We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week was not enough - this house and location...”

Review of Lake House

Sunset on Laurel Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset on Laurel Lake
Outdoor patio Slide and changing shed in rear.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Sunset on Laurel Lake
Outdoor patio
Slide and changing shed in rear.
View of patio and lake from the Great Room
View from Top Deck
Top floor suite!
Bedroom on 3rd level.
Bedroom on 3rd Level.
Den/Bedroom
Bedroom on Entrance Level
Bedroom and Juliet Balcony.
View from Master Bedroom
Great Room - lower level
kitchen
Great room & kitchen view
Great room & dining area
View of Lake
Lake House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lee, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jamie L
1 review
“One week was not enough - this house and location is perfect!”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I traveled to the Berkshires from Boston and stayed in this gorgeous lake house. We had booked vacation rentals in the past and had a whole range of experiences from too bad to even talk about to pretty nice. This experience was top-notch. Not only were we greeted by lovely and personable homeowners, but they left us a bottle of wine, food in the house, and even treats for our children! They really went above and beyond.

Now when we first pulled up to the house, my initial thought was that it was close to the main road. Then I realized the second you step into the house, you can't hear the traffic. At all. If you look on a map and see this house DO NOT let its proximity to the road steer you away. The house itself is actually off a small private road off of the main road, where our children could go for walks. When you are sitting at the lake, which is actually down a level from when you first walk in, you can't hear the road either. In fact, we realized this was a huge positive because we were so close to all the sites the Berkshires had to offer. Being on route 20 was extremely convenient: close to the MA pike, so closer to home. While here, we were able to visit the Berkshire Carousel, Ioka Farms, Tanglewood, the Red Lion Inn, Hancock Shaker Village, the Berkshire Museum, and go hiking, swimming, and paddling. One week was not enough - wish we had booked for a full month and are strongly considering doing so next year.

Each room in the house is special and beautifully decorated. It looked like a magazine! Very unique layout. You can be loud on the lowest level near the lake and host a group of people while anyone upstairs can sleep soundly. I loved how we each essentially had our own floor. The cutest thing was that they even had little chairs out for our small children. The details really made this trip. Beautiful views, beautiful lake, beautiful home, and a beautiful experience overall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, location, gorgeous house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
We couldn't have been happier that you loved our house. We try our best to please, and it really makes us feel good when people have a positive experience. You have such a lovely family and you were able to squeeze so much in in such a short time. We would love to have you back next year and for a longer stay is great. Thank you for being happy and positive tenants!
Marge & Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory G
Robbinsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Care free, relaxing and beautiful!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the Lake House on beautiful Laurel Lake with my family of 5 (two daughters, son, and my wife). We had an awesome time. The owners Marjorie and Frank were wonderful and met us at the home for a tour and set-up as we arrived. They had everything set up for us and all their amenities were top notch, from beds and linens to soaps and household supplies! We spent the next week in bliss on our own (it seemed) lake with swimming deck, pontoon boat, kayak, canoes, water slide and hot tub. With this set up we did not have to leave the main floor (kitchen/den) which was awesome because the kitchen was great for any cook and so comfortable and stylish. The rest of the house was more of the same, great comfortable beds in well appointed bedrooms, and clean fresh bathrooms for each bedroom (no sharing!). The house had places for everyone to find privacy (the second floor study was my favorite) and yet the main floor and patio deck was the best spot for family togetherness (the rooftop deck was also cool for 2nd sunsets!). We had a great time. The house was close to Tanglewood, Lenox and Lee plus we were only a 5 minute ride to Stockbridge as well. We would gladly rent from Marjorie and Frank again and would recommend the Lake House for any family that wants to have a great time in an awesome house in the Berkshires. Thanks Marjorie and Frank for a great vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: On the Lake with boat
Liked least: All was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you, Greg for taking the time, again, for such an awesome review. We appreciate it and both feel you were wonderful tenants and would love to have you stay with us again. We are glad you found everything so conveniently located off Rte. 20. You can choose to be isolated in the woods or "where the action is", and the lake house was the right fit for you, near Lenox, Lee, and Stockbridge. Hope to see all of you again, next time.
Margie & Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie...
Gulfport, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nirvana”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Lake House was paradise. It is situated right in The Berkshires on Rte. 20 with easy access to everything. We golfed, canoed, played tennis, swam, hiked, went to museums, shopped, and spent time at a nearby spa. We even enjoyed the serenity of Laurel Lake. Lenox, Gt. Barrington, Pittsfield, Becket, and Stockbridge are so close. One of our family members went to Kripalu and another to Jacob's Pillow. The house had EVErYTHING! It was well stocked and exceptionally clean. The kids loved the boats and hot tub and I enjoyed the sauna and fire pit at night, sipping my red wine. The best part is ever room has its own private bath and all have lake views. We give it an excellent rating and are surely returning this summer. The owners even bought us food, wine, and flowers to welcome us. What a deal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the gorgeous home.
Liked least: We had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy you had a great time and that the kids loved the boats, and I bet, the water slide, also. The lake is so conducive to kayaking and swimming. The house was designed for privacy with all its bathrooms. Frank even put in an outdoor cold water shower to rinse after swimming! The best part is our location near all Berkshire attractions. Some people, like your group, really took advantage of everything. Some come for the plays, museums, and galleries, and others visit for the nature and beauty around us. Your group enjoyed both! Glad you will return! We would love to have you again! Margie & Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thamber
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better than advertised”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 8 friends who have vacationed together annually. This was by far the best appointed house we have rented in 30 years. The owners, Margie and Frank were available,
helpful and pleasant.

The house is located right on the lake and very convenient to numerous nearby restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Even its proximity to the main road turned out to be no impediment to our enjoyment. Everyone in the group agreed the this was "the best" and would gladly return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope you return. The Lake House is so close to everything the Berkshires have to offer. The tomato garden adds to the flavor of the place (forgive the pun). By next summer, the lake, boats, and hot tub await you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing