guest rooms include all the conveniences you need such as refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee. Lakeside rooms have private balconies and some feature jetted tubs. Awake in the morning to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast while taking in a view of the lake. This lakeside hotel is convenient to all of the arts, culture, and outdoor activities the Berkshires have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Lee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing