We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay in Lenox. Close to shops and places to eat and the staff are great. Michelle's breakfasts are not to be missed. Tanglewood is about a mile and a half walk. One thing to know though - they have live music on weekends (or at least when we were there) so if you are an early to bed person, ask for a room farther from lounge area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcprice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    32
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
222
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Right at downtown Lenox, very easy access to anything in the Berkshires.

Spent the weekend with wife and teenage daughter. Daughters first time at a B&B and this was a great introduction. I hope she doesn't expect that kind of accommodation on other trips as you get what you pay for. This is not a quick stop on the highway. Stay here to really enjoy the Berkshires of the Gilded Era.

A true family business, the Innkeepers and their sons along with the rest of the staff made us feel at home. They made recommendations and reserved our tickets for a local show. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of fruit, cheeses, the most delicious homemade granola I have ever had. Only one main course offered, not made-to-order, but I never asked. They were so accommodating, I wouldn't be surprised if they help out with a special request.

Restaurant for dinner was good "fine dining". Sea Bass was very tasty. I can't say how it stacks up since I'm not exactly a food connoisseur.

Highly recommended for a couple to take in Lenox and the culture of the Berkshires.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peuclid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in this well located and architecturally significant Inn right in Lenox and a 30 minute walk from Tanglewood. We stayed in the beautiful Miranda Suite which is at the front of the Inn with a view of the street and which had a large living room area, a well-sized bedroom that easily accommodated the king size bed, a bathroom and separate make up area. The common areas (lounge, bar, dining room, and breakfast room) were all well furnished and offered great locations for relaxation and dining. For an Inn of this size (12 rooms) there were a surprising number of activities including nightly live entertainment in the lounge and a lecture by Martin Bookspan (announcer on the PBS series Live from Lincoln Center for many years).
The hosts, Michele and Eiran, take great pride in the Inn, and did everything possible to accommodate to all of our needs. We have previously stayed elsewhere in the Berkshires (Blantyre, Cranwell) and believe that the Gateways Inn provides the overall best experience.

Room Tip: Miranda Suite was spacious and beautifully furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Gatesway Inn in Lenox, MA. was an asolute delight. It's host (Eidan) and hostess (Michelle) were so accomodating. The room was cozy and welcoming. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The dinner was similarly wonderful. The nightly informal entertainment ranged from a jazz trio to a vocalist and it was, over either some desert or a drink, the perfect way to end the day. The staff was caring and the owners (Eiden and Michelle) worked long and hard (though they seemed to love what they were doing!) to meet our every need. Without equivocation we whould endorse The Gatesway Inn, Lenox, MA.
Sheldon and Fern H

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous inn for 3 nights in July! The innkeepers treat you like family and are always around for anything you may need. ( which is usually nothing!). The location in Lenox is a very short walk to all the shops and restaurants. ( after you've tried the inn restaurant of course). The rooms were spacious and air conditioned. The daily homemade breakfast was absolutely delish and so filling we never needed to eat lunch. It is the only inn around that has a lively atmosphere with live music every night in the piano bar.

Room Tip: Full restaurant and bar with over 200 whiskeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a few days in June, The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in at a B & B. It was clean & bright too. The innkeeper, Michelle, was great she treated us to lovely hospitality. Her hand prepared breakfasts were delicious. The location is very convenient; you are within walking distance of many fine resturants and bars. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Gateways Inn and were overall quite pleased. Our room was spotless and Michele and Eiran were gracious hosts. The inn was charming albeit a bit eclectic in common area furnishings, which was not at all a big deal for us. Our actual room was beautiful and the bathroom was recently renovated and quite nice as well. The bar area was fun and our drinks were delicious. It's also a fantastic location that allowed us to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go.

We would definitely return though feel we should mention just two very minor potential "cons" to those who have not been before. One, the live music does stop promptly at 11, but if you tend to go to bed before 11 you may find it too noisy (we do not so quite enjoyed the music!:)). Second, the breakfast, while quite good, was a surprise to us in that it was a small buffet with one hot entree. However there was always a nice selection of fruit, cheese, granola, and breads, in addition to the hot entree.

Overall a great value with a lot of upside and very little downside!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,017 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing