We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun activity for the kids”
Review of AniMagic

AniMagic
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum of Animation, Special Effects and Art. Animation and Special Effects for movies - - 2001 Space Odyssey - Chicken Run - The Matrix - X-Men - Lord of the Rings - Predator - Wallace and Gromit - Zelig made by Berkshire People. Come to see how this movies are made. See Academy Award. Make your own Animation movie in one hour. Admission by donation. Workshop $20 pp.Ages 5-95.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fun activity for the kids”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

what a wonderful and surprising this little place is!
The kids got to make their on animated short movie.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“doesn't live up to website descriptons”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were led to expect a 20 minute tour of the storefront museum and a two hour workshop during which "Academy Award winning animators and special effects engineers will teach you how to make your own animated movies". In fact our entire visit was over in slightly under two hours. The group at our workshop comprised 4 kids and 1 adult as participants and 3 adults as observers. Perhaps if the group had been smaller participants would have had more say in their projects. As it was we were each given clay and very specific directions (and assistance) in making a humanoid figure. In turn, each figure was placed before a backdrop (about the size of a place mat) and manipulated (in one of two suggested ways) and photographed. Our instructor then edited our shots on an old Mac, but I have no idea what the software was. He had our figures repeat their motions in a loop, added music (Vivaldi's Four Seasons for each of us) and applause. Everyone in my family agreed that this wasn't the learning experience we had expected, but it was fun. Our very computer savvy 13 year old wasn't impressed but enjoyed himself I think.

I'm under the impression that actual classes, or series of them are available but I can't swear to it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemNorthofBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun and educational, especially if you like animation and special effects”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

It was a rainy day in December, so we decided to visit this little museum in downtown Lee. We had to call in advance to make an appointment for a tour and animation workshop. The founder of the museum met us at the door just as we pulled up outside. The place is just a small storefront and at first we weren't sure about how good it would be, but turned out to be really interesting. We especially appreciated how fun and educational it was. We learned a lot about how movies and TV shows are made. This place is clearly a labor of love by the founders who lead all the tours and workshops themselves.

They have some really interesting exhibits -- including real claymation figures from commercials/movies and a real Academy Award. We did the introductory animation workshop, which included making our own clay figures, shooting a movie using them, editing the movie, and adding music and titles. For someone who had never made an animated movie before, it was really fun and my daughter absolutely loved it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TNiceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family attraction if you are in the Berkshires”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you are travelling to the Berkshires and have kids, I think you should add Animagic to your list of things to do. The place is run by a nice Russian man who previously worked in the special effects industry and actually won an Academy Award for his work on the Predator movie (Arnold Schwarzenegger) from some years ago.

But it's really about having fun with the kids. They get to learn some interesting things, and then they get to make their own short claymation movie. Whole thing lasts about 90 minutes or less, but its interactive, not just them sitting there. For our family it was a nice break from a bitterly cold winter day. I imagine in the summer it would be a nice indoor activity to get away from the heat.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AniMagic also viewed

 

Been to AniMagic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing