We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Owner, or manager very friendly but the room needs some updating. It was clean enough but furniture was worn and outdated, WiFi didn't work and air conditioner didn't cool or dehumidify the room. Even though it was October, the weather was unusually warm and humid and there was no cross ventilation in room. A coffee maker would have been nice too.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back because there is a lot of road noise. Also an upstairs room with a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    36
    9
    13
See reviews for
37
41
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Price appeared to be a good value - but had to have wi-if due to business mtg-moved rooms twice & signal was so weak couldn't even get on-line - this in additional to cigarette burn marks everywhere - people drinking beer in lounge chairs in the parking lot and the nauseating smell of something awful cooking was too much - we packed up & moved to the clean & wi-fi enabled Super 8 at the same price -- avoid Americas Best Value Inn - there are better choices without the hassles & cleanliness issues.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lee hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for a Tanglewood concert, and looking around for an affordable place, we came across several reviews that suggested this place to be the cheapest and cleanest in Lee; so we decided to give it a try. We definitely weren't disappointed. From outside, this place looked like a small inn tucked in up on a small hill with lots of flowers around. Very charming looking with a great county side feel to it. The checking in staff was very helpful and knowledgeable, with a great suggestion on a restaurant for dinner and a local diner for breakfast. The rooms were basic hotel rooms, but they were very clean and with extremely comfortable beds. The wi-fi worked great. I'd say the only downside is the minimal breakfast; but we weren't there to eat, and wanted to try a local diner that the front desk suggested anyway, so it worked out great. I would definitely stay here again and would gladly recommend to anyone who wants affordable, clean, and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for even cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I booked for one night while traveling from MA to NY. Based on the reviews of others, I thought this would be a good enough motel for our needs. It was a huge disappointment that this motel gets good reviews. I had to go to the bathroom right when we arrived and discovered that there was no cover on the back of the toilet! It was disgusting! We were immediately moved to another room with only one queen (rather than 2 double as booked, but there was only the one with the open toilet back). The new room was unpleasant with mold growing on the walls. Since the bed was clean, it was late and I was traveling alone with a small child, I decided to stay, but I could not get out of there fast enough. Also, the cost for the room was way too high for what it was (we had to pay 115 dollars+tax because we booked it the same day, if we had had the room with 2 doubles, it would have been 125+tax. again, way too much for what it is.). I will add that the manager was very friendly, which is always appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2b2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here one night on a return trip from upstate New York. The Tanglewood area at this time of year is extremely difficult to find a place which allows a one night stay, and this motel does. It certainly is not a high end place - just very basic accommodations, reasonably priced, but it is clean, well run, and feels safe. The room had a fridge and microwave, and a continental breakfast was available. Again, very basic accommodations, but just fine.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bradybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in July, the busiest time for area, and this hotel was the only one we found that did not have a two night minimum. I was reluctant earlier when I read other reviews, but they were all bang on when they said that this hotel is clean, quiet, and quite comfortable. Best value for your money with new mattresses, ultra clean rooms, friendly and informative staff, and most of all, no bugs. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of, very hands on. I will definitely stay here again, and I recommend it anyone who wants a clean, friendly, and affordable place for a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Yes it is well located
Yes it is cheap
But
If your room is next to the lobby you will hear the door beep every time someone arrives no matter the time
The AC is noisy
The summer bettles were all over our room
It smells of mold.
I did not enjoy my stay there at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
2.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Lee
Rodeway Inn Lee
#8 of 9 in Lee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Lee/Berkshires/Outlet Area
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stock...
#1 of 1 in West Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 980 Pleasant St, Lee, MA 01238-9326 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Lee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Best Value Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing