We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it. The room we stayed in was grand and cozy at the same time!”
Review of Chambery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chambery Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Found the Chambery Inn on-line and loved what a read. It lived up to all expectations. We arrived after 10:00 PM and was greeted (as we were told we would be) by a note and a key to our roo. Breakfast was included and was delivered in a basket at the exact times we requested it both days. Our room was beautiful with every detail attended to . The walls were easily 14" high but despite the grandness of the room it still felt cozy. It was a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank jcjdagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed at the Chamberry Inn for the first time about 11 years ago and were charmed by it. We decided to stay here again on the way home from a trip to Maine and were quite disappointed. When we first arrived we thought we were staying in a haunted house. The Gothic architecture along with years of accumulated grime combine to make it look rather spooky. While the staff is much better than during our first stay and were very friendly, helpful and seemed to genuinely care if we were enjoying our stay, the rooms are now showing their age and are in desperate need of an update. The bedspreads look like the exact same ones from a decade ago and are rather dingy looking. The furniture in the sitting area is dirty and is worn all the way through to the stuffing in spots, not what one would expect from a place that calls itself a luxury inn. The bathroom is very dated and the woodwork along the top of the wainscoting as well as the windowsills are extremely dusty but surprisingly, the ceiling fan blades and light sconces appear to be spotless. On the plus side the breakfast was outstanding. It was lovely to have it delivered to the room and to eat in front of the fireplace. The scones were fabulous and the granola was the best I've ever had. With some renovating this could again be a charming inn but I would not stay here again unless I heard that it had been overhauled.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatessquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This is our second time staying at the Chambery and we will be back again.
Everyone is so helpful, especially with places to see and great restaurants.
We love eating breakfast by the fireplace and the bed is so comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytimesNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Chambery numerous times over the past 10 years. We have always enjoyed ourselves, which is why we keep returning! We've stayed in most of their rooms by now, and each one is sweeter than the next. Breakfast at the door in a basket is so nice, especially in front of the fireplace (very romantic). We highly recommend the Chambery!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annejoyful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at Chambery last year for our anniversary and are looking forward to going back again this year. The room was large, yet cozy and very comfortable. Great location and quiet. Having breakfast delivered to the room was an extra special touch.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts but none with the unique architectural characteristics or romanticism of the Chambery Inn. It is like walking into the set of the play ' Up the Down Staircase'. ....seperate boy's and girl's staircases, incredibly high ceilings, original schoolrooms with blackboards running along the walls. Our room was huge, the blackboard had drawings and critiques from previous quests (some funny, some artistic, no profanity) and we even had a 'back door' that lead out to a balcony with a tiny cafe table and chairs. The canopy bed was luxurious and the whirpool bathtub a relaxing feature after our long day of sight-seeing. But it was the breakfast basket delivered to our door in the morning that really made us want to return. While we seek out B and B's for the morning chat with other quests, having a leisurely breakfst in bed was wonderful. We immediatly booked another stay for October. Looking forward to the fall foliage and another stay at the Chambery Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoolnurseJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Nice clean room, tastefully well decorated, charming breakfast in a basket in the morning. A perfect little quiet getaway for anyone or two people needing a little retreat from life.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northboroframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
1.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,053 reviews
1.3 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.0 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
6.6 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambery Inn

Address: 199 Main St, Lee, MA 01238-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range: £94 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chambery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambery Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing