We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "C" in Lee...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A "C" in Lee...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Berkshires offer both the high end B&B's and the motels with little or no amenities. Well, the Sunset Motel is one of those motels. It is in a good location since it's on the outskirts of the more touristy (and expensive) areas such as Stockbridge, Lenox and Great Barrington but....the minute you walk in the room, you are overtaken by the airfreshner that is unsuccessfully trying to mask the cigarette odor which was also permeating from the bedspread (making sleeping a challenge). The two lights over the bed didn't work and you'll be lucky to get more than a few warm drops out of the shower. It is visibly clean...the air conditioner was a life saver but it was difficult to get past the "no tell motel" feel and smell.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojosmojo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

If you want to be in the Berkshires on a budget, you can't beat this place. One of the lowest price motels around, if not the lowest, it was clean, well kept and the owners/staff are very nice, Our room even had a fridge and microwave, which I was not expecting.

To be clear, the room and bathroom were pretty small, and the bed was fine, but not great.. But I cannot subtract even one star for these things because if you expect more at this price, you are always going to be disappointed. The B&Bs in this area charge 3 - 4 times the price for a room, and many of them don't have great beds either.

The only reason I might look somewhere else is if I wanted a romantic getaway weekend with my wife, since that's about the only need this place would not fit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carnocycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had to stop our travels because of the terrible driving conditions. We made a Choice reservation about a mile from the Quality Inn. A half mile from the hotel we along with several other motorists were turned away from going up a hill on a main road because every car was slipping back down.

We then found the Sunset Motel and realized all our expectations are relative to what is happening in your life! The rooms were clean, the owners kept shoveling and plowing, we were warm and safe.

And the Quality Inn was gracious to let us cancel our rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MESClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

A clean, well-managed, wholesome place to spend the night. Nothing fancy, but everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

This motel wasn't fancy but definately worth what we paid. The manager was very friendly and helpful and everything in the room was perfectly clean (the most important thing when looking for a hotel). We would return to the hotel any time we pass through Lee and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

The Sunset Motel is a wonderful discount-priced motel in the Berkshires. Rooms have a small fridge and a microwave, as well as wi-fi. Very comfortable and extremely clean. I cannot sing the praises of their staff enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AriesBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
1.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 9 in Lee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Lee
Rodeway Inn Lee
#8 of 9 in Lee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Lee/Berkshires/Outlet Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 150 Housatonic St, Lee, MA 01238-1328
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunset Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing