We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch place”
Review of Housatonic Cafe - CLOSED

Housatonic Cafe
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: Soups
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice lunch place”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I wanted to stop at a decent lunch place in a town rather than have fast food at a rest stop on the highway. My husband appreciated that this cafe was near the I-90 (Massachusetts Turnpike) exit for Lee, as he didn't want to spend too much time driving to find a restaurant. The Boar's Head deli sandwiches were good, the clam chowder tasty, & the owner was very friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great deli sandwiches!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My family & I were driving out to Michigan & back. Very picky eaters, 2 vegetarians. Everyone enjoyed their food at this stop- enough that Dad asked me to find the place again on our next cross country trip 2 yrs later.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HLM_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Good food, great chowder. A nice little spot close to the outlets. A but pricey for sandwich and soup $17 and the service is VERY slow, nice and pleasant but slow. Not a quick stop.

Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The reviews are on target”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I almost never submit a review when it is similar to others but I thought this to be an exception. The key question is, are you in a hurry? We were not, meeting family for lunch and chat. The food was excellent. The variety was superb and the wait was LONG. So if you have time I highly recommend it, if you want a quick bite to eat, stay away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches if you've got the time”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent the afternoon shopping at the outlets nearby and needed lunch. Sandwiches were very good with a generous amount of meat on each, but 3 sandwiches took almost 40 min! If you're really hungry or in a hurry, don't bother. The place was non-stop busy even after 2:00 on a Saturday afternoon, and shortly after we ordered, the counter person started telling people that it was a 45 minute wait. Have a bag of chips as an appetizer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Housatonic Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing