We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful!”
Review of Devonfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devonfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Lee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aweful!”
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We planned a bridal shower at this inn and invited people from all over New England. When we arrived for the inn on the morning of the shower they charged us more then double what we had been quoted. The owners were very unfriendly and many of the guests of the shower commented on the coldness of the staff.
Overall it was an extremely unpleasent experience.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PsmomMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucesinger, Owner at Devonfield Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
As they say, no good deed goes unpunished. This complaint is not even travel related. As a favor to a former employee, we allowed our B & B to be used for an afternoon local bridal shower. Three different people came by at different times to approve of the site. They wanted to cater in for 40-50 women. We quoted them a very reasonable rate of
$400 minimum or $10 per head with a $200 deposit. This covered the exclusive use of the House from Noon to 3:30 (guest check in time); candles, wood burning fireplaces, dishes, clean up, extra help, linens, heated up porch, coffee; tea etc.They ended up being 34 people; added a wine tasting and extended their stay from 11-5:30 pm.
When we asked them for the balance ($200) they said the negotiated price was only $200 (the deposit) which comes to $5.88 per person which does not even cover our costs. In the meantime the bride to be and the guests raved about how wonderful everything was and how accommodating we were. I guess the person responsible for paying wasn't as happy. She never argued the point with us and instead wrote this negative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    20
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
203
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Penthouse Suite which was spacious, clean and incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was good. A beautiful old house which has been very well renovated. The location is just a short distance off the Mass Pike and gives good access to Berkshire attractions such as Jacobs Pillow. There is an excellent French Bistro a short drive away in the center of Lee.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Icy driveway
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

The Devonfield Inn is absolutely wonderful!! The Inn is situated on a picturesque setting. Ronnie and Bruce are very friendly and so accommodating. They go above and beyond for their guests. The house has a very warm feeling. The decor in the home is lovely. We were very happy with our room. The view was spectacular! The fireplace made it nice and cozy. Breakfast is so delicious!! There are bird feeders situated right out the dining room window. It's nice to see the different types of birds while you are having breakfast. The cookies are delicious! Bruce recommended some fabulous restaurants for dinner. We stayed for two days. The restaurants were amazing. There is so much to do and see. I'm looking forward to visiting again and by no means, would stay anywhere but the Devonfield Inn. If you book this Inn, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank vsnascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucesinger, Owner at Devonfield Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2007
Wow! Ronnie & I just read your review and were blown away by your comments. We are so very pleased that you had such a wonderful experience . Your enthusiatsic endorsement of Devonfield validates our reason for being Innkeepers. Thank you for you vote of confidence.
Ronnie & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Just a brief message to say how much we enjoyed the wonderful 3 nights we spent at Devonfield last month. During our 3 week holiday in New England we experienced a variety of accommodation, ranging from an extremely plush, modern hotel in Boston to a couple of one-night stops in fairly basic motels, and we thoroughly enjoyed every single one. A fantastic holiday!

However, no great surprise, it was our all too brief stay at Devonfield that really captured our imagination and turned out to be THE highlight of the trip! We have not stopped talking about it from the minute we left . All our friends and family think we are crazy. Out of 3 weeks holiday, all we keep talking about is “DEVONFIELD”, the Berkshires and the wonderful hospitality we experienced.

Thank you so much Ronnie and Bruce, and to Kim and the other staff, all of whom made us feel so very welcome. Thanks also to the other guests that we shared time with at Devonfield . We met folk from all over the USA, Australia, Ireland and yes even a few from the UK. They were all extremely friendly and helpfull and added considerably to the overall experience that for us was "New England 2007".

Anyway we’re back home now, the laundry is almost up to date, and the holiday memories and photos are all we have, and these will have to keep us going for the foreseeable future, but we do hope that one day we might return.

"Devonfield" was that kind of experience, one brief stay was never going to be enough!

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, location, breakfast, excellent hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SandJ_SwanleyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

I had the pleasure to find one of the most beautiful, quaint, well run Inns I have ever stayed at. I speak of Devonfield Inn, 85 Stockbridge Road, Lee, MA.
From the moment we drove up to the front door, we were greeted by the owners, Ronnie and Bruce Singer and welcomed with the aroma of freshly baked cookies.
We were shown to a room on the second floor, magnificently decorated with a beautiful fireplace. The room was immaculate, it looked out over acres of beautiful green space and forest. In walking around the property it was something out of a book. The pool was beautiful. The breakfast was sumptuous, delicious, and the surrounding areas of Lee were spectacular. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and recommend Devonfield to our friends and families and we look forward to this year.
Michael Aller
(305) 864-4847
5700 Collins Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33140

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Welse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Devonfield. Innkeepers Ronnie & Bruce run a charming and beautiful B&B; we highly recommend a stay at the Devonfield.

Howard & Alese Goldman
New York, NY

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank howardsloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

We had a great 3 night stay at the Devonfield Inn.The room had everything we needed,space was adequate,location excellent.The breakfasts were excellent,a hot entree was offered each day plus fruit etc.Our stay was topped off by a wine & cheese party given by our hosts Ronnie & Bruce Singer,who couldn't have been more helpful.This was our fourth visit to the Berkshires & our stay at the Devonfield was our best.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank revamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
1.4 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
142 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
502 reviews
1.9 mi away
Federal House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonfield Inn

Property: Devonfield Inn
Address: 85 Stockbridge Rd, Lee, MA 01238-9308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, yet a world apart, Devonfield Inn is set on 32 acre pastoral meadow shaded by graceful birch trees, with rolling tapestry of Berkshire Hills beyond. This 200 year old historic estate home has been graciously updated and is filled with fine antiques. It is sophisticated, yet comfortable and inviting. 10 beautifully appointed luxury rooms and suites * Central A/C * Jacuzzis * Fireplaces * Heated pool * Tennis * Exercise room * Bountiful breakfast * Gracious hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Devonfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonfield Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing