We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally--the only place to stay in Lenox”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lunenburg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Finally--the only place to stay in Lenox”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend stay, accompanied by friends, in this lovely inn. The "Gilded Age summer home" is beautiful and the food excellent, but the major asset is the hosts. They are genuinely warm, and there was no snobbery or sense of B&B-type regimentation, but with all the positive intimacy of a B&B.

Breakfasts and dinners are excellent, with a hot dish at breakfast, as well as fruits, cheeses, juice; several fish dishes on the weekend. Terrific steak at dinner.

We will now make this our default location in Lenox on our yearly trips, and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    32
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
222
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We love the Gateways Inn.It is a spacious, clean, comfortable place to stay in Lenox. You can walk to the Shakespeare and Company play houses and it is 1.2 miles from Tanglewood. Also an easy walk to downtown restaurants although their own restaurant is very good..
We particularly like to come to the Gateways lounge and their beautiful bar after theater and enjoy some great Jazz music and a light snack. This rounds out the evening nicely.
Since I enjoy single malt scotches, their selection of a couple of hundred single malt scotches and a couple of dozen Grappas provides a unique tasting experience.. I have never been to a place with such a broad selection of these two liquors.
Michelle handles breakfast which is always a treat. Best breakfast in town. We even come up in the fall and winter. I recommend Gateways to all of my friends which is a double-edged sword as it is not always easy to get a room.
Here is a tip. Sometimes the website will show them to be fully booked. If you call an speak to Eiran, they will occasionally have a late cancellation and you can slip in. Since we are spur of the moment people this has proved helpful as it did on August 2nd , our annivaersary , when we decided, at the last minute, to go to Lenox for the night for opening night of Mother Courage. A call to Eiran found an open night in the Miranda room which was a special treat for sure.
Vince and Mary Kay
Branford CT

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We are 'hotel' people, Marriott, Hilton et al, so when decided on a night at the Gateways, we really did not know what to expect. This beautiful inn was wonderfully located, warmly inviting, and just seemed to get better as our short stay progressed. The bar was beautiful, and pleasantly situated between the piano room and the restaurant. Our waitress, Hannah, was simply exceptional. We enjoyed two meals, dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu was engaging and innovative - and delicious. The homemade treats for breakfast were just that - treats. The granola was wonderful. The warmest part though, was the welcome provided by Michelle, Eiran and their staff. It was so personal, and I guess that is what differentiates the Gateways from all the other Chains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerandReenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great Inn located in top spot in Lenox. Nice stateley former summer home of Procter (of Procter & Gamble). SUper clean room & shower. We had the smallest room (cozy) which indeed was cozy, but big enough. Minor point was airco didnt go below 70', but was good enough. Best thing was the breakfast with fresh OJ, terrific fish dishes one day and great cheeses. Other daywas nice bread etc. THe lady of the Inn does a lot of homecooking and it really shows. HAts off to the owners who really do a splendid job. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jverhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Gateway inn is a beautiful place to stay with good service. We were part of a wedding party and had the whole place to ourselves. The breakfast was delicious, beautiful smoked fish, fruit, eggs, pastry, something for everyone. We stayed in the Inverness room which had a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. We would certainly return to the Gateway Inn. It is a fantastic place for a small wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry hill
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We didn't stay at the lovely, historic inn (once owned by Proctor of Proctor and Gamble). We visited for an evening of jazz. WOW and AMAZING! The room is understated and lovely, softly lit with seating on sofas and an assortment of comfortable chairs. First evening we heard a wonderful jazz singer accompanied by piano. We loved her and stayed two sets. Music is from 8-11, we arrived at nine. Such a perfect evening, listening to the Great American Songbook, show tunes and standards in this wonderful room. We returned second night, this time arrived at 8, stayed for entire evening for an incredible singer plus trumpet, piano,and guitar. Terrific talented musicians. There's a $15 minimum--no problem with their excellent.bar menu and interesting cocktails ( guaranteed you will want to stay for every set, so plan on dining while you listen. I suggest you plan first evening of vacation for gateways inn jazz, so you can plan every night after that. They have different performers every evening, but judging by the talent we heard you will love your evening. Very romantic and no kids. A magical evening for grown ups.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Happened upon this Inn, was admiring the gorgeous watercolors on display in the living room when an "angel" named Michele greeted me. I needed to check out of a "dump" I had booked online and had no place to stay. I assumed I could not afford the price of such a beautiful Inn.
Not so, within minutes I was shown the Viola , which became my home for two wonderful days and nights. The service is impeccable, at dinner, breakfast and in-between. Eiran and Michele deserve many kudos for their outstanding hospitality and graciousness. I will return again, to this
Gem in Lenox.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna41459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,017 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing