We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun! What kitsch! Great food”

Starving Artist Cafe and Creperie
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Starving Artist serves freshly-made sweet and savory crepes, panini sandwiches, soups, salads and baked goods, fair-trade and organic pour-over and drip coffee, organic teas, fresh juices and smoothies and other gourmet foods using quality local and organic ingredients.All of our food is made fresh to order. The menu changes seasonally. Enjoy the free wifi internet, artwork, and comfy couch seating!
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What fun! What kitsch! Great food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A very cool and hip restaurant -- especially great for brunch. Terrific offerings (even for vegetarians and vegans -- and omnivores). Lots of local artists show their works and the staff works hard to make great food. Very reasonably priced (save for the orange juice which was advertised as "fresh squeezed" and I saw them pour from a store bought bottle). Aside from that, we loved our food and the scene.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    72
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good smoothies”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Enjoyed a breakfast meal of smoothies and muffins at Starving Artist on a trip to Lee, Mass., in July 2014. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Cool Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Cool concept --- casual food in a casual art gallery (photo) with a portion of the proceeds going to kids with autism.

Looking for a break from five days of the same old continental breakfast at our hotel, we headed for the Starving Artist because we read about their crepes. And they did not disappoint. I had a breakfast crepe with eggs and cheese that was excellent. However, when I saw the crepes coming out accompanied by a plain green salad (in the morning with eggs? ), I asked for something else and was given sliced apples (photo). My wife had a nice bowl of fresh fruit.

Surprisingly, the coffee was served just barely warm. It was not particularly robust either.

We enjoyed wandering around the gallery viewing art on the walls. As I said, cool place!

Helpful?
2 Thank TeamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food with Woodstock, hippie like atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This restaurant is casual; you order at the counter. Their wooden tables are mostly bare, & they have paper napkins. You get your water out of a dispenser with a spout; the water glasses look like small jelly jars. There's a large side room that serves as an art gallery with pictures on the wall. Their specialty is organic sweet & savory crepes, offering vegan & gluten free ones as well. They have sandwiches, salads, soup, etc. & have selections for vegan & vegetarian folks as well. I ordinarily would choose the specialty of the house. As I'd had pancakes for breakfast though, I decided on a panini on flaxseed bread, which was delicious, for lunch. My husband loved their flaxseed bread, said he'd give the place 4 & 1/2 stars, & would like to go back the next time we're in Lee. My sandwich was tasty but was served alone on the plate (i.e, no side, no pickle, etc.). I went back to the counter to buy some plain potato chips. They only had more unusual varieties though, & I wasn't in the mood for that. Their Sun. brunch has live music from 11 am to 2 pm. Also, FYI, they only serve breakfast until 11:30 am.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Casual restaurant with light fare”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The lunch salads and soup were excellent. They had a special Sunday brunch menu but willingly served us a salad on the regular menu. The restaurant is in the middle of a very attractive shopping street in a typical picturesque town. We stopped here on the way to The Mount in Lenox - a short drive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starving Artist Cafe and Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Starving Artist Cafe and Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing