We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience.”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
“A wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Gatesway Inn in Lenox, MA. was an asolute delight. It's host (Eidan) and hostess (Michelle) were so accomodating. The room was cozy and welcoming. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The dinner was similarly wonderful. The nightly informal entertainment ranged from a jazz trio to a vocalist and it was, over either some desert or a drink, the perfect way to end the day. The staff was caring and the owners (Eiden and Michelle) worked long and hard (though they seemed to love what they were doing!) to meet our every need. Without equivocation we whould endorse The Gatesway Inn, Lenox, MA.
Sheldon and Fern H

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
210
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous inn for 3 nights in July! The innkeepers treat you like family and are always around for anything you may need. ( which is usually nothing!). The location in Lenox is a very short walk to all the shops and restaurants. ( after you've tried the inn restaurant of course). The rooms were spacious and air conditioned. The daily homemade breakfast was absolutely delish and so filling we never needed to eat lunch. It is the only inn around that has a lively atmosphere with live music every night in the piano bar.

Room Tip: Full restaurant and bar with over 200 whiskeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a few days in June, The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in at a B & B. It was clean & bright too. The innkeeper, Michelle, was great she treated us to lovely hospitality. Her hand prepared breakfasts were delicious. The location is very convenient; you are within walking distance of many fine resturants and bars. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Gateways Inn and were overall quite pleased. Our room was spotless and Michele and Eiran were gracious hosts. The inn was charming albeit a bit eclectic in common area furnishings, which was not at all a big deal for us. Our actual room was beautiful and the bathroom was recently renovated and quite nice as well. The bar area was fun and our drinks were delicious. It's also a fantastic location that allowed us to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go.

We would definitely return though feel we should mention just two very minor potential "cons" to those who have not been before. One, the live music does stop promptly at 11, but if you tend to go to bed before 11 you may find it too noisy (we do not so quite enjoyed the music!:)). Second, the breakfast, while quite good, was a surprise to us in that it was a small buffet with one hot entree. However there was always a nice selection of fruit, cheese, granola, and breads, in addition to the hot entree.

Overall a great value with a lot of upside and very little downside!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely Inn over the July 4th holiday, taking in the Jackson Browne show at Tanglewood. We’ve stayed elsewhere previously, but decided on Gateways this time based on the excellent reviews and proximity to Church Street. We were not sorry. Traffic delayed our arrival a bit, but our call to explain our predicament was greeted with a "no problem”. Check-in was smooth, and we were given a wonderful tour of the common areas – lounge, dining room, bar, etc. A duo was playing in the piano bar at the time of our arrival and we felt immediately welcome.

The Juliet room was spacious, with a comfortable king bed and soft, fluffy pillows. A closet and dresser provided ample storage. An in-room Keurig machine was available for coffee or tea, and a mini-fridge held bottles of water and chocolates upon our arrival. The shower was roomy and comfortable, as was the sink area.

At breakfast on the Fourth, we were greeted by one of the innkeepers, Michele, who welcomed us and showed us to our table. Breakfast was delicious and the coffee was out of this world. There was a selection of fresh fruits and exotic cheeses that made this breakfast unforgettable, as well as amazing blintzes - garnished with blueberries and raspberries for the Fourth – very patriotic! The dining room is conducive to privacy or conversation as you and your guests choose. Although we didn’t have the time to have other meals there, they do serve dinner, and the piano bar has a late night menu as well.

As mentioned, the Inn is just half a block from Church Street and a couple of miles from Tanglewood. We stayed only two nights this trip, but will definitely return for a longer stay sometime in the future. If you choose to stay at this Inn (and I believe you should), you will enjoy meeting and talking to Eiran and Michele! The hospitality, food and rooms are 5-star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had a wonderful July 4th weekend at Gateways Inn. The innkeepers were so welcoming, we felt like we were visiting home. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the fabulous home cooked breakfast that came with the room. There was fresh fruit daily along with a delicious hot dish each morning, Michelle Wendy out of her way to accommodate food allergies. The inn is conveniently located close to Tanglewood and walking distance to the shops and restaurants in town. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner at the inn and the live music in the piano bar each night. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were very pleased with the room, service, and food served at the Inn. The innkeeper could not have been more helpful and breakfast both days was superb. They make their own granola which is fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing