We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice for the Price!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lee
new england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice for the Price!”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We found this hotel to be affordable, very clean and friendly staff. They did offer a free breakfast but we left early. Our beds were very comfortable. The location is very convenient to Stockbridge and surrounding towns. We would stay there again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbMainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    34
    36
    9
    13
See reviews for
37
41
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We reserved two rooms on Hotwire only to find, once they were paid for, that the rate was only for smoking rooms. The front desk, when we called to rectify, offered a $10/room/night upgrade to a non-smoking room. They failed to try and comprehend that we had been duped... While the room was clean, that is the most we can give to the hotel. When we got there, the room was very hot and steamy, and the air conditioner was not up to the task of cooling the room. On full throttle, we still slept under a bare and scratchy sheet. The towels reminded me of gym in high school (threadbare and itsy). The sign out front that advertised free wifi in gigantic letters was not met by accessible internet access. None of our three (2 mac, 1 pc) computers could crack its access requirements... AND there were numerous other hotels closer to Tanglewood, Lee, Lenox, etc. that would have been similar in cost and much higher in rankings! I did tell the manager that unless she could make some accommodation for the problems (non-smoking room surcharge, inefficient a/c, no wifi, etc), I would provide accurate feedback reviews. This did not faze her or move her to even make a verbal apology for any of the misrepresentation or inconveniences...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaleighlaysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lee hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The room was small, the Internet was off and on. Coffee and some Dunkin' Donuts (if you get there before they're gone). We got a good rate because of the "Value Club" membership. Restaurants are several miles away. This is a basic motel--don't expect much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

A group of 5 of us were in town for a funeral and we stayed here one night. It was clean, there were multiple brochures in the room in case you didn't know the area. My only complaint was the bathroom had a strong smell of cigarette smoke although it was a non smoking room. We just had to keep the door closed the whole time and it solved the problem.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodee929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Have traveled with friends for years to Tanglewood. Disappointed with our regular hotel (and its escalating prices) we decided to try something new. This is a basic motel, but the location, cleanliness, and price made it an excellent value. There were eight in our group, and no one was unhappy with the accommodations. (That in itself is a feat.)
Mini-fridge and microwaves and continental breakfast were all pluses.

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. If you are looking for an inexpensive, comfortable, clean place to stay while you explore the Berkshires, you won't be disappointed.

P.S. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthIMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Stayed at the Best Value Inn by default...all the nicer places were full and we needed to get some sleep. Room was only OK, clean but nothing special. Room had two small beds, one of which has a distinct lean to one side. There are much better choices in the area.

One positive note was finding the Red Lion Inn. Had a nice bar menu and live (and free) jazz.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

We got a late start leaving Rochester, NY on Friday evening headed for Lowell, MA. We decided to stop in Lee after driving for 4 hours (thruway construction slowed us down!). I had already done some research on motels in the area and knew that we would get the best price at the America's Best Value Inn and were only looking for a bed for a few hours - we arrived in our room at 1:58am. The room was clean, tidy and odor free. We had two double beds, with the exact same picture hanging over each of them (must have had a two for one deal - ha!), there was a refridgerator but we never opened it, there was an "in the wall" airconditioner which we did not need so we never turned it on, there was NO CLOSET, they have a rack hanging off one of the walls to put hanging clothes on and a suitcase butler to rest your bags on (again this was fine for us as we were only there a few hours). If I had to complain about something the negatives were 1) the wallpaper was damaged in spots 2) the sink in the bathroom appeared to be separating from the wall 3) the drain in tub was really slow and I ended up in water up to my ankles by the end of my shower - minor stuff for what we paid and the length of time we were there. Would I want to stay here a week, probably not, but for a quick pit stop this was fine - I'll take clean and odor free any day. They also had coffee and donuts in the office in the morning - we got down there about 9:30am and they were pretty picked over - so go early if you want a snack. Staff was friendly even at O'Dark Thirty when we were checking in.

  • Liked — Price & Location
  • Disliked — Slow Drain in the Bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
2.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Lee
Rodeway Inn Lee
#8 of 9 in Lee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Lee/Berkshires/Outlet Area
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stock...
#1 of 1 in West Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 980 Pleasant St, Lee, MA 01238-9326 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Lee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Best Value Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing