We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape”
Review of Devonfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Lee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a beautiful escape from the rigors of the big city. A well appointed, historic building with spotlessly clean bedrooms and public areas, a welcoming drinks tray, comfortable relaxing lounges, and a very inviting swimming pool in the garden.

Breakfast was casually served with fresh fruit, freshly baked goods, a hot dish selection, cereals, gramola and some of the best yogurt I've ever had. All locally sourced ingredients, packed with flavor and a great start to your day exploring the surrounding areas. Kim, the housekeeper was very friendly.

The owner Bruce is very knowledgeable on activities and gave us some great cycle routes, both on and off the road. He and his wife were available, while not being over bearing, even rescuing us remotely when we locked our keys in the room.

Rooms are air conditoned, albeit a little noisy, it's certainly effective. The bed was so comfortable and the linens were crisp and welcoming. The bathrooms were relatively modern, with a good shower, but the hair dryer will challenge people with long hair.

Room sizes vary, so be sure to check the website before selecting your room.

There's tea and coffee facilities in the dining room, available 24 hours, but none in the rooms. Picnic baskets are available, as are towels for the pool. However, there's no bathroom at the pool, you will need to go back through the main lounge to find a public bathroom.

There seemed to be a lot of repeat visitors and we plan to also return next time we visit Lee.

At $300 a night over the holiday weekend, it was a little higher than similar properties in the area, but having stayed we think it was worth the premium.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the gardens are there is some minimal road noise, although it won't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShivvieAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    20
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
38
204
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This Inn is one of the most beatiful buildings that we have ever stayed in - indeed it has the feel of a small mansion rather than an Inn. We were upgraded to an outstanding suite on arrival - Bruce made absolutely sure everything was tip top before allowing us to drop our bags! The facilities were quite outstanding - breakfast was great, the pool good, grounds spectacularl and the decor quite simply gorgeous! Bruce and Ronnie were very helpful and attentive - recommendations for activites and restaurants were accurate - we would not have gone to the Rockwell Museum unless Bruce had flagged it up - what a great place! The town Lee, though small, is within walking distance and worth and stroll round. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_n_Alwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just back from our first stay at Devonfield Inn and all that previous reviewers have said is true and more. One of the reasons we found it so special was the abundance of "public spaces" a gracious living room, a cozy TV room, a wonderful porch, a beautiful pool area and a spacious dining area. The access to the pantry made it possible to make a cup of tea in the late afternoon and just relax in one of these welcoming spots. The availability of cordials provide a chance to sit and relax after coming in from dinner. All these spots were charming and welcoming. The hosts have thought of everything to make their guests feel like house guests at a special country home rather than simply paying customers. . We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mofess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It's quite hard to put into words our experience at the Devonfield. From the moment we first got there we were astonished by the beauty of the Inn and the land, It's simply breathtaking. We were greeted at the door upon arrival by Ronnie, who then followed to give us a tour of the room. Everything is very stylish, you would think that you are in England! We had reserved the penthouse, but they upgraded us to the Cottage for free! Its was incredibly spacious, with a full kitchen, Jacuzzi, king bed. Everything you would want on a honeymoon getaway! We are a very urban couple, we never really have much time to get out of Boston and do things because of work, but how glad we were to be able to go to the Devonfield and stay away from all the buzz and fuzz of the city. Ronnie and Bruce were always around ready to help with anything and provide options of attractions around the city. We were there for 7 days, and it just kept getting better. The breakfast is delicious! We really look forward to going back to the Devonfield soon! Maybe even this winter!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Beautiful. Clean. Accomodating. Great location. Excellent breakfasts, with convenient pantry for guest use. Sitting rooms. Screened in porch. Did I mention the heated pool? Our 3rd visit, & it won't be our last......Our only complaint- bed was a little hard.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucesinger, Owner at Devonfield Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for you review and feedback AND for staying with us three times. However, as you know we do not know who actually wrote this review; therefore it is impossible for us to address your concern: "The bed was to hard". Please let us know what room you were in so we can evaluate the situation. Feedback from our guests makes it possible for us to continue to make our visitor's experience a special one. Not all of our beds are the same; and of course not all guests like the beds the same way. Some prefer firm to soft and therefore select different rooms if this is an important part of their stay. Hopefully we can "fine tune" your future stays. Again, thank you for your support and feedback.
Bruce Singer, Keeper of the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Devonfield Inn over Presidents' Day weekend and had an amazing time. Bruce was very helpful and offered great restaurant (Morgan House Inn and Alpamayo) and skiing (Jiminy Peak) recommendations. Breakfast was good and plentiful. I liked having access to the pantry for cookies, wine glasses and a corkscrew. The inn was really beautiful and we loved our room and the fireplace. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I was looking for a getaway, and knew that I wanted to stay at a B&B, so I began surfing the net (actually, it was Groupon). I came across the Devonfield Inn, and called to ask questions, with the hope of making reservations. When I called, I spoke to Bruce, and he had such an inviting voice and wonderful mannerisms, that I immediately began making reservations. When we got there, we were both in awe! The Inn was such a beautiful sight (and it was huge...smile). When we got inside, it had "home" written all over it! It was comfortable, inviting, and it looked lived in (which I loved the most). You don't want to go to a place where you feel that you have to step on egg shells, and not get comfortable, and they were the total opposite. The landscape and the view was gorgeous, and there was a great deal of privacy. The rooms were nice, and very comfortable. Everyone was very hospitable, and the food was wonderful. I will definitely go back, as well as recommend. Thanks for a wonderful experience Bruce, Ronnie, and Kim. L&M

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpierce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
1.4 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
142 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
502 reviews
1.9 mi away
Federal House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonfield Inn

Property: Devonfield Inn
Address: 85 Stockbridge Rd, Lee, MA 01238-9308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, yet a world apart, Devonfield Inn is set on 32 acre pastoral meadow shaded by graceful birch trees, with rolling tapestry of Berkshire Hills beyond. This 200 year old historic estate home has been graciously updated and is filled with fine antiques. It is sophisticated, yet comfortable and inviting. 10 beautifully appointed luxury rooms and suites * Central A/C * Jacuzzis * Fireplaces * Heated pool * Tennis * Exercise room * Bountiful breakfast * Gracious hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Devonfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonfield Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing