We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn in Downtown Lenox”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn in Downtown Lenox”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have dined at the Gateway and enjoyed the piano /jazz bar many times and have always had a delightful time. Eiran and Michelle are wonderful hosts. We recently needed to stay one night in the area and decided to try the Inn. The room was spacious and comfortable and the hosts as always welcoming and warm. The breakfast buffet was outstanding - some really unusual choices. It was a wholly enjoyable stay. We were not there long enough to have dinner but are looking forward to it on our next trip to the Berkshires.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
211
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had spent a lovely weekend at the Gateway some years back. The Inn has since changed hands. The new owners have added a piano bar and lounge which is not the norm for a "romantic B&B getaway. You can decide weather that is a plus. It is not for us. The room was pleasant but devoid of many of the frills we have come to expect in an upscale B&B. We certainly didn't expect plastic glasses. The breakfast served was mediocre compared to other B&Bs at which we have stayed. Room prices seems to have also risen dramatically. Supposedly, the Inn has an excellent restaurant. However, we have now spent four days at the inn and the restaurant has yet to be open.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EiranMichele, Owner at Gateways Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The problem with reviews is that they are very subjective. Yours is a case in point - you write that you stayed "four days" with us when in reality you only spent two - a Sunday and a Monday.
Yes, we have one of the best restaurants in the area - see tripadvisor - but we are only open on Thursdays to Saturdays, (except July and August when we are open every night), as is clearly stated in our website and numerous ads and other postings. As to the piano bar and lounge which "is not for us" - how would you know, as these were not active the days you were here? Again, only Thursdays to Saturdays. Most guests (see other reviews) LOVE the fact that we offer live music and a lounge area - but to each his own.

You write about a lovely weekend you spent here a few years back - but fail to mention all the new amenities such as a coffee machine, fridge, large TV, teddy bear, high end bath amenities, plush robes etc. that have been added to the rooms since we bought the inn two years ago, not to mention all the other upgrades to the rooms and public spaces. What you do mention is the plastic glasses in the bathroom - these were there before we bought the inn and still are, as a safety precaution advised by the American Hotel Association as they will not break if they fall. The alternative is disposable cups.

Our breakfasts are rated highly by most of our guests. Michele tells me you wiped your plates clean on both mornings you were here, so I find your comment as these being "mediocre" curious.

Lastly, you state that prices have risen dramatically, well guess what? since your last stay here in 2009, so have expenses. But relatively speaking, increases in cost of running a business are much higher than increase in room price, and actual profit much less than 2009.

Wishing you a Happy New Year and much pleasure in future stays at B&Bs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and our 18 month old daughter spent a wonderful weekend here in the early fall and only have good things to say. Upon arrival we received a complementary upgrade to a larger room behind the bar. I was a little hesitant at first as our daughter goes to bed early but the sound proofing was excellent. We spent the days touring around the countryside and the evenings having dinner at the Gateways restaurant and relaxing with live music. There's a fantastic bar as well with hundreds of different whiskeys. Also, the breakfasts were Phenomenal on both saturday and sunday - really an incredible spread.

Overall, it's a beautiful spot to stay with a lot of character. It's a short walk to "downtown" Lenox, with great food and very friendly, welcoming hosts. We would certainly stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Gateways Inn with my fiancee. We were in town visiting some family. We could not have asked for a better experience. The Inn is both comfortable and welcoming, yet still matches the quaint charm of a historic property.
We had dinner in the main dining room and breakfast every day in the parlor. The food was top notch, and different each day.
The bedrooms were very sizable and could become quite toasty with a simple flick of the gas fireplace switch.
My favorite part of the experience was the music at night. Each night was a different genre, but Friday night's folk singer stood out to me.
I got a chance to chat with the very amiable owners. They seemed genuinely interested in making our stay memorable and were happy to help us in any way they could.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jccak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, N.J.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Again, had an amazing stay with the Gazit's (owners). We were there for a family visit for 4 nights and our breakfast each day was over the top, bed very comfy and MUSIC at night was fantastic!
Blues/jazz, folk and piano to entertain us in their beautiful lounge.BUT what made this trip over the top was a snow storm that would have caused us to cancel a visit with family to include my 90 year old mother due to a small car not made for 14 inches of snow. Eiran Gazit to the rescue! Lent us his truck/cab with 4 wheel drive that saved the day. Hence the title of my review "above and beyond". Thank you, Michele and Eiran for your continued kindness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sympany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It was Michele ( not Alice) that made our mid-week escape from the everyday pressures of life... a reality. We were greeted warmly on a frigid winter day by Michele and shown the amenities of her 'wonderland' before given the key to the spacious Desdemona room. The warmth of the fireplace was well appreciated as we unpacked. Thursday morning , we enjoyed delicious hot whole grain blueberry pancakes complimented by a variety of cheeses, bread, jams, crackers fruit , yogurt and granola. I must say We have never enjoyed pancakes that didn't need a 'flavor-boost' from syrup or butter until now, We even opted not to use the homemade maple butter on them, they were that moist and delicious. Along with breakfast , we enjoyed a chat with Michele, which added to that 'at home' feeling. After a long day of exploring( and shopping) in the the area, we returned in time to enjoy a glass of wine by our fireplace, before having dinner in the Gateways restaurant, can you say convenient??!!!! Dinner was perfectly prepared and presented. The staff was pleasant and professional. After dinner , Michele suggested that we have our dessert and coffee enjoying the entertainment in the piano bar. This night it was Rob Kelly(piano) with Wanda Houston( lead singer) and cameo appearances by Peter Putnam(singer) and Jeff Stevens(trumpet). The music was great, Wanda was entertaining, Peter and Jeff added to a perfect night of music and song. During the break, Wanda and Peter spent time chatting with all the folks in the lounge, which added to the 'cozy, at home' ambiance. Breakfast on the last day of our stay was equally delicious, lightly sauteed vegetables over polenta, topped with a poached egg and accompanied by the same buffet options as yesterday. After spending time chatting at length with Michele , we said our goodbyes and headed back to Connecticut. It was a delightful stay, Michele and her staff were wonderful and saw to our every need. We would strongly recommend a stay at the Gateways Inn and will certainly consider another stay ourselves in warmer weather . תודה Michele

Room Tip: The Desdemona is located behind the bar but we had no issue with any disturbing noise from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family and several friends spent the Thanksgiving holiday at Gateways Inn. The innkeepers, Eiran and Michele are friendly and accommodating. The Inn is beautiful, immaculate and a very comfortable place. We had our Thanksgiving dinner in the restaurant. The food was top notch as were the breakfasts that were served. After exploring the area on Friday we settled into the piano bar where we had drinks and enjoyed the entertainment. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60SusanG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing