We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Bed & Breakfast Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“A True Bed & Breakfast Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Gateways Inn with my fiancee. We were in town visiting some family. We could not have asked for a better experience. The Inn is both comfortable and welcoming, yet still matches the quaint charm of a historic property.
We had dinner in the main dining room and breakfast every day in the parlor. The food was top notch, and different each day.
The bedrooms were very sizable and could become quite toasty with a simple flick of the gas fireplace switch.
My favorite part of the experience was the music at night. Each night was a different genre, but Friday night's folk singer stood out to me.
I got a chance to chat with the very amiable owners. They seemed genuinely interested in making our stay memorable and were happy to help us in any way they could.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jccak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
209
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, N.J.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Again, had an amazing stay with the Gazit's (owners). We were there for a family visit for 4 nights and our breakfast each day was over the top, bed very comfy and MUSIC at night was fantastic!
Blues/jazz, folk and piano to entertain us in their beautiful lounge.BUT what made this trip over the top was a snow storm that would have caused us to cancel a visit with family to include my 90 year old mother due to a small car not made for 14 inches of snow. Eiran Gazit to the rescue! Lent us his truck/cab with 4 wheel drive that saved the day. Hence the title of my review "above and beyond". Thank you, Michele and Eiran for your continued kindness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sympany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

It was Michele ( not Alice) that made our mid-week escape from the everyday pressures of life... a reality. We were greeted warmly on a frigid winter day by Michele and shown the amenities of her 'wonderland' before given the key to the spacious Desdemona room. The warmth of the fireplace was well appreciated as we unpacked. Thursday morning , we enjoyed delicious hot whole grain blueberry pancakes complimented by a variety of cheeses, bread, jams, crackers fruit , yogurt and granola. I must say We have never enjoyed pancakes that didn't need a 'flavor-boost' from syrup or butter until now, We even opted not to use the homemade maple butter on them, they were that moist and delicious. Along with breakfast , we enjoyed a chat with Michele, which added to that 'at home' feeling. After a long day of exploring( and shopping) in the the area, we returned in time to enjoy a glass of wine by our fireplace, before having dinner in the Gateways restaurant, can you say convenient??!!!! Dinner was perfectly prepared and presented. The staff was pleasant and professional. After dinner , Michele suggested that we have our dessert and coffee enjoying the entertainment in the piano bar. This night it was Rob Kelly(piano) with Wanda Houston( lead singer) and cameo appearances by Peter Putnam(singer) and Jeff Stevens(trumpet). The music was great, Wanda was entertaining, Peter and Jeff added to a perfect night of music and song. During the break, Wanda and Peter spent time chatting with all the folks in the lounge, which added to the 'cozy, at home' ambiance. Breakfast on the last day of our stay was equally delicious, lightly sauteed vegetables over polenta, topped with a poached egg and accompanied by the same buffet options as yesterday. After spending time chatting at length with Michele , we said our goodbyes and headed back to Connecticut. It was a delightful stay, Michele and her staff were wonderful and saw to our every need. We would strongly recommend a stay at the Gateways Inn and will certainly consider another stay ourselves in warmer weather . תודה Michele

Room Tip: The Desdemona is located behind the bar but we had no issue with any disturbing noise from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family and several friends spent the Thanksgiving holiday at Gateways Inn. The innkeepers, Eiran and Michele are friendly and accommodating. The Inn is beautiful, immaculate and a very comfortable place. We had our Thanksgiving dinner in the restaurant. The food was top notch as were the breakfasts that were served. After exploring the area on Friday we settled into the piano bar where we had drinks and enjoyed the entertainment. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60SusanG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Decided to get out of town for a night and found The Gateways online. Everything about this place was perfect. A warm welcome. Very accomodating to your every need. We ate a light fare @ the elegant bar and listened to jazz music for the evening. Very comfortable room (Juliet) with lovely ambience! When I came downstairs that evening with my pocketbook, she said "why do you have your pocketbook? You're already home" - I think that said it all! We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelsy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gateways for an extended weekend an absolutely wonderful stay. The property was charming and our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and everything was fresh. Michele and Eiran the innkeepers were the perfect hosts and went out of their way on several occasions to ensure our visit to the inn and the area was enjoyable. We would both recommend the Gateways to anyone considering a visiting to this area. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The room to request without question is the Miranda Suite. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Gateways Inn this past weekend for a night and it was lovely and restful. Michele and Eiran the proprietors are lovely, friendly and helpful. They made us feel right at home. On the Saturday night there was a lively buzz in the lounge and bar area with a number of guests enjoying beautiful piano playing and singing team. Service overall was friendly and responsive to requests. Michele and Eiran are extremely knowledgeable on the local goings-on and history of the community. Our room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was fresh and filling. We would stay again if back in Lenox.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing